We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Perfect Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampton Inn Des Moines-Airport
Ranked #16 of 49 Hotels in Des Moines
Reviewed March 20, 2013

The hotel was clean, the rate was right and the breakfast was Hampton standard. The only thing that was bad was the weather! Bitter cold! Can't the staff fix that?? LOL! It was super close to a lot of things. I would definately recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CDR123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (491)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

430 - 436 of 491 reviews

Reviewed March 1, 2013

We chose this hotel for their "Park and Fly" option - for $20.00 above the cost of the room, we were shuttled to and from the airport, and could leave our car parked for 25 days. As we checked in, we were offered warm fresh-baked cookies and bottled water - cold or room temperature. We were shuttled to a restaurant of our choice and told to call for the shuttle to pick us up after we enjoyed our dinner. The next morning sack breakfasts were provided since we had an early morning flight. Friendly, helpful staff - would choose this hotel every time.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CGAmes42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Very nice Hampton Inn, near the Des Moines airport, great service, quiet room, freindly staff and convenient to Messodi's up the street - we ate there five times. It snowed during my two day stay and on the morning of checkout my car windows had been cleared. That was a wonderful surprise and made my day! Food at the continental breakfast was good for being a fast breakfast, the heater controls were easy to operate and the hotel was quiet even though it was clearly full.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We are disappointed that our room for 3 adults was set up in a way that the sofa bed would not open. The staff while pleasant was clueless as to why moving late at night after traveling all day was an inconvenience. They offered nothing for the trouble.

Room Tip: Dont book a room here for 3 adults. The staff does not realize the sofa beds will not open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LSP999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathan B, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Des Moines-Airport, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2015

I would like to thank you for telling us about your stay. I would like to apologize in regards to the sofa bed not opening. We are renovating this November, and we will be replacing our sofabeds with new ones! We are more than ecstatic that we are renovating! We hope you give us another chance when future travels bring you to Des Moines! Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

The air was on full blast as you walked in the hallways which was confusing as it was 4 degrees outside. The first room we were in the heat would shut off and the air would come on. Dealt with that until 2 am and then we were moved to another room which actually stayed warm. The breakfast was good with the usual waffles, sausage, and instant eggs. Everyone seemed friendly, but I will stay at the location in West Des Moines if I ever have to return to the area. Didn't start hearing the airplanes until in the morning, but it wasn't a big deal.

Room Tip: Find another location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 313Tiara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathan B, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Des Moines-Airport, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2015

Thanks for taking the time to tell us about your stay. I would like to apologize in regards to your heater not working correctly. My maintenance associates do their best to ensure that all of our heating/cooling machines are running efficiently. We hope you will give us another try when future travels bring you to Des Moines. Thanks, again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2012

Great entry, coffee, breakfast, and service at this hotel. Beds were comfortable. The main downer is the outdoor pool. With our family, a pool is a treat for the kids. We wanted to be near the airport that night and didn't research as well as we could have. The pool was fine, but it was too cold to swim the evening we were there.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Iowa5kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

We have stayed at the Hampton Inn in San Marcos, Ca recently and were relieved to get two rooms ideal for our family last night following our flight into Des Moines. The consistency of services and comfort as well as a reasonable price for each room was a amazing!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hawk4sea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Des Moines hotels
0.9 mi away
Ramada Des Moines Airport
Ramada Des Moines Airport
#15 of 49 in Des Moines
87 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Des Moines Downtown
1.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Des Moines Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Des Moines Airport
3.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Des Moines Airport
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn and Suites
Quality Inn and Suites
#33 of 49 in Des Moines
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Des Moines-Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Des Moines-Airport

Address: 5001 Fleur Dr, Des Moines, IA 50321-2829
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Des Moines
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Des Moines
Price Range: $106 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Des Moines-Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hampton Inn Des Moines Airport hotel!Here at the Hampton Inn Des Moines Airport hotel we strive to provide each and every guest with superior accommodations and unrivaled service.We are conveniently located directly across from the Des Moines International Airport and just under 4 miles from the center of Downtown. Our ideal location allows access to many area businesses and local attractions, such as Wells Fargo Arena at the Iowa Events Center.We Love Having You Here!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Des Moines-Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Des Moines-Airport Iowa
Des Moines Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing