We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable, close to airport”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hampton Inn Des Moines-Airport
Ranked #17 of 48 Hotels in Des Moines
Springfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
66 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Comfortable, close to airport”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

This Hampton is convenient to the airport, but quite a drive from downtown and other attractions. We were not troubled by airplane noise after about 9:30 pm. Our room, which had 2 queen beds, seemed a bit crowded. Instead of a closet near the door, there was a closet and desk combination at the far end of the room, taking up the space usually occupied by the window. The desk was so close to the bed that there was barely room for a chair. There was a window, but it was narrower than usual, and with a pleated shade, no curtains. This was fine for nighttime, but in the day there was no way to let light in and have any privacy, as you can with the more usual sheer curtains. The breakfast was ample and good, and they actually had real half and half in addition to the usual "non dairy creamers."

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alm711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    133
    88
    48
    34
See reviews for
113
76
41
184
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
698 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 841 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

PROS: decent LCD TV; newer mobile desk and closet; typical Hampton breakfast food; 2 elevators; ample parking; decent beds and ample lights in room.

CONS: outdoor pool (doesnt help in winter!); both elevators side by side and centrally located (which means a bit of a walk if your room is the lower or upper numbers). No microwave or fridge in room. The door leading to the outside from the staircase is one way only- you cannot go back in the same way (no key card entry).

Room Tip: Pick the upper floors for peace and quiet. If you cannot walk far, take the rooms in the main floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Big_bro_1_usa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Hill, South Carolina
Level Contributor
51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Our room was average. Breakfast was ok. The location was very close to the airport and zoo.

Tried to stay a second time during the trip but no rooms and no referals to another Hilton property.

We did not use the pool or fitness center.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dalewanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
79 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

By the airport, right off Fleur Drive, but oddly quiet once you are inside. It is far (5-7+ miles?) from downtown, about a $13 cab ride.

Helpful, friendly staff, generous breakfast, van driver basically on call to 24/7 get you to/from the airport (just a 5 minute ride), small outdoor pool that seemed very popular with families

Dining options within walking distance are a bit limited, but it is one block from a huge Hy-Vee that has deli/dining options and a liquor store, and Mezzodi's italian restaurant (decent food).

Rooms are comfy and quiet, could use a renovation soon, but my bed linens were fresh and new. Hallway carpets are musty and either need a deep cleaning or replacement.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlobalHealthGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael W, Manager at Hampton Inn Des Moines-Airport, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Thank you for your input on my hotel here on Trip Advisor.com! I always enjoy reading over reviews. I do read over all of these comments and try to respond to everyone. I did read over your notes on our property. I'm glad you enjoyed the complimentary airport shuttle. On your next visit, the shuttle will take you to some local restaurants and shopping as well. Also, I read over your notes on the rooms. This is our next major focus here at the hotel. I want you to know that we are working on it!
Thank you again for your comments! Feel free to reach out to us if you have any questions or to book your next stay.
Remember, We Love Having You Here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

We booked a reward night at this hotel to send the weekend at Adventureland and we are sure glad we did. We really did not want to stay near the theme park so this worked out well.

Pluses:

Outdoor pool! Wow, we Minnesotans sure are not used to this feature! And the weather was great!

Food: The breakfast bar was well kept up and the food was good. Your typical easy breezy breakfast items but when you have a family of 5, this saves a bundle and is a must have when travelling.

Quiet! We were really surprised in the morning with how many kids we saw and how quiet the night was. Definitely hard to come by on a weekend in a hotel and this was great.

Room for a rollaway bed: well not really, but is there ever room for a rollaway? Good news-they had one in our room at check in and it was comfy, according to our all knowing 7 year old.

Minuses-none really. Only a one night stay and everything went just as we would expect. I would recommend this hotel for a one or more night stay. It was very clean and modern.

Room Tip: First floor is never a good idea. Anywhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JPsglobalfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael W, Manager at Hampton Inn Des Moines-Airport, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Thank you for your input on my hotel here on Trip Advisor.com! I always enjoy reading over reviews. I do read over all of these comments and try to respond to everyone. I did read over your notes on our property. I'm glad you enjoyed the complimentary breakfast! That definately is one of our perks. The outdoor pool is always a nice feature for little ones traveling with you. And speaking about little ones, if the 7 year old was happy that means we are doing great!
Thank you again for your comments! Feel free to reach out to us if you have any questions or to book your next stay.
Remember, We Love Having You Here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado
Level Contributor
123 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

I was concerned about being so close to airport i did hear planes until 9 pm then again in breakfast room between 6 am - 7 am so dont know if i would have heard planes in room bottom line concern about airplane noise no big deal as u would expect its a good hampton inn business center was on 2nd fl which i consider a plus i would stay here again
a plus is there was a grocery store almost next door so it was easy to pick up some sandwich supplies for an all day road trip

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seniortvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael W, Manager at Hampton Inn Des Moines-Airport, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Thank you for your input on my hotel here on Trip Advisor.com! I always enjoy reading over reviews. I do read over all of these comments and try to respond to everyone. I did read over your notes on our property. I'm glad you enjoyed our new business center! We just redid that along with our lobby this summer!
Thank you again for your comments! Feel free to reach out to us if you have any questions or to book your next stay.
Remember, We Love Having You Here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
81 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights on Aug 9th. The check in was ok the lobby and grounds were ok. But the rooms need a update, the bed clothes were old and really worn looking, the walls needed painted and the chairs needed a good scrubbing. The bathroom was ok and had enough towels. But the worst thing was when we returned from the races we were shocked. The empty soda cans we had left on the bed side table were still there and our ice container was full of water. No new clean bag for the ice container and papers and tissue left on the floor. I guess the $5.00 tip we left was not enough. Won't be staying here next year for the Nationals.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bluesfanillinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael W, Manager at Hampton Inn Des Moines-Airport, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Thank you for your input on my hotel here on Trip Advisor.com! I always enjoy reading over reviews. I do read over all of these comments and try to respond to everyone. I did read over your notes on our property. I take all comments my guests leave with me very seriously. I also want to be honest with you. To let you know, we are just beginning to work on our guest rooms. We hope to have them all refreshed by the end of this year. We recently completed our new business center, and in May we completed our huge lobby renovation. We also recently upgraded our StayConnected wireless internet and added new HD channels. Many new things are happening at the hotel.
As for missing to take care of those items in your room I have no excuse. We straight up missed those pop cans and the ice bucket. I do sincerely apologize about that; there is no excuse. We missed finishing those items up in your room. But the fact that my housekeeping staff did see that item which you left for them, they should have been very sure your room was cleaned correctly.
I did read that you wouldn't stay here again. I always respect a guests decision regarding our hotel and service. I would love to extend an invitation to try us again; I want a chance to win your business back. I know how busy we are during the races at the beginning of August. Feel free to contact me directly at the property to discuss this further. I would enjoy a shot at winning back a valuable guest.
Thank you again for your comments! Feel free to reach out to us if you have any other questions or would like to book another stay.
Remember, We Love Having You Here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Des Moines hotels
0.0 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Des Moines Airport
1.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Des Moines Airport
3.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Des Moines Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn and Suites
Quality Inn and Suites
#32 of 48 in Des Moines
3.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
1.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Des Moines Airport
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Des Moines Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Des Moines-Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Des Moines-Airport

Property: Hampton Inn Des Moines-Airport
Address: 5001 Fleur Dr, Des Moines, IA 50321-2829
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Des Moines
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Des Moines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Des Moines-Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hampton Inn Des Moines Airport hotel!Here at the Hampton Inn Des Moines Airport hotel we strive to provide each and every guest with superior accommodations and unrivaled service.We are conveniently located directly across from the Des Moines International Airport and just under 4 miles from the center of Downtown. Our ideal location allows access to many area businesses and local attractions, such as Wells Fargo Arena at the Iowa Events Center.We Love Having You Here!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Hotel.de so you can book your Hampton Inn Des Moines-Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Des Moines-Airport Iowa
Des Moines Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing