We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Meeting Room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dubuque-West
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Dubuque
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 23, 2014

Hosted 50 clients in the Holiday Inn Express meeting room and had a great experience. The staff is extremely friendly and Nicole made sure they were air-tight on details. And I mean AIR-TIGHT. I get aggravated when details are ignored, and they hit on all 8 cylinders with the details. (I'm a grumpy guy who didn't have to be grumpy!)The hotel is clean, the front desk is very friendly and professional and the room was well-lit and comfortable. Parking surrounds the front door. The hotel is located right by department stores and supermarkets. Couldn't ask for much more. I highly recommend the Holiday Inn Express!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DBQfamguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynette M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dubuque-West, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for appreciating the attention paid to the details of your meeting! We are proud to hear you “highly recommend” the Dubuque Holiday Inn Express and Suites.
Sincerely,
Lynette Montes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (255)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

181 - 187 of 255 reviews

Reviewed January 10, 2014

My mother and I stayed in October. The staff was pleasant and the room was clean and comfortable. Even though we had used IHG Rewards Points, there was a $28 charge when I checked out. I complained to the desk clerk who told me we would not be charged; it was for internal accounting purposes only. However, the charge has reappeared every month despite repeated phone calls and complaints. We finally were credited for the $28 in December, but at the same time, another spurious $28 was charged on the same day of the credit. This remains unsolved.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
3  Thank Celia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynette M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dubuque-West, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,
I regret to hear of this mistake! We fully understand the importance of correctly billing our guests and also understand the inconveniences this may cause when done wrong. You can be certain this situation has been addressed with our staff and they will be using more caution while billing in the future. I would like to assist in resolving this for you, please contact me at your earliest convenience to settle this error.
Sincerely,
Lynette Montes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

I stayed at this property on business in December 2013. The property was very clean and it seemed to be newer. The location is very good and it was convenient to have a restaurant diagonally across the street. The staff was friendly. I would definitely stay here again althoiugh I will try and pick a warmer time of year..

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zonabona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynette M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dubuque-West, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for mentioning our "friendly" staff. Your business is greatly appreciated!
Sincerely,
Lynette Montes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Sorry, but for 20,000 points.......the elevator was out for the weekend (that or the dozens of immature "kids" kept shutting it down...according to the desk clerk) the halls were full of nothing but unsupervised children running from end to end, and walls that were so paper thin, may as well had the folks in each adjacent room in our room!!!! Next time we will stay at the holiday inn in town.

Room Tip: None, sorry
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Patrick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dubuque-West, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Dear Patrick L,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review regarding your recent stay. I truly apologize for the not up to par experience you had during you stay with us. Rest assured that these issues will be looked into. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

This hotel is a bit hard to find. Front desk were very friendly. The heater/ air conditioner in the room was VERY loud and the traffic from the freeway was loud and roaring late at night and early in the morning. You could never open your window if your room is on the freeway side of the hotel. Breakfast was standard Holiday Inn. Prices are reasonable if you can stand the noise.

Room Tip: Make sure you do not take a room on the Freeway side of the Hotel. Check your heater/AC as soon as y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynjolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynette M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dubuque-West, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you so much for your honest response regarding our hotel and the noise issues you experienced. We regret that you encountered these disturbances while you were here. Please be assured these comments are being examined to minimize any similar complaints in the future. We hope to get another chance to accommodate you soon.
Sincerely,
Lynette Montes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We were just passing through the area so didn't arrive until late at night. The check-in process was fast. The room was clean and quiet. We slept well. The breakfast that is offered was great - lots of variety.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
Thank travelchiks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynette M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dubuque-West, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for choosing to spend the night at our hotel as you passed through Dubuque! We appreciate you taking the time to let us know your check in process was efficient. We are also glad you found the guest room sufficient and enjoyed the breakfast. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you if you are ever in the area again.
Sincerely,
Lynette Montes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stay at this property frequently when visiting family in Dubuque. Have previously given it positive ratings, but this time we were quite disappointed. With the exception of the gentleman working the front desk on Sunday morning when we checked out, the reception staff was indifferent. When I asked for extra towels, one guy rolled his eyes. We had multiple rooms but when I asked for an extra hour on checkout to get ready for a funeral, that same guy made no effort to accommodate. Told me they had a full house coming in and they needed everyone to check out by noon. I get the demands of getting ready for the next set of guests, but I seriously doubt they were prepared to clean every room by noon. Didn't want to trot out the IHG Rewards benefits that say a Platinum can have a late checkout.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank McLean4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynette M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dubuque-West, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
I am disappointed to learn of the events you describe. Our role is to satisfy our guests and we did not provide a satisfactory experience for you. We did not only fail you once but continued to disappoint throughout your stay and I am very sorry. My hopes are to utilize your comments in an effort to improve our service for the next time you are here. Thank you again for your very valued feedback.
Sincerely,
Lynette Montes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubuque hotels
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Dubuque
Hampton Inn Dubuque
#1 of 17 in Dubuque
684 reviews
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Dubuque
Holiday Inn Dubuque
#8 of 17 in Dubuque
329 reviews
2.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Dubuque Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dubuque
4.1 mi away
Hotel Julien Dubuque
Hotel Julien Dubuque
#2 of 17 in Dubuque
2,363 reviews
5.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dubuque-West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dubuque-West

Address: 2080 Holliday Dr, Dubuque, IA 52002-0471
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Dubuque
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Dubuque
#5 Family Hotel in Dubuque
#6 Romantic Hotel in Dubuque
Price Range: $99 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dubuque-West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dubuque West. Dubuque s newest hotel located in the West End district. Our hotel is just minutes away from Dubuque s downtown featuring major attractions such as The National Mississippi River Museum, The Diamond Jo Casino, Grand River Center, Five Flags Civic Center, Star Brewery, and Dubuque Greyhound Park and Casino (Mystique). If you are traveling to Dubuque to enjoy one of our many fun filled events such as America s River Festival, Catfish Festival, Riverfest, Summerfest, and Dragonboat Festival, you ll find the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dubuque West s convenient location perfect for shopping and dining. While visiting Dubuque, you may want to take a short drive to Galena IL for additional shopping and sight seeing General Grant s Home and other historical sights. The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dubuque West is designed for business travelers featuring High Speed Internet, 24 hour business center, large work desks in every room, and meeting room for groups up to 50 people. We welcome guest visiting McKesson, A.Y. McDonald, McGraw Hill, and Quebecor, Eagle Window and Doors, and Kendall Publishing and John Deere. In addition, our proximity to Loras College, University of Dubuque, and Clark College makes us the ideal location during your campus visit.Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dubuque West! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dubuque-West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Dubuque-West
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dubuque-West Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing