We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the best...”
Review of L.May Eatery

L.May Eatery
Ranked #1 of 210 Restaurants in Dubuque
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $26
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 10th & Main
Description: A new romantic bistro on the historic 1000 block of Main Street in Dubuque IA. L. May Eatery serves fusion cuisine and pizza in Dubuque, Iowa in a romantic candlelit atmosphere. Enjoy our impeccable service table side or at our full bar. We also have an extensive wine list with anything from a quality glass of pinot to a great special occasion reserve bottle.
Dubuque, Iowa
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Simply the best...”
Reviewed June 27, 2014

How can you beat a restaurant that combines upscale service, two family owners who are always there (which ensures first-class service), a great wine selection, great variety of elegant dishes along with awesome chic pizza, and a cool facility that includes exposed brick? This place is the best restaurant in Dubuque. Or Galena. Come here.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DBQfamguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LMayEatery, Owner at L.May Eatery, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Wow, thank you for your kind review! We're glad you enjoyed your meal with us. Please join us again soon. Cheers, Lea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

677 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    496
    135
    31
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Best on Main Street, Dubuque”
Reviewed June 26, 2014

I'm in town on business. I found L'May to be far and away the best eat on Main Street. Very good food, excellent, friendly service, fair prices. I recommend highly. My server Mary Kay was excellent.I'd suggest dinner at L'May then stroll down to Sham for coffee and gelato and the lovely decor of Sham. Only in Iowa: white chocolate ears of corn candy with a praline cob. And stay at the Julien. Ask for an 8th floor room on the river side. Quiet and very nice.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Patricia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LMayEatery, Owner at L.May Eatery, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Patricia,

Thanks for your kind review! We also agree with you about Stam and the Julien! Glad you enjoyed Dubuque and some of the best it has to offer. Cheers, Lea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice Dinner”
Reviewed June 26, 2014

My wife and I had dinner here on the recommendation of our friend who lives in Dubuque. We did not have reservations and the wait was 30-45 min unless we wanted to eat outside. The night was perfect for eating outside so we were seated right away. The waitress was very friendly and helpful. We had the salmon and scallops, and both were excellent. Definitely would go again.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank DLtraveler44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LMayEatery, Owner at L.May Eatery, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Thanks so much for your review! I'm very glad you enjoyed the al fresco dining. Please visit us again the next time you're in DBQ. Cheers, Lea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
1 review
“Great Food, Friendly Staff”
Reviewed June 25, 2014

My husband and I had dinner here last week. We were on the motorcycle and came in to town late. The website says they only serve food until 9 pm - we were seated at 8:45. Our waitress, Cathy, assured us the kitchen would still be open. Everything was wonderful and we're glad we stopped!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cwags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LMayEatery, Owner at L.May Eatery, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Thanks for stopping by and for mentioning Cathy - we love her! We hope you can come by again soon. Cheers, Lea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubuque, Iowa
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great tasting food sophisticated environment”
Reviewed June 25, 2014

Great tasting food and very sophisticated environment. Rather pricy for the Dubuque area but thats because it is one of Dubuque's nicest restaurants. It is very popular and busy so expect a wait and grab a drink from the bar. Wonderful place to celebrate an anniversary or other important occasion

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DaniBB043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LMayEatery, Owner at L.May Eatery, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Hi Dani,

Thanks for your review, we appreciate your kind words, and we're glad to be your special occasion place! Hope to see you again soon, Cheers, Lea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L.May Eatery also viewed

 

Been to L.May Eatery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing