We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You Can't Hear The Planes”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn Des Moines-Airport
Ranked #15 of 48 Hotels in Des Moines
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“You Can't Hear The Planes”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

I didn't hear any airplane noise in my first floor room, even though the airport was right across the street. The bed was comfy, and they have these nice squishy pillows that are more comfortable than those in most hotels. The breakfast was good. If you are in Des Moines, this is a good place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank BatterinGram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    140
    93
    52
    34
See reviews for
128
78
41
193
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mason City, United States
1 review
Reviewed April 24, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel before. We were taking a trip to Florida. We were able to leave our car at hotel while we were gone and take the shuttle to airport. Shuttle was quick and very convenient. I got a government rate which was more reasonable given we paid extra to park the car for a week.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poteau
Level 6 Contributor
214 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Had a nice four day stay at the Hampton Airport Hotel in des Moines. The hotel is very close to the airport and just a short drive into downtown. Not many restaurants in walking distance but several within a mile. The staff was very friendly and the breakfast was good also they had fresh cookies out in the evening. They do not an indoor pool which most area hotels have, this would be my only dislike about my stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OldOkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Hotel is on the lower end of the quality range that I would expect from a Hampton Inn. The whole property has an awkward lay-out which leads to small spaces (lobby, breakfast area, hallways, rooms, etc.). You can tell the property is dated but has had a minor face lift. Fixtures and rooms were a little run down. You can't beat the location (5 minutes) from the Des Moines airport however.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kurt H, General Manager at Hampton Inn Des Moines-Airport, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. We appreciate your feedback, we are sorry for the condition of your guest suite. We renovated our lobby & breakfast area last year. This year we will be replacing guest room carpet & furniture, the bathrooms will be completely renovated. We hope you can give us another try if your travels bring you back to the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota Florida
Level 5 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

The hotel was clean, the rate was right and the breakfast was Hampton standard. The only thing that was bad was the weather! Bitter cold! Can't the staff fix that?? LOL! It was super close to a lot of things. I would definately recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CDR123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ames, Iowa
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We chose this hotel for their "Park and Fly" option - for $20.00 above the cost of the room, we were shuttled to and from the airport, and could leave our car parked for 25 days. As we checked in, we were offered warm fresh-baked cookies and bottled water - cold or room temperature. We were shuttled to a restaurant of our choice and told to call for the shuttle to pick us up after we enjoyed our dinner. The next morning sack breakfasts were provided since we had an early morning flight. Friendly, helpful staff - would choose this hotel every time.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CGAmes42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Very nice Hampton Inn, near the Des Moines airport, great service, quiet room, freindly staff and convenient to Messodi's up the street - we ate there five times. It snowed during my two day stay and on the morning of checkout my car windows had been cleared. That was a wonderful surprise and made my day! Food at the continental breakfast was good for being a fast breakfast, the heater controls were easy to operate and the hotel was quiet even though it was clearly full.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Des Moines hotels
1.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Des Moines Airport
0.0 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Des Moines Airport
3.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Des Moines Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Ramada Des Moines Airport
Ramada Des Moines Airport
#17 of 48 in Des Moines
48 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn and Suites
Quality Inn and Suites
#33 of 48 in Des Moines
149 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Des Moines Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Des Moines-Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Des Moines-Airport

Property: Hampton Inn Des Moines-Airport
Address: 5001 Fleur Dr, Des Moines, IA 50321-2829
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Des Moines
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Des Moines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Des Moines-Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hampton Inn Des Moines Airport hotel!Here at the Hampton Inn Des Moines Airport hotel we strive to provide each and every guest with superior accommodations and unrivaled service.We are conveniently located directly across from the Des Moines International Airport and just under 4 miles from the center of Downtown. Our ideal location allows access to many area businesses and local attractions, such as Wells Fargo Arena at the Iowa Events Center.We Love Having You Here!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Des Moines-Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Des Moines-Airport Iowa
Des Moines Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing