We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Close to Galena and Field of Dreams”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dubuque-West
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Dubuque
Certificate of Excellence
Grayslake, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Close to Galena and Field of Dreams”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

We stayed here in October because there were no hotels available in Galena. The room with the king bed and pull out couch had a lot of space, two flat screen tvs, and was very clean. The free breakfast was excellent. The pool is nice, fitness area is small but adequate. We ate at Sushi Thai which is in a little strip mall just next door and it was suprisingly good with a gret atmosphere and good service and prices. In the same strip mall,don't miss Yo Go Ice Cream place where you can build your own bowl of ice cream with many different flavors and toppings to choose from. Field of Dreams is worth checking out and about 30 minutes away. PIck up a brochure in the business center of the hotel. All in all, our stay was great.

Room Tip: The Kennedy Mall is close by with a huge book store and movie theater.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gage038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynette M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dubuque-West, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
Glad your stay was “great”! We appreciate your comments about the Holiday Inn Express & Suites, Dubuque and the surrounding area. We hope we will have the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.
Sincerely,
Lynette Montes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    72
    31
    12
    5
See reviews for
75
65
7
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
omaha
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

We stayed here on the way up north for our family vacation. We got the last available room and it was right next to the lobby and the breakfast area and elevator. I was afraid that we would have a ton of noise, but we put extra towels down by the door and kept the a/c on to buffer the noise and I was surprised how quiet it was. Hotel was clean. The front desk staff was great. The hotel was packed and there are only a small amount of chairs to accommodate everyone for breakfast, but the wait to grab a table was just a few minutes and the staff was able to keep up with the demand for food and kept it well stocked. I like how they asked all of the guests if they wanted anything else at breakfast close before they started to lock the cases and close up. We may stay here on the way back down- great hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wendysuzette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynette M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dubuque-West, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you so very much for your positive feedback regarding the Dubuque Holiday Inn Express & Suites. It is always a pleasure to receive quality information about the product and service we provide. We look forward to accommodating you again when you return to Dubuque.
Sincerely,
Lynette Montes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Richland, Washington
Level Contributor
275 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012 via mobile

Holiday inn express continues to impress me. The room was clean and comfortable. The evening reception was nice.and staff was informative. As a AAAmember the price was great considering breakfast. And the evening reception. The express continues to impress me. Er would stay Herero again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynette M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dubuque-West, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
So happy to hear the Dubuque Holiday Inn Express & Suites continues to impress you! I can assure you we will continue to try to impress you every time you stay at our hotel. Thank you for your continued business.
Sincerely,
Lynette Montes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
114 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

We got this room through priceline at a decent rate. Upon check in we were told the spa was closed for maintenance and they weren't sure about the pool. The room was nice with a fridge and microwave, free wifi worked well.

Room was clean with the exception of an old pair of ear plugs laying on the floor beside the AC unit, had the floor been thoroughly vacuumed prior to our arrival they likely would have been found.

Breakfast appeared like it's usually a nice setup for a Continental breakfast, although I can't be certain as I pretty much had to settle for a bowl of cereal. The pancake machine had a sign, no pancakes today, they serve little omelets and sausage but the girl working the breakfast area was unable to keep up. For fruit there was a single orange in the basket. We tired of waiting for stuff to get refilled, had a bowl of cereal and hit the road.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dubuque-West, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
I am sorry to hear about the issues with our Hotel, we have the spa & pool fixed we were waiting for a part for it and it took longer than we expected. I have told housekeeping about the room and again we are so sorry for what was left in the room. We would love to have you come back and try us again and if you do you can contact me and I will make sure everything is to your liking.
Thanks for staying with us and your honest comments.

Patricia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitewater, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
82 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2012

Newer, nicely decorated property. Breakfast room was full but I didn't mind eating in my room -- decent selection of hot and cold items. Bed seemed a little soft -- probably not from wear but from pillow top. The construction, however, obviously did not provide adequate soundproofing between rooms. In the a.m. we heard young children in an adjacent room quite clearly. It didn't sound like they were out-of-hand -- just sounded like kids being kids. Thank goodness we heard nothing during the night -- but from other reviews it's evident we aren't the only ones who had this concern. Wouldn't you think HIE would know the importance and a good method of soundproofing in their construction after all the properties they've built in recent years?

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tripadvisormemberwhitewaterwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynette M, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dubuque-West, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
Thank you so much for your comments we have addressed the issue with our owners and it is being worked on. Thank you for staying with us and we hope when you are back in Dubuque you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Storm Lake, Iowa, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2012

Everything was top notch! Great beds, pillows, bathroom necessities and wake up service. Everything was clean and new. Front desk worker was pleasant. Room has everything you need. The breakfast is excellent! There was even a complimentary US News & World Report waiting outside of my door in the a.m.! I was impressed with this hotel and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 291Jen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynette M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dubuque-West, responded to this review, May 25, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your outstanding comments that the Holiday Inn Express & Suites, Dubuque, IA was “top notch”. We take pride in hearing you were impressed with our hotel and want you to know we are committed to continuing to provide this standard of service each and every time you choose to stay at our hotel! Thank for your business and we look forward to your return to the Dubuque, IA Holiday Inn Express & Suites.
Sincerely,
Lynette Montes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Plaines, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2012

Hotel was great in all aspects except for 2 problems with amenities which are as follows: 1.)Pool/hot tub were down several times, for repairs, while we were there for 3 nights. We did get to use it once during our stay. 2.) Pet rules need to be clearer & all employees need to follow the same rules. The staff was very friendly from the time we checked in until we checked out. They did call our room & left a message to call them if we had any problems with our room once we got settled. It was centrally located for all the things we were doing. I would go back to this facility again & recommend it to anyone traveling to the area. It was very clean & well kept except for the pool repairs. There are several dining places to eat near by that you can walk or drive to. (We were in the area for a college graduation.)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynette M, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dubuque-West, responded to this review, May 21, 2012
Thank you for th comments about your stay, I am sorry about the hot tub being down during your stay we have taken care of that issue. We do have dog regulations and we are in the process of going thru that with our front desk. Thank you for your honesty and we hope you come back and visit us again.

Patricia Kemner
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubuque hotels
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Dubuque
Hampton Inn Dubuque
#1 of 17 in Dubuque
4.5 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel Julien Dubuque
Hotel Julien Dubuque
#2 of 17 in Dubuque
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,052 reviews
2.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dubuque Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Dubuque
Holiday Inn Dubuque
#9 of 17 in Dubuque
4.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
1.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dubuque
1.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn Dubuque
Fairfield Inn Dubuque
#10 of 17 in Dubuque
4.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dubuque-West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dubuque-West

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dubuque-West
Address: 2080 Holiday Drive, Dubuque, IA 52002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Dubuque
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Dubuque
#5 Family Hotel in Dubuque
#6 Romantic Hotel in Dubuque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dubuque-West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dubuque West. Dubuque s newest hotel located in the West End district. Our hotel is just minutes away from Dubuque s downtown featuring major attractions such as The National Mississippi River Museum, The Diamond Jo Casino, Grand River Center, Five Flags Civic Center, Star Brewery, and Dubuque Greyhound Park and Casino (Mystique). If you are traveling to Dubuque to enjoy one of our many fun filled events such as America s River Festival, Catfish Festival, Riverfest, Summerfest, and Dragonboat Festival, you ll find the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dubuque West s convenient location perfect for shopping and dining. While visiting Dubuque, you may want to take a short drive to Galena IL for additional shopping and sight seeing General Grant s Home and other historical sights. The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dubuque West is designed for business travelers featuring High Speed Internet, 24 hour business center, large work desks in every room, and meeting room for groups up to 50 people. We welcome guest visiting McKesson, A.Y. McDonald, McGraw Hill, and Quebecor, Eagle Window and Doors, and Kendall Publishing and John Deere. In addition, our proximity to Loras College, University of Dubuque, and Clark College makes us the ideal location during your campus visit.Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dubuque West! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dubuque-West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Dubuque-West
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dubuque-West Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing