We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A short ride”

Fenelon Place Elevator Co.
Ranked #3 of 62 things to do in Dubuque
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Also known as the Fourth Street Elevator, this funicular railway has been called "the world's steepest, shortest scenic railway."
Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A short ride”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

It's just a little different thing to see. They say there are more of these in Europe. It's the shortest and steepest railway.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank IllinoisGiGiK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

788 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    518
    224
    40
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
54 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Very Good bit of local history”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

The steepest railroad - and you can ride it roundtrip for less than $5. Not the most exciting railway trip I have ever taken - but the history and the story behind it - is very entertaining and the views and the trip for the money is worth it

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank solonomad42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
59 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very unique!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

This is so unique. Very interesting history. We all enjoyed it even my 83 year old mother. It was $3 per person.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank aliceo718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeForest, WI
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“View = A+”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

Definitely worth the $3 fee to take a ride up the elevator and see the view of Dubuque and the river front! We were surprised it was still open at 7 on a Saturday night but I'm sure the evening view would be just as impressive.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jaw9961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watertown, WI
Level Contributor
80 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Neat to see, wish there were more to do.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

My wife and I stopped here on June 10 and thought it would be neat to see this. We did love the views from the top, and the ride was fun, but do wish there were more to do once at the top. The price was very reasonable.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Watertown_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fenelon Place Elevator Co. also viewed

 

Been to Fenelon Place Elevator Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing