We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Time”

Kalmes Breaktime Grill and Spirits
Ranked #18 of 210 Restaurants in Dubuque
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $23
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Takeout
Description: Corner bar and restaurant with American style comfort food
Dubuque, Iowa
1 review
“The Time”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Excellent service, nice menu and great burgers. Nice selection of craft beers. Great neighborhood bar.

CALL BE4 YOU GO CLOSE EARLY OFTEN

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank joe f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    29
    6
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Iowa
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Millwork District eatery...”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

...and bar. Excellent service, nice menu and great burgers. Nice selection of craft beers. Great neighborhood bar.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank C H E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chemuyil
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Millwork District...”
Reviewed December 26, 2012

...is the up & coming area of Dubuque. Not fancy, just super food, cold beer and excellent service. Burgers (exccellent ground beef), salads and soups to die for.
The bar staff and the kitchen staff are on their toes and are very attentive without being obtrusive.
Excellent craft beers on tap & in the bottle.
(In this area there are new apartments being rented in an old converted millworks facility. Art exhibits, a soon to be food coop, a new health club to mention a few of the new things happening.)

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cheselva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Unexpectedly good!”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We stopped here at the recommendation of a local that we happened to meet near lunch time. The portions were good; the food tasty. The wait staff was friendly but very loud as they socialized at lunch time with the customers. A casual place where bikers stop. A couple of different TVs going with various sports showing.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cindy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurnee, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Traveling Salesman”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

I stopped in here on a Thursday about 5pm. The restaurant was dead but by the time I left Iit was very busy. It is a locals place with homeade food. Every night they have a special which was lassagne that night. Since I already this earlier in the week I choose the liver which does'nt appeal to everyone. It was lightly breaded smothered in onions which I requested. It was some of the best liver I have had! along with it were mashed red potatoes which are made per order. The food is made fresh and very good. They also had a catfish special which was a whole fish fillet including the head. The lassagne was $7.95 and I saw many plates served. The service was excellent and personable even though I was from out of town.
I would eat here again next time in town

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stuart F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kalmes Breaktime Grill and Spirits also viewed

 

Been to Kalmes Breaktime Grill and Spirits? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing