We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Customer Service Ever!”

Caroline's Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 210 Restaurants in Dubuque
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
1 review
“Best Customer Service Ever!”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Had a late meeting and needed a place to eat. Every place had just closed including Caroline's. The manager went above and beyond by keeping the kitchen open past closing so we would not go to bed hungry. Not only was he beyond accommodating the server was also sweet as pie even though she was being made to stay late. 9:30 and the freshest salad I ever had. It was delicious!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Forgetmenoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJulienDubuqueGM, General Manager at Caroline's Restaurant, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Forgetmenoto,

Thank you for the kind words expressed regarding your recent visit to Caroline's Restaurant. Appreciate your pointing our the restaurant manager and the server for their efforts. They will be thrilled to read of your recognition.

We look forward to seeing you again soon at Caroline's.

Thank you.

Sincerely,

The Staff of Caroline's Restaurant and Hotel Julien Dubuque
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

717 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    417
    172
    75
    37
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
“Caroline's goes above & beyond!”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

After traveling to Dubuque and a late business meeting, we stopped by Caroline's for dinner at 9pm last Tuesday night. The restaurant was closed--no customers left in sight. We soon realized no other restaurants in the area were open. To save us from a dinner in our hotel room minibar, the restaurant manager re-opened the kitchen and made sure we had a lovely dinner rather than turn us away. Thank you for your amazing service and our wonderful dinner! Your service was above and beyond and so appreciated. I must give a special shoutout to Sherry for staying late and taking great care of us!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank danielle60922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJulienDubuqueGM, General Manager at Caroline's Restaurant, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear danielle60922,

Thank you for the kind words expressed regarding your recent visit to Caroline's Restaurant. Appreciate your pointing our the restaurant manager and Sherry for their efforts. They will be thrilled to read of your recognition.

We look forward to seeing you again soon at Caroline's.

Thank you.

Sincerely,

The Staff of Caroline's Restauran and Hotel Julien Dubuque
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubuque, Iowa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“EXTREMELY!!!!!DISAPPOINTED!!!!!”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We expected way more from a restaurant of this supposed calibar.
My friend and I do not get out very often, so when we do, we try to go to a nice restaurant, so we can enjoy our rare occasion. This was NOT the case tonight.
From the start, our waitress, Sherry, was short and abrupt, and acted like we did something wrong and were a bother to her. We confirmed before we began that they would accept our appetizer coupon and discount card. When the bill came, she said they could only accept one or the other, so she took the appetizer off because it was more. I stated that we discussed this before we began. I wouldn't have ordered like I did if they wouldn't accept it. She GRABBED the bill from me and HUFFED off saying she would talk to the manager about it. We waited a considerable amount of time before she returned and slapped the bill onto the table and walked away. We called her back to ask what was concluded. She said that they only accept one. I said we discussed this at the beginning. She then snapped, very harshly, that both discounts had been taken off. She stormed off and went into the kitchen - directly across from us, and mocked us - loud enough that we could hear.
When I got my steak, it was well done - rather than medium rare as ordered. She did not offer any concern or apology. My friend liked her meal ok - as she sat there and ate alone. My meal took quite awhile to return as they had to cook an entire new steak. Then, I was the one eating alone. It was very uncomfortable for each of us in that position. The entire time, the waitress acted like it was us that had done something wrong. She repeated actions of anger, disgust, and avoidance during the entire dining experience.
The bus girl, Courtney, was the only one who took care of us with care. As she walked by, she noticed our water was empty and asked to fill it. It was clear that this was not her normal job - she was just clearing dishes from bins.
There was no sort of compensation for the meal or troubles we endured during this visit.
Being in the service industry ourselves, we enjoy tipping generously to show our appreciation. Considering the circumstances involved here and the abuse we took, we did not leave much of a tip. This makes us feel terrible, but we could not justify it at all. The waitress and manager put a big damper on our evening. It was a horrible dining experience.
As we left, the manager, who had known about the issues, intentionally avoided us as we walked by and stood at the host booth to talk to him about our situation. He would move about an area, intentionally not making any contact with us at all.
It is very hard to describe just how horrible and unprofessional the waitress, and especially the manager, acted.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank dekym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJulienDubuqueGM, General Manager at Caroline's Restaurant, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Dear dekym,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent experience at Caoline's Restaurant. My sincere apology for the frustration that you and your dining guest experienced; rest assured this was an isolated incident, and not reflective of the many diners that enjoy their experience at Caroline's every day.

A new restaurant manager was hired for Caroline's very recently, Amanda. I am sure she would gladly speak with you regarding your experience. If you contact the restaurant and by chance she would not be available, please ask to speak with David the food and beverage director, or myself, the hotel general manager, Dwight.

We value each and every guest. All feedback is appreciated, good or bad. It is through caring diners as yourself that we learn from to grow.

Thank you.

Sincerely,

Dwight Hopfauf
General Manager
Hotel Julien Dubuque
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Memorable”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

We had reservations to celebrate my parents 50th wedding anniversary. I brought balloons and cake to the restaurant early and they were on the table when we arrived. The service was excellent, a very attentive staff but not overbearing. The food was also exceptional. The stuffed mushroom appetizer was slightly spicy and very creamy, we ordered two. The prime rib special was a hit with my parents and my chicken cordon bleu was very satisfying. We had two children with us and the chef was very accomodating of their diverse needs. Caroline's staff made the evening a very special night of celebration for us and we will keep them in mind for future visits.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJulienDubuqueGM, General Manager at Caroline's Restaurant, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Dear Dana S,

Happy Belated Anniversary To Your Parents!

Thank you very kindly for your positive comments regarding your recent dining at Caroline's Restaurant. The staff truly enjoy being part of a special occasion. We are glad the evening was enjoyable for everyone.

We hope to see you soon for breakfast, or lunch and dinner.

Sincerely,

The Staff and Management of Caroline's Restaurant and Hotel Julien Dubuque
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago, ill
Level Contributor
208 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Elegant, tasty”
Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

Nice fine dining at the Hotel Julian. Service, Amy was very good, attentive, helpful. Food was very good, their mashed potatoes were excellent. Infused olive oil and fresh bread was a nice addition. Price value for the food served was very good.

    • Value
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelqueen10151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJulienDubuqueGM, General Manager at Caroline's Restaurant, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear travelqueen10151,

Thank you very kindly for your positive comments regarding your recent dining at Caroline's Restaurant. And it is most appreciative of you to recognize Amy for her friendly and hard work. She will be thrilled to read of your comments.

We hope to see you soon for breakfast, or lunch and dinner.

Sincerely,

The Staff and Management of Caroline's Restaurant and Hotel Julien Dubuque
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caroline's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Caroline's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing