We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Redstone Inn & Suites
Nearby Hotels
$150
$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Dubuque(Dubuque)(Great Value!)
$63
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$119
$101
GardenInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$114
$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$96
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$109
Country Inn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$84
$81
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$64
$62
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (162)
Filter reviews
162 results
Traveler rating
94
29
17
10
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
94
29
17
10
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgovernor's suitecarried our bagsmetered parkingpieces of arthome businessyogurtlight fixtureshuge whirlpool tublocated close to downtownwithin walking distancecharacter and charmsitting roomwindow unitwanted breakfastegg sandwichmemory foamstep back in time
Filter
Updating list...
147 - 152 of 162 reviews
Reviewed April 15, 2008

The Redstone Inn is located in downtown Dubuque and is a
designated Historic Site built in the late 1800's and still maintains this wonderful period look.The owners are experienced hospitality veterans and it shows. They are attentive to your needs and always available to assist you. (We had car trouble and Jerry and Kelly got us to the right people within a few minutes)

My wife's plane was delayed late into the evening and Jerry volunteered to drive to the airport and bring her to the Inn.
Customer service at its best!!

The rooms reflect the furniture of the period, beds are very comfortable and you are offered a complementary continental and/or hot breakfast. The Omelettes are great and the bread is baked fresh every morning.

The Inn is convenient to all the renovated downtown restaurants and to all the river front activities, including the casinos.

We would recommend to anyone visiting Dubuque looking for an alternative to the hum drum franchise hotels.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank mjs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2008

This is the real deal - a grand home in an authentic river town run by a nice family. Their rates are reasonable, and the breakfast was tasty (I had the feta and spinach omelette). I really felt welcome right away, and conversations with both host and hostess was engaging. The owners have kept plenty of historical information about the house and the city, and lovingly keep the place.

Stayed: March 2008
Thank jamesroute151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2008

Beautiful, beautiful place. Owner was polite, but the woman was quite cold, almost like she didn't like being there. So, ignore that and enjoy the ambience. The breakfast left a lot to be desired (again, cooked by the owner and served...whoa, pretty chilly here).

  • Stayed: November 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marvyone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2008

We just returned from an overnight stay at the Redstone in the Governor's Suite. We arrived and a noisy bridal shower was using the entire downstairs. An hour later, when the proprietor said it was to have been over, they were still there and occupying all public areas. We fixed our own tea in the kitchen and went back to the room. The Governor's Suite is $195 a night and not a good value. The upholstery on the sofa is shredded and stained and every surface seen when sitting was covered white in dust. Several of the lights were burned out. There were two very thin pillows on the bed. The beautiful massive walnut headboard of the bed had hair oil stains on it. The bathroom was large with a large whirlpool tub, but all very outdated and worn. The soap was cheap and the wrappers had been wet previously and all crinkled up. The TV was old and the remote did not work all the time. The entire house could use a good cleaning. As someone else reported, we struggled out the door with our bags while the proprietor did not offer to even hold the door open. So, we are still looking for a nice weekend getaway in this area.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank auldlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2007

My husband booked this as an anniversary surprise for me. We were married in a bed and breakfast and staying at one for our anniversary seemed like a good idea. We stayed in the Liccardi room. When we first arrived a young girl was sitting behind the desk. There was a baby shower in the dining room and no adult workers were in sight. We decided to walk around the area and come back later to check in. The manager was there when we returned about an hour later. He handed us our keys and gave directions to the room. An elderly couple had checked in right before us. They were still carting their luggage up the stairs when we were going up. I was surprised that the manager did not offer them some assistance with their luggage. They were on the 3rd floor, same as us and it was not an easy climb.
Our room was good sized. The bathroom was also large. However, there was a dirty washcloth on the side of the tub. It was hard and crumpled. There were cobwebs ALL around the ceiling. The ceiling also had a couple places that looked like water damage and paint was peeling. The headboard was also very dusty and the chairs had broken springs. We took the washcloth to the manager and told him that the room was dirty. He did not seem at all concerned and just said he would speak to the housekeeper.
The bed had foam on top of the mattress and the TV looked like it was 15+ years old. We were able to get ice because we called using the cell phone setting on the front desk and the little girl came down and took the bucket. She brought it back about 1/4 full of ice.
We have stayed at bed and breakfasts before and the people there were always very friendly and accommadating. A dirty room was not acceptable, as it seemed to be here.
I would not recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Perkster74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews