We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Did not disappoint!”
Review of Marios

Marios
Ranked #19 of 210 Restaurants in Dubuque
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Fairfield, Iowa
1 review
“Did not disappoint!”
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Food was very fresh and satisfying. Homemade flavor and reasonably priced. We would definitely visit again.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kristin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    51
    16
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
dubuque, iowa
Level Contributor
148 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great Italian by an Italian”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

This place is just a little hole in the wall, but oh my, the food! Our favorite dishes are the panzerotti, sicilian salad and minestrone soup. We've had many other meals there, but feel those 3 menu items are simply the best!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank summer14u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Fantastic!!!!”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

I've been going here for 20 years and it is the best, truly authentic Italian restaurant. I now live in Tampa and I still hold this opinion. I eat here every time I'm in Iowa. Excellent food, great prices, and good atmosphere. Family run, don't be surprised if you run into Mario himself. Wonderful place.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Italian family friendly restaurant”
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We recently visited Dubuque and wanted to try dining at something other than chain restaurants. We ate here for dinner one evening.

It is a very casual place - we felt at home with our family with 5 children and casual dress. The decor is more of a small town restaurant, without much flare. But that's okay - that's not what we were after.

The service was good - our server was new, but helpful and friendly.

The food was very good. We got items ranging from spaghetti to pizza bread to pork chops sauteed in wine and banana peppers to the Panzerotti (?sp). All was good. My kids were pleased, and some of them are pretty picky eaters.

The pricing was very reasonable - we ate well for about $20 less than a chain restaurant would have cost.

All in all a good dining experience at a very reasonable price. We will definitely return on our next trip to Dubuque. Highly recommend.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BigFamily07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level Contributor
96 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A little to much hospitality”
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We stopped by early afternoon after a beautiful day at the Mississippi National River Museum. I had seen some positive critic on trip advisor, so we figured we couldn't go wrong trying Mario’s for a small lunch before heading to our next stop. Mario was there and greeted us spontaneously in a charming, 'old school' kind of way. A nice surprise. We quickly bonded due to our European heritage, and felt right at home!

Although, it was a slow time of the day, having only 1 server on staff became a challenge trying to serve the customers in a timely manner. While she tried doing a good job, Mario made it his point wanting to entertain us. Although, we very familar with European tradition, we felt a little intimidated when Mario didn’t give us some privacy after a good amount of time. We shared it was our Anniversary and hoped for a small but good meal with some 1 on 1 time.

Mario had been sitting at the bar for some time, obviously had already a few glasses of wine ahead of us. He wasn’t going to part with us soon. The discomfort increased when he did get a little to ‘friendly’ with his hands, so we decided it was time to skip the order and postpone our lunch.

This could have been a much nicer experience, and I am sure the food would have tasted good.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FromEUtoIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing