We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unfriendly Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Inn - Airport Conference Center
Ranked #18 of 48 Hotels in Des Moines
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Unfriendly Staff”
Reviewed October 14, 2010

One of the worst hotels I have stayed at in a while. Most of the front desk staff and the majority of the restraunt staff are rude and unfriendly. They called my room at 10:30pm (waking me up) accusing me, a non smoker, of smoking in the room. I also found a used towel in the bathroom and the little shampoo bottle was half full. They treat you like everything you ask for is a big deal and like they are doing you a favor. I also became sick from the food in their kitchen. I am never staying in this hotel again

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nonrev4life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleur6111, Manager at Holiday Inn - Airport Conference Center, responded to this review, December 17, 2010
Our staff apologizes for your experience. Our hotel consistently ranks very high is staff courtesy and guest satisfaction, and hopes to exceed your expectations during your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    66
    45
    21
    7
See reviews for
41
21
15
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2010

I stayed at this hotel for one night as an attendee of a conference being hosted there. The staff were friendly and check-in was simple and fast. I'm a bit of a germophobe, so hotel rooms in general creep me out . But I must say this place was absolutely spotless. I also appreciated the quality of the linens and towels. The bed was very comfy with a wide selection and good number of pillows.

The one negative: my room was on the third floor, but I only rode the elevator once. Once was enough. The thing creaks and shudders so badly that I was afraid it might break down with me in it.

It's been a long time since I've stayed in a Holiday Inn. I would definitely stay here again, and I'll keep this brand in mind for my next trip.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anneski76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnsville, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2010

I've been a Priority Club Member for nearly 16-years. This was by far the worst Holiday Inn I have ever stayed at. Ironically, it is also the most money I've ever paid ($140) for one room with two queen beds. Room #206 had scum on the doors; the toilet leaked onto the bathroom floor; the toilet handle stuck...even the ceramic coffee cup leaked coffee onto the bed sheets (I thought I was being "punked"). There was no extra blanket, as is typical; the shower handle in the pool shower was missing and unusable; the TV remote was difficult to use; and the air conditioner sounded like a B52 bomber. In the morning, the thin walls enabled me to be surrenaded by the screaming baby next door. Yep, it was by far the worst Holiday Inn experience and the most I've spent.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank daaxt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, DE
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2010

This hotel does well on all the usual checklist items-- staff very good, rooms nice, things seem updated-- fails at my personal checklist item, which is does the elevator smell like a hot electrical circuit?-- but I would still rate it highly if it were not for the fact that it is impossible to get work done in the evenings, and equally impossible to get to sleep early if you've got an early flight the next day. The place is NOISY. When I was there, it sounded like a combination luau and called square-dance going on in the atrium area. No way could I sleep until after 10, which is OK even for a 6am flight, but also no way could I work, and I wasn't too interested in joining the families in the pool or seeking out that Hawaiian square-dance thing. Did I mention the nonstop yappy dog on my hallway? ...This hotel is trying too hard to be all things to all customers, and in the process it is cutting its business travellers' needs right out of the list. Internet serbvise was spotty too-- not enough repeaters. Never again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hotel_Connoisseur60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, AZ
Level Contributor
114 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2010

Tired but functional fits this place. A very popular place as the Holidome are was very active with lots of kids during the summer sports season. Breakfast was nice being cooked to order. Everyone was very nice. The place is within walking distance of the airport and the shuttle got you there in a snap. I think I would like to try some other properties in Des Moines next time, just to see what the newer properties and locations are like.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CactusPatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 1, 2009

I stayed at the Airport Holiday Inn with a school group. It was a nice hotel and i really enjoyed it. It was just a little confusing with the layout. I did enjoy my stay and wish i could have had more than just one night there. The rooms were clean and the pool was really deep which was very different! I enjoyed the atmosphere of the pool area also.

Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Shenhayley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
109 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2009

A little nostalgia for us old folks who remember the heyday of the Holidome concept. This one is beautifully preserved and is one of the best in the country. Room was clean, modern, and had excellent internet. Rooms service was personable, prompt, accurate, and has the best green beans (with bacon & onions) you have ever tasted (prime rib excellent, too - with real horseradish!). Get a room facing in to the Holidome, prop your feet up on your balcony, and listen to the soothing fountain. You'll be in no hurry to get to your next stop.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoadWearier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Des Moines hotels
0.7 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Des Moines Airport
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Des Moines Airport
3.0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Des Moines Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Des Moines-Airport
0.3 mi away
Ramada Des Moines Airport
Ramada Des Moines Airport
#24 of 48 in Des Moines
4.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Des Moines Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn - Airport Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn - Airport Conference Center

Property: Holiday Inn - Airport Conference Center
Address: 6111 Fleur Dr, Des Moines, IA 50321-2851
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Des Moines
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 48 Hotels in Des Moines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn - Airport Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 219
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Des Moines Airport Holiday Inn & Conference Center, Iowa places you minutes from area attractions including Des Moines International Airport with 24 hour free shuttle, Blank Park Zoo, Science Center of Iowa/IMAX theatre, Iowa State Fairground Varied Industries, Wells Fargo Arena, Hy-Vee Hall, Knoxville Raceway, Cownie Soccer Complex, Adventureland, Gray s Lake, and Prairie Meadows Casino. Our hotel is also convenient to businesses such as Wells Fargo, Allied Insurance, as well as area colleges such as Drake University, Des Moines University, Grandview College, DMACC, and Simpson College. If shopping is what you are looking for be sure to visit Jordan Creek Town Center & Mall, Valley West Mall, Southridge Mall, and historic Valley Junction Our hotel has over 200 beautifully decorated guestrooms, each with free wireless Internet, many with high-speed hard wired Internet as well. Many guestrooms come with microwave/refrigerator units, and our hotel has more than 20,000 square feet of meeting and banquet space with ample free parking for groups of 10-500. For your enjoyment we have an indoor pool, whirlpool, video game room, and ping pong in our tropical courtyard. Stop by our Grill restaurant, offering breakfast anytime, hot & cold sandwiches, along with steaks and seafood dinner entrees. Unwind in our bar and catch your favorite sporting event on our huge 68 big screen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn - Airport Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn - Airport Hotel Des Moines
Holiday Inn Des Moines
Des Moines Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn - Airport Conference Center Des Moines, Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing