We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant surprise”

Caroline's Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 210 Restaurants in Dubuque
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Dubuque, IA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

It's a very nice atmosphere with some surprising menu choices. I've been here for lunch, dinner,a nd after-theater coffee and desserts. Always pelasant, conducive to lingering conversation, relaxing.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rocheart3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

717 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    417
    172
    75
    37
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bellevue, Iowa, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good breakfast and lunch”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We've been there for breakfast and lunch and both have been excellent. They have a decent menu selection and the service was good when we've been there.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sue K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HJDMananger, General Manager at Caroline's Restaurant, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear solotravel-lover,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent visit to Caroline's Restaurant inside the Hotel Julien Dubuque. All diners and patrons comments are shared with the entire restaurant and lounge team to ensure that we provide the greatest hospitality experience in the Midwest.

Hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

The Staff and Management of Hotel Julien Dubuque
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nice menu, nice meal”
Reviewed August 7, 2012

We enjoyed our meal there. I had the fish taco and I can say that it was the best one I had ever had, it was very tasty with a very good balance of flavors. We had breakfast there too and it was very nice. I had an omelet, it was cooked just right. Most of the time, cooks overcook their omelets and they are dry. This was moist and again with a nice balance of flavors. The wait staff was personable and attentive. We would eat there again.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MHT_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Welcoming restuarant”
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Delicious coffee. Fine service. Felt very comfortable meeting with friends over breakfast before heading off to our reunion. Only had breakfast there but I'd make a special trip just to order that succulent vegetable omelet again!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jackie1220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A perfect eatery in a perfect hotel”
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Food was fantastic, breakfast and dinner were both plentiful and well prepared Great steak, best in my life. Service was top notch

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gknarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caroline's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Caroline's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing