We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outdoor Pool...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Des Moines-Airport
Ranked #17 of 48 Hotels in Des Moines
Des Moines, United States
1 review
“Outdoor Pool...”
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Just an FYI for the families out there. This hotel has an outdoor pool which of course is closed during the winter time. This would have been great information to know when I was making the reservation...

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Anthony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathan B, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Des Moines-Airport, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Thank you for taking time out of your day to tell us about your stay. I apologize about the misinformation in regards to our outdoor pool. I have taken the necessary steps to have our personal branded Hampton Inn page to show that we have an outdoor heated pool. I'm glad we were able to work out an alternative. We hope you will give us another try when future travels bring you to Des Moines! Thanks, again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    136
    92
    52
    34
See reviews for
123
76
41
190
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waterloo, United States
1 review
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Very friendly and accommodating staff. Not far from downtown at all and not overwhelmingly busy even during state basketball. The blinds in the room were kind of weird and creepy, though. Could use a little updating, but very clean.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Kayla C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathan B, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Des Moines-Airport, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. I apologize about the appearance of the blinds. That is one of the things we will take care of when we renovate this Summer. We aren't excited enough for the renovation! We hope you'll consider staying with us again when future travels bring you to Des Moines!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 15, 2014

Highly recommend this hotel. No issues at all. Highly recommend this hotel. No issues at all. Highly recommend this hotel. No issues at all. Highly recommend this hotel. No issues at all. Highly recommend this hotel. No issues at all.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Dean O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathan B, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Des Moines-Airport, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give your input. We are glad that you and an exemplary stay with us! We hope to see you again when future travels bring you to Des Moines!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville TN
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2014

Four of us stayed at the airport for one day as we had business in the area. The hotel is nice and it's apparent they have made efforts to reduce air traffic noise but being very close to the runway this is difficult. The breakfast is standard Hampton; the lobby is nice and the rooms are very comfortable and good sized. One tip about the rooms - this is one of the Hamptons that has dim lights that point to the ceiling giving the illusion of daylight near the window. Fortunately I had seen this before so I knew to look for the switch on the wall that is almost the exact same color as the wall, making it difficult to see, and turned it off. My co-workers were not so fortunate and all mentioned the next day they had trouble sleeping because of the weird faint daylight appearance the room has. Our only real problem was at checkout. The person checking us in (there were 4 of us in individual rooms) refused to put each person's HHonors number on their room. He said that only the person who was paying for the room could use their number so he put all four rooms under one HHonors number. I know this is not the case but we were too tired to argue. The next day we went downstairs and spoke with someone who knew what they were doing and they got the rooms associated with the correct HHonors number. I suggest they train their personnel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Kmagg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathan B, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Des Moines-Airport, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Thank you for your input. I have taken what you have discussed into consideration, and will provide a refresher with the staff in regards to our Hilton Honors program. Thank you for bringing it to our attention and have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, United States
1 review
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Everyone is friendly and they make your stay just like home. Cookies at night and Great staff.. The Breakfast in the morning is wonderful . If you forget anything at home just ask the front desk they will do what they can to help..

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathan B, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Des Moines-Airport, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Thank you for taking time to tell us about your stay. I am glad we were able to assist you with selected toiletries and supplies! It's just one of the great things about staying at our Hampton Inn! I am also glad that you enjoyed our breakfast! We hope to see you again when travels bring you to Des Moines!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, United States
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2014

All that Hampton hotels are - clean, comfortable, well-run. Miss having an indoor pool/hot tub this time of year, though - you'll see me again during next year's Iowa State HS Wrestling tournament, if not before!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Kelly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathan B, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Des Moines-Airport, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Hello, there! Thanks for taking the time to tell us about your stay with us. We apologize that the pool was unavailable at the time of your stay. It would be very cold to go swimming outside right now! We are glad to hear that you will be staying with us next year! Have a good day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ames, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Great location by airport, excellent shuttle service, but the furniture in the room was past it time. Very worn and used. Staff is very nice and welcoming. Update the rooms and this hotel would be a good choice.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank J Elaine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathan B, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Des Moines-Airport, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. I would like to let you know that this Summer, we will be renovating our rooms, so they will have a fresh new look! We look forward to it, and hope you will like it! I appreciate the kind words excelled toward our team here at our Hampton, and hope to see you again when travels bring you to Des Moines.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Des Moines hotels
0.0 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Des Moines Airport
1.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Des Moines Airport
3.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Des Moines Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn and Suites
Quality Inn and Suites
#33 of 48 in Des Moines
149 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ramada Des Moines Airport
Ramada Des Moines Airport
#16 of 48 in Des Moines
36 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Des Moines Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Des Moines-Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Des Moines-Airport

Property: Hampton Inn Des Moines-Airport
Address: 5001 Fleur Dr, Des Moines, IA 50321-2829
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Des Moines
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Des Moines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Des Moines-Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hampton Inn Des Moines Airport hotel!Here at the Hampton Inn Des Moines Airport hotel we strive to provide each and every guest with superior accommodations and unrivaled service.We are conveniently located directly across from the Des Moines International Airport and just under 4 miles from the center of Downtown. Our ideal location allows access to many area businesses and local attractions, such as Wells Fargo Arena at the Iowa Events Center.We Love Having You Here!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Des Moines-Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Des Moines-Airport Iowa
Des Moines Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing