We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely birthday dinner”

Caroline's Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 211 Restaurants in Dubuque
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Visited to celebrate a birthday early on a Saturday evening. The service by Sherry was attentive. The atmosphere was relaxing. The food was as good as we expected from other reviews. The boullebaise was as good as I have had on the coasts. The ribs were falling off the bone tender with well prepared vegetables and the mashed potatoes were flavored just right. Salad greens could have been a bit crisper but the bread sides were excellent. Very happy with the experience and we plan to return.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank R L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HJDMananger, General Manager at Caroline's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Dear RL,

Thank you for the kind words expressed about your visit to Caroline's Restaurant. Sherry will be delighted to read of your recognition of her service!

We appreciate your many comments about the menu selections. Our Chef Andrew emphasizes local products with creativity. In the "soon to come" spring, he will be featuring hand planted and picked fresh herbs and vegetables in the summer menu selections.

See you again soon!

The Staff of Caroline's Restaurant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (778)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

657 - 661 of 778 reviews

Reviewed March 21, 2013

The food was great. Try the Banana Bread French Toast. Our server, Diana made the experience exceptional. She was professional and accommodating -- but she was also so much fun. We all commented (there were four of us) how a friendly, cheerful server can set the tone for your day. And she did. We had a great day!

1  Thank Toadie33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HJDMananger, General Manager at Caroline's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Dear Toadie,

Thank you for the kind words expressed about your visit to Caroline's Restaurant.

Diana will be delighted to read of your recognition of her service and that she was able to kick start your day in an enjoyable fashion.

See you again soon!

The Staff of Caroline's Restaurant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Had a retirement lunch to say farewell to a co-worker. Astmosphere was wonderful, food was great and our server Diane was excellent. Couldn't have asked for a better retirement lunch!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jodi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HJDMananger, General Manager at Caroline's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2013

Dear JodiL,

Thank you for the kind words expressed about your visit to Caroline's Restaurant.

Glad you enjoyed a great breakfast with us! It is our pleasure to serve.

See you again soon!

The Staff of Caroline's Restaurant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

I've wanted to bring my wife on a return visit to Dubuque and stay at the Julien Dubuque Hotel for a long time. It's taken me nearly thirty years to get there. A room service dinner upon arrival and lunch and dinner the next day at Caroline's Restaurant helped make the trip memorable. The food choices are many and delightful. What made it most enjoyable was the wonderful service we received. Enjoy this lovely restaurant. We did. Eddie Allen, Trempealeau, Wis.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Eddie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HJDMananger, General Manager at Caroline's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Dear Eddie,

Thank you for the kind words expressed about your visit to Caroline's Restaurant.

We hope it isn't another 30 years until your next return.

See you again soon!

The Staff of Caroline's Restaurant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

My fiancé and I stayed in the hotel and had a credit to eat in the restaurant. We ordered the night's special, prime rib. It took an hour for us to get our food and others who came in after us were served first. The manager did apologize and credit us for drinks and dessert. The food was really good, but we were disappointed with the long wait for our food.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jenmidwest123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HJDMananger, General Manager at Caroline's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Dear jenmidwest123,

Thank you for the kind words expressed about your visit to Caroline's Restaurant.

Our sincere apology for the lenght in dining during your visit; rest assured this was an isolated incident, and not reflective of the service that the team is known for in providing.

Your feedback witl be shared with the team in order to eliminate this from re-occurring. Your time taking to comment is truly appreciated.

See you again soon!

Sincerely,

The Staff of Caroline's Restaurant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caroline's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Caroline's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing