We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good food for a good price.”

Caroline's Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 211 Restaurants in Dubuque
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We ate here twice during our trip as we had two $20 vouchers. We had no issues using the vouchers and enjoyed our meals both times.

Thank ZerroDefex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HJDMananger, General Manager at Caroline's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Dear ZerroDefex,

Our appreciation for your kind words regarding your dining experiences at Caroline's Restaurant.

Hope to see you again soon!

Thank you!

Team Caroline's

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (784)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

616 - 620 of 784 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2013

My wife and I recently celebrated my birthday by having dinner at the Hotel Julien in Dubuque, Iowa. Everything about Caroline's Restaurant was excellent. The service was attentive but not intrusive. The wine list is quite diverse, pleasing most anyone's taste. The appetizers are quite unique, but we passed since the meal itself looked quite plentiful. Great salads, but the bread was plain although freshly baked. If it were more flavorful, the first impression would be even more impressive.

My wife chose fall-off-the bone pork ribs with fresh vegetables and rice pilaf. I had the swordfish in an herb-encrusted glaze that was absolutely the best I have ever eaten! My entree was accompanied by the fresh vegetables and smashed potatoes. Everything was perfectly prepared and delightful!

The overall price for our dinner with a $44.00 bottle of a California Chardonnay was $96.00. For what we received, the entire dining experience was totally worth it.

We plan to return again and again to try many of Caroline's unique entrees. You simply cannot go wrong having dinner at this superb restaurant overlooking the Mississippi River.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DJ S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HJDMananger, General Manager at Caroline's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2013

Dear DJ S,

Happy Belated Birthday! Thank you ever so kindly for the detailed review of your dining experience at Caroline's Restaurant in Hotel Julien Dubuque. Great to read of the enjoyment of your dinner and wine selection.

Brian, our Beverag Manager continually tweaks the wine menu to offer new and different wines that are not always found in the region. Chef Drew implemented a new menu this week, so please don't wait till your next birthday to return.

Sincerely,

Team Caroline's Restaurant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

I was visiting some friends in town. We had great service, food and atmosphere. The restaurant was moderately busy however, one would not have known as our server Brenda gave us the right amount of attention. She gave excellent choice selections and her timing was perfect on all courses of the food and drinks. She did an awesome job. I would definitely come back. My BBQ pork ribs and white chicken chili were absolutely amazing!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Dustin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HJDMananger, General Manager at Caroline's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Dear Dustin H, TimothyR,

Glad to read of your enjoyable dining experience with friends; the White Bean Chicken Chili is one of the most ordered selections on the menu.

New menus were implemented Monday of this week. Brenda will be thrilled to read her name in print for being recognized for her service.

Thank you.

Team Caroline's Restaurant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Atmosphere was warm, cozy with unique character; food was exceptionally tasty, including our drinks, appetizer (to die for), entrees, & desserts; Lynsay, our waitress/bartender was attentive & friendly throughout our meal and all other staff always had a pleasant demeanor, smile, or hello for us during our most appealing visit.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Timothy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJulienDubuqueGM, General Manager at Caroline's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Dear TimothyR,

It is a pleasure to read of your enjoyable dining experience and of Lynsay's service. She will be thrilled to read her name in print for being recognized for her service.

Caroline's is introducing a new menu Monday. We hope that we will see you to try some of the new selections.

Thank you.

Team Caroline's Restaurant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Daughter had the Mac and Cheese with Chicken and I had the Whiskey Steak Wrap. Both were awesome choices. French fries were delicious and the service was fantastic. Total bill with drinks was $35.00 or $9.00 an entrée. Tyler our server was the best! Thanks for the ice!!! We will be back.......

Thank sluczak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJulienDubuqueGM, General Manager at Caroline's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Dear sluczak,

Thanks for the high marks regarding your recent dining experience at Caroline's Restaurant. Tyler will be so excited to see his name in print for being recognized for his service.

Glad you enjoyed the lunch selections. A new menu is happening on Monday August 5, 2013.

Please come back to dine soon!

Sincerely,

Team Caroline's

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caroline's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Caroline's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing