We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Crab Cakes were worth the travel distance, unforgetable`”

Woodfire Grille at Diamond Jo Casino
Reserve with OpenTable
Woodfire Grille at Diamond Jo Casino is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 207 Restaurants in Dubuque
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $35
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: 3rd Street
Description: Woodfire Grille is a contemporary wine centric steak and seafood restaurant that features USDA Prime grade steaks and inspired fresh seafood in an upscale and contemporary dining experience. Lauded in reviews that include the Wine Spectator Award of Excellence, validates that it is simply the best dining experience in its respective market. With a classic interior, the ambiance is warm with natural wood tones, is welcoming and sure to delight all your senses. Our classically trained chefs personally select our ingredients. Our menus change seasonally as it is our goal is to source locally and offer only the finest produce, meats and seafood available. You will find a lively bar that attracts a dynamic crowd and features an unparalleled wine list and an impressive offering of wines by the glass. Unique to Woodfire is the crafted cocktail program unmatched in the area. Created by our team of creative mixologist, the list is a collection of classic and modern cocktails.
Clinton
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The Crab Cakes were worth the travel distance, unforgetable`”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2011

My husband and I were very impressed with the Woodfire Grill. The food was excellent, the atmosphere relaxing and peaceful and the service was top notch and not overly interruptive. We have told several others and we intend to stop again, if for nothing else, this restaurant. Thank you to all the restaurant crew, you earn your pay.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jack D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    171
    37
    15
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sycamore, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent all around!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2011

My husband and I went there tonight to celebrate our 1st Wedding Anniversary. The service was fantastic! John our server was fantastic as well. He had great menu advice. Was funny, sincere, and made sure everything was perfect. The food was fabulous to say the least. My favorite part was that the tables were far enough away from each other that you didnt feel crowded. The atmosphere made you not want to leave. I would never guess that this was actually part of the hotel. It felt so seperate and intimate. Great choice on the part of my wonderful husband.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank jen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canadian, ok
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“excellent meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

I had the french fried avocado's and prime rib, excellent meal. Excellent atmosphere, my only regret is I should have ordered the smaller steak. Great waitress very friendly.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank dennis r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level Contributor
67 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Very Good Food - a Bit Pricey”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2011

Woodfire Grill is an upscale restaurant, with burning fires surrounded by glass as part of the decor. The atmosphere is very pleasant, but it can be a touch warm if you are seated next to one of the fires-under-glass. If you are one of these people who is always cold, definitely grab a place next to a fire - if you are always hot, avoid them at all costs.

Entrees start at $19 for a chicken something and go to, I think, the $50+ range. Cheapest wines are about $5.50/glass or $25/bottle, ranging to 3x that and more, and desserts are $7. So, a bit pricey but not excessively so. The food is very good, with nice presentation as well. Portions are reasonable - not large by today's standards, but not as tiny as you sometimes encounter at more expensive places. Our service was just a tad on the slow side, but there were a couple of large groups there that night. Do not be put off by the fact that it is associated with the casino - once inside, you would never know it.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank RJay4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubuque
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A cut above”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2011

The food was fantastic and the service matched it. I totally would recommend going there.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank EAS123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Woodfire Grille at Diamond Jo Casino also viewed

 

Been to Woodfire Grille at Diamond Jo Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing