We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My New Favorite Restaurant!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of L.May Eatery

L.May Eatery
Ranked #1 of 206 Restaurants in Dubuque
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $26
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 10th & Main
Description: A new romantic bistro on the historic 1000 block of Main Street in Dubuque IA. L. May Eatery serves fusion cuisine and pizza in Dubuque, Iowa in a romantic candlelit atmosphere. Enjoy our impeccable service table side or at our full bar. We also have an extensive wine list with anything from a quality glass of pinot to a great special occasion reserve bottle.
Platteville, Wisconsin
1 review
“My New Favorite Restaurant!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

I found L. May Eatery on Facebook several months ago and finally tried it for the first time about 2 months ago. I tried the osso bucco, which has since become my favorite meal there. It is tender and the flavor combination with the sides it comes with are amazing! Since my first time there, I have been there about five more times in the last 9 weeks. I just can't seem to stay away. I have tried several different entrees, and everything is delicious! The desserts are delectable as well. They rotate their menus with the seasons and the availability of local foods, which makes for interesting new recipes to try. Their drinks are varied, creative, and very good. One of my favorite things about this place is the owners and staff. They are friendly, kind, and they remember you if you're there more than a time or two. It could easily become my home away from home. :-) Give L. May Eatery a try! You won't be disappointed!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Abby G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LMayEatery, Owner at L.May Eatery, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Thanks for your review and the great pictures! Cheers, Lea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

652 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    478
    132
    28
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Toulon, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“very very good!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

We really enjoyed our dining experience at L.May's. My husband had the Gumbo and said it was great, I had the pasta, yummm! We would def go back when in the area. The waitress very attentive!!thanks for a great meal!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kathy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LMayEatery, Owner at L.May Eatery, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed your food and service at L.May, thanks for your review. Cheers, Lea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galena, Illinois
Level Contributor
64 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Friends Introduced Us to This Cozy Dubuque Eatery”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Friends introduced us to this cozy little restaurant at 1072 Main Street, Dubuque. we had reservations for 6:30 on a Sunday night, and the restaurant was packed when we arrived. as we had reservations, we were seated immediately at a small table in a back corner of the main dining room. Our server was jovial, efficient, and contributed to our pleasant dining experience, While the menu was varied enough for all six of us to find something we liked, the menu did not match the one they show on the internet. So missing was the eggplant parmesan, veal scaloppini, one size of the filet mignon, and the lobster lasagna. These are all selections my wife and I were looking forward to choosing from. When we asked one of the staff about the missing entrees, we were told the menu had changed the week before, and those entrees were no longer available. They were to have been deleted from the online menu and was surprised they were still on there. This would be corrected. My wife ended up ordering the salmon beet salad, which was dinner size for her, and which she enjoyed very much. The orange glazed salmon I had was grilled to perfection and accompanied by a tasty couscous. The salmon portion was disappointingly small for the $23.00 price. Most of us had the salmon in one form or another, and our server said we received the last portions of salmon they had. Maybe this explained the small portion. Our friends ordered wine which comes with a $10.00 per bottle discount on Sunday nights, and were pleased with their selections. This is a happy place with a great cozy atmosphere in the north part of the old business district. The seating is a little tight for 6"4" guys like me, but acceptable. It is obvious the staff enjoys working there and interacting with the customers. From some brief casual conversation with other diners, there was a mix of locals and out- of- towners enjoying themselves. The small size of this restaurant probably dictates there is not a huge selection of offerings, but they manage to include seven very unique pizza offerings, also available with gluten free crusts with names including bacon crab mac-n-cheese, steak blue and others. Reservations are recommended, and almost everything seems to be available for takeout. All in all, it was an enjoyable experience with our friends, but my wife and I were disappointed with the menu selections being so different from what we expected. We had no trouble with the on street parking, and I expect we will give this restaurant another visit, but not before calling ahead and ensuring menu selections we see at www.lmayeatery.com are actually available.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LMayEatery, Owner at L.May Eatery, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Hello Mr. Simpson-

Thanks so much for dining at L.May and your review!

We apologize that the menu you viewed was not up to date, we change our menu seasonally and sometimes these glitches come up. Thank you for bringing the matter to our attention, we will strive to make sure these menu change misunderstandings do not happen again.

However, we are very glad you found some menu items to enjoy and that you had a good overall dining experience with us. We hope that you will join us again. Our new winter menu will begin January 9th!

You are more than welcome to call ahead or email and check on menu items at anytime! Cheers, Lea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Nebraska
1 review
“great meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

We had a great meal at lmay eatery. The three of us had the jambalaya, osso bucco, and filet mignon and did some sharing of our dishes. Jambalaya had the right amount of kick and rich tomato flavor, and the shrimp were huge. Osso bucco was fall of the bone tender with a delicious glaze. The filet was cooked just right and accompanied by delicious asparagus. We took advantage of the sunday night $10 discount off a bottle of wine. Our server made an excellent recommendation for the wine. Emerald was our server, and took excellent care of us. We highly recommend this restaurant while in dubuque.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Larrycolumbusne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LMayEatery, Owner at L.May Eatery, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
So glad you enjoyed your meal and took advantage of Sunday Fun-day, and thanks for mentioning Emerald in your review. She's a great asset to L.May. Cheers, Lea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wentzville, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
63 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fabulous food and atmosphere!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

We ate dinner at this restaurant and then decided to stay for drinks and dessert. They were full and we did not have reservations, but the manager was very accommodating and placed us at a small table near the bar. It was quite cozy-just what we were looking for. Food was fantastic, service was wonderful, couldn't say enough about our experience.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Larissa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LMayEatery, Owner at L.May Eatery, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review! We hope you can stop in again next time you're in Dubuque. Cheers, Lea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L.May Eatery also viewed

 

Been to L.May Eatery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing