We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star”
Review of L.May Eatery

L.May Eatery
Ranked #1 of 210 Restaurants in Dubuque
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $26
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 10th & Main
Description: A new romantic bistro on the historic 1000 block of Main Street in Dubuque IA. L. May Eatery serves fusion cuisine and pizza in Dubuque, Iowa in a romantic candlelit atmosphere. Enjoy our impeccable service table side or at our full bar. We also have an extensive wine list with anything from a quality glass of pinot to a great special occasion reserve bottle.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Everything about this place was great. We had a large party on Valentines day for a wedding party. The wait staff went above and beyond. They were out of steak sause and she went across the street to get some for my wife. If we ever return to Dubuque this will be our 1st stop.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank geminijack14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LMayEatery, Owner at L.May Eatery, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

Thanks so much for visiting us and for the kind review, we hope you can visit again soon. Cheers, Lea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (695)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

502 - 506 of 695 reviews

Reviewed February 17, 2013

We go to L.May for special occasions and are never disappointed. Recently, we went for Valentine's Day and were seated in the darling nook in the front window. It is a cozy space, banquette seating, and lots of squishy pillows! Although they were very busy on this holiday, our server was attentive and friendly. The only thing better than the atmosphere and service is the delicious food. I had the Lobster Lasagna, my husband had the Lamb and Pasta. Both delicious. In the warmer months there is outdoor cafe seating in the front. We sat there for our anniversary in early October. It reminded us of our visits to Europe. All in all, a great restaurant in a great little town. PS--Although we usually go to L.May for special occasions, we have gone there for more casual evenings. They have great, inventive pizzas and delicious salads.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Miss-elaine-eous89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LMayEatery, Owner at L.May Eatery, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Thank you for your review of L.May. We hope to see you again soon. Cheers, Lea Droessler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Skeptical about good food on Dubuque, my mind was blown. The food was delicious, some of the best I've ever had. The atmosphere is cozy but not stuffy. Chris, our server, had great recommendations and you could tell he enjoyed what he did. I would give anything for L. May to be in Chicago. Can't wait to come back!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank MegCD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LMayEatery, Owner at L.May Eatery, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

We're very glad we could exceed your expectations! Thanks for visiting and for the kind review. We hope you will stop back in again soon. Cheers, Lea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

While staying downtown we ventured out of the hotel and in to L.May and not to be disappointed. The service was spot on and the food very good. At first we were taken back by the extra plate charge since we are not huge eaters and usually split everything. Since we generally order a bottle of wine, which is more than a second meal, we don't always understand the extra charge to eat half of a meal. That being said, this place does it right...when you split a meal each person gets there own salad, potatoes and veggies and not just an extra plate. So even after sharing a main course we could not eat everything. The ONLY reason for the four rating and not a five was that our filet was a little overdone and it was a pretty crowded eating area. Don't let that keep you away though as we will be back there for sure and highly recommend this place.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank winocpl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LMayEatery, Owner at L.May Eatery, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

Thanks so much for your review, we are happy that you were filled up eating at L.May! :) We hope you can visit again soon. Cheers, Lea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We are from the Chicago area and was staying in Dubuque for our son's college bowling tournament. Saturday night we were looking for some place to have dinner. We happened to find this little restaurant on Main St. We walked in to find the place pretty busy. We asked the hostess if they had anything available for dinner. She said they were book solid till 8:15pm; but she had some small tables in the bar where we could have dinner. We said OK and stayed. Boy, were we glad we did. Our waitress was Tiffany and was very happy to have her. She went threw the menu and explaned the specials and a couple of different dishes. We decided on the spinach, artichoke dip w/ pita chips for an appetizer. Really good. I liked it because it was made with cream cheese not the normal mozzarella. It wasn't stringy and spread nicely on the pita chips. They had homemade bread from a nearby bakery and roasted red pepper butter. Very good. My entree was lamb chops with a mint and apple sauce. The lamb was perfect; and the mint sauce w/ apples was not overpowering. It came with 3 kinds of roasted potatoes, sweet, red, and russets. It all was very delicious. My husband had lobster stuffed orange roughy with red pepper sauce. It was also just as good as my lamb chops. Tiffany was very attentive through out the whole meal asking if we needed anything keeping our glasses filled with water( and my husband's with wine). This is a gem in a small town on the Mississippi River. I would recomment it highly to anyone living or visiting in the area.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank momaurbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LMayEatery, Owner at L.May Eatery, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

Thank you so much for stopping in while you were in Dubuque! Also, thanks for mentioning Tiffany, she is a wonderful team member at L.May. We hope you are able to come back sometime. Cheers, Lea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L.May Eatery also viewed

 

Been to L.May Eatery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing