We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and nice...wireless Internet is very weak though”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dubuque-West
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Dubuque
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Iowa
Level Contributor
84 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Clean and nice...wireless Internet is very weak though”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2012 via mobile

I stayed on 3rd floor...connection was very weak. If you need a good connection, stay on first floor. Staff is friendly, however, reservations have been messed up twice...but, fixed with no problems. I like the cleanliness and newness of the property...and location.

Seems every week same people stay and spend night in parking lot drinking beer and throwing their cans...but they park in corner and it doesn't seem to be an issue...I just wouldn't recommend parking next to them...blue pick up, glass company.

I recommend the hotel though.

Stayed May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Dakkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynette M, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dubuque-West, responded to this review, May 16, 2012
Thank you for your comments about the Holiday Inn Express & Suites, we are sorry about the mix up with your reservation and we are glad that it was fixed with no problems. We have checking into the blue pickup and will handle this issue. Thank you again and we hope you will come back and stay with us again.

Patricia Kemner
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    72
    31
    12
    5
See reviews for
75
65
7
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, TN
Level Contributor
142 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2012

Stayed here once before a couple of years ago. Same basic experience - excellent staff, clean, comfortable. No problem with noise this time around and the internet is moderate but good enough to watch Netflix without a problem.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roboird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynette M, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dubuque-West, responded to this review, May 1, 2012
Thank you so much for coming back and staying with us, I am glad you enjoyed your stay and we appreciate all the good comments about our staff and our hotel. We look forward to you coming back and staying with us again.

Patricia Kemner
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaver Dam, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
100 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2012

Motel is clean, staff friendly, bathroom was clean, bed comfortable, breakfast decent, wifi worked well. I will stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BDgolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynette M, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dubuque-West, responded to this review, April 30, 2012
The Dubuque Holiday Inn Express & Suites would like to thank you for all your kind comments about our staff & hotel. We strive very hard to make our guests feel like at home, thank you again and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
92 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2012

I would love to say that check-in was quick, but that wasn't the case. I waited and waited and waited behind a bridal couple dithering over how many rooms they needed...maybe 17...no, well maybe 20...well. maybe 21......had I been in charge I might have asked them to step aside to make a decision and let others go first, bit nonetheless, when I was waited on it was quick and efficient. The clerk (who, to be honest, appeared to be the only one there) tried his best. He was very helpful with maps and suggestions and got us on the road pretty quickly. So..off we went to the St Francis Xavier Basilica in Dyersville (spectacular). The room (314) was spacious, clean and comfy. We had plenty of towels in the washroom and it was very clean. My only concern was that there were no safety strips in the tub (maybe they have worn off ? ) and it was VERY slippery. I opted to skip the shower. There was quite a bit of chatter going on in the halls, but it settled down around 11:00 and we were able to get a good nights sleep. The breakfast area was spacious and clean and appeared to have a good assortment of choices: Cereals, both hot and cold, scrambled eggs, pancakes, toast and muffins, juices, tea and coffee...No reason anyone should go away hungry..Free parking in a well lit lot......close to a lot of attractions. All in all, quite enjoyable and at a fair price !

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patnmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynette M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dubuque-West, responded to this review, April 18, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

The Dubuque, IA Holiday Inn Express & Suites is pleased to have received your review regarding your recent stay with us. It is good to read your comments that your stay was “quite enjoyable at a fair price” as we accommodate many guests each evening, and one of the principal goals of our hotel is to provide our guests with dependable service at a reasonable price! Although I am not happy to hear you had to wait to be checked in I am pleased to know that our staff is doing what it takes to be “quick and efficient”. We try to do our best to accommodate all guests in a timely manner and appreciate you acknowledging our efforts. Thank you again for your overall impressions of the hotel and giving us the chance to accommodate you while you while in the Dubuque area.

Sincerely,
Lynette Montes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Iowa
Level Contributor
84 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2012 via mobile

I stay here weekly...room is always clean...property is newer and nice. Has pool, but haven't used it. If u want vending, stay on first or third floors. Check in can be slow.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dakkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynette M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dubuque-West, responded to this review, April 18, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for evaluating your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites, Dubuque, IA. Not only do we value your business each week but we value your feedback as well. Thank you for your positive comments regarding our room cleanliness and property condition. I also noticed you have addressed concerns regarding the check in efficiency, please be assured we will be monitoring this to access how to improve it. Thank you again for providing us with your comments which will be used to better the hotel.

Sincerely,
Lynette Montes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
65 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2012

This is a very nice property - very friendly - very clean - nice selection of TV channels. Breakfast was served - the usual Holiday Inn fare minus breakfast meat (sausage or bacon).
We will be back!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grannymaryp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynette M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dubuque-West, responded to this review, April 18, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites, Dubuque, IA and for noting that we are a “very nice property”. Please be aware our hot breakfast items rotate on a daily basis in order to provide variety to our guests. The options do require one egg and one meat product which includes sausage gravy as a meat option. We hope the next time you stay with us you have the opportunity to experience the other rotating menu selections as well. Thank you for responding and we look forward to serving you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Lynette Montes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2012

Great Room, Friendly Customer Service "Quality is long remembered after the Price is forgotten"

Room Tip: a little out of the way on my trip but I'd go a few miles out of my way for this one!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stagecoach2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynette M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dubuque-West, responded to this review, March 15, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Your positive comments about our hotel are greatly appreciated! Thank you for making the point that you would go out of your way for us as we will continue to try to go out of our way to impress you as our guest. Realizing there are many other options out there to choose from we want you to know how valuable your feedback truly is! Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to your return to the Dubuque, IA Holiday Inn Express & Suites.

Sincerely,
Lynette Montes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubuque hotels
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Dubuque
Hampton Inn Dubuque
#1 of 17 in Dubuque
4.5 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel Julien Dubuque
Hotel Julien Dubuque
#2 of 17 in Dubuque
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,053 reviews
2.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dubuque Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Dubuque
Holiday Inn Dubuque
#9 of 17 in Dubuque
4.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
1.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dubuque
1.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn Dubuque
Fairfield Inn Dubuque
#10 of 17 in Dubuque
4.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dubuque-West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dubuque-West

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dubuque-West
Address: 2080 Holiday Drive, Dubuque, IA 52002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Dubuque
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Dubuque
#5 Family Hotel in Dubuque
#6 Romantic Hotel in Dubuque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dubuque-West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dubuque West. Dubuque s newest hotel located in the West End district. Our hotel is just minutes away from Dubuque s downtown featuring major attractions such as The National Mississippi River Museum, The Diamond Jo Casino, Grand River Center, Five Flags Civic Center, Star Brewery, and Dubuque Greyhound Park and Casino (Mystique). If you are traveling to Dubuque to enjoy one of our many fun filled events such as America s River Festival, Catfish Festival, Riverfest, Summerfest, and Dragonboat Festival, you ll find the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dubuque West s convenient location perfect for shopping and dining. While visiting Dubuque, you may want to take a short drive to Galena IL for additional shopping and sight seeing General Grant s Home and other historical sights. The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dubuque West is designed for business travelers featuring High Speed Internet, 24 hour business center, large work desks in every room, and meeting room for groups up to 50 people. We welcome guest visiting McKesson, A.Y. McDonald, McGraw Hill, and Quebecor, Eagle Window and Doors, and Kendall Publishing and John Deere. In addition, our proximity to Loras College, University of Dubuque, and Clark College makes us the ideal location during your campus visit.Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dubuque West! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dubuque-West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Dubuque-West
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dubuque-West Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing