We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Renovating”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn - Airport Conference Center
Ranked #23 of 48 Hotels in Des Moines
Reviewed March 23, 2014

This is an older hotel, that still seems to be doing things right. The receptionist was friendly and informative. The restaurant was cafeteria style, with a selection of sandwiches and sweets, the hospitality was plentiful and pleasant. They were careful enough to put me towards the back of the hotel away from the families with kids. As a business traveler, I would not want to hear the kids running up-n-down the halls and I didn't. Their is a central pool & the rooms encircle it, allowing parents to relax from their balconies while being able to monitor their children and teenagers. Although this was business for me, the hotel was very family friendly. The only minor complaint I had was the bathrooms were very small. As a big-guy - this was not very accomodating. There is also construction going on, as they are expanding their meeting rooms, but they are keeping that area fenced off and their was no construction or construction noise on the weekend I was there.

Room Tip: Rooms around the pool for families, rooms towards the back for a quiet business trip.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bestsales123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleur6111, Owner at Holiday Inn - Airport Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

Thank you so very much for your comments on your stay here at the Holiday Inn -Airport Conference Center! You are absolutely correct that we are expanding our Conference Center with a new Exhibition Hall of over 12,000 sq. feet, and look forward to the construction being complete late this spring. Thanks again for your kind comments and our entire staff hopes to have the opportunity to serve you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (193)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 193 reviews

Reviewed February 12, 2014

I spent one night here as an overnight stop before an early morning flight out of Des Moines. The hotel was clean, but the lobby needs a face lift. It's not a very inspiring place to walk into. However, it is very convenient to the airport--right across the street. The lounge was closed for remodel and the hotel restaurant was more like a self-serve deli than a restaurant. I decided to eat out, so can't comment on the quality of the food. Tables to dine at were set out around the balcony area of the pool. My room was clean. A standard 2 queen bed that included a desk/dresser combo, refrigerator, microwave and large flat screen tv. The bed was fairly comfortable but the sheets felt old and tired--not crisp and clean. Bathroom was clean, but again the towels need to be replaced--old and tired again!
This hotel served my needs, but would probably look elsewhere if I need to spend the night in Des Moines in the future.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank krileyadams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn - Airport Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2014

Dear krileyadams,

Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. It is always our goal to provide convenient and world class service to our guest and we are pleased to know your needs are met during your stay. However, we regret that your stay was not as comfortable as it can be due to the issues with our facilities. Rest assured that we take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences.

Once again many thanks for your feedback and we would welcome the opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

The location of this Holiday Inn--across from the Des Moines airport--is exceptional. The check-in was efficient but the single clerk was extremely busy and we had to wait in line a bit longer than was comfortable.

Though clean and adequate, the hotel is showing it's age. The decor was dated and worn. The "tropical courtyard" was dark, gloomy and decorated for last centry. Had I not found this deal on Hotwire, I would not have been happy with the full price of $135/night. Most other hotels in the area are less than that, and many of them are nicer. I hope that the construction of a new convention area for this Holiday Inn will include a room upgrade.

Room Tip: The area is massive because of the large courtyard. Ask for a room near the front or you'll wal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NSBooklover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn - Airport Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Dear NSBrice,

We appreciate you leaving a review on your recent stays with us. We are sorry for any inconvenience you experienced with the hotel staff at check in. We will review our procedure to avoid similar situations in the future.
We are glad to see that you left some feedback on what you liked as well as what fell below your expectations. We are pleased you did enjoy a clean room as well as our location. Thank you again and looking forward to serving you in future.

Regards,

Brenda J.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

I stayed here 1 night back in November, and it was fine. I stay frequently at IHG branded hotels, and usually am very impressed. This Holiday Inn was okay, but I wasn't that impressed with the place. It definitely could do with some room upgrades, and the hallways seemed a bit damp and musty. The restaurant was pretty average, and it seemed to be more like a bar / cafeteria, which seemed a bit strange compared to other Holiday Inn's I've stayed at. They had various stations set up, and you ordered what you wanted, then would pay, then bring it too a table outside the restaurant in clear proximity to the inside hotel rooms. Staff was friendly, and location is good; literally walking distance from the airport.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MJN123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn - Airport Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Dear MJN123,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the condition of the common areas of the hotel prevented you from fully enjoying your visit. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Nice room and staff and for a hotel that has been here all my life it is very well maintained. The oddest thing is the room is clearly updated including HD TV but with a fuzzy low def picture. Why go through all the trouble to update a room and not make sure the guest has a "standard HD" signal that I've enjoyed at home for too many years to remember. It is 2013 isn't it?

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
Thank mspfurnace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn - Airport Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Dear mspfurnace,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I am pleased to know that you had a satisfactory stay at our hotel and apologize for the shortfalls you have encountered. I appreciate feedback that we receive, whether positive and negative to ensure we provide the best level of service and facilities that we can give to our guests. Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Close to the airport with a free shuttle at all hours. Had a very early flight and took a 4:30 shuttle to the airport. Sinc I left before the scheduled
Breakfast time they provided me with a take away bagged meal. Nice room but the AC was a little loud.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

I booked a suite using my IHG points. The person helping me book it looked up the room and specifically told me it had 2 queen beds and a pull out sofa - perfect for our group. We arrived around midnight and learned that room was not available. The kind woman behind the desk calmly and professionally handled it by upgrading us to a larger suite that only had a King bed and added 2 rollaways. The room was phenomenal. My college-aged son suggested we stay forever! The beds were unbelievably soft and the room was chic and very clean. The poolside breakfast was quite nice, too.

Room Tip: The suite with a kitchen was beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gl0balmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Des Moines hotels
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Des Moines Airport
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Des Moines-Airport
0.3 mi away
Ramada Des Moines Airport
Ramada Des Moines Airport
#15 of 48 in Des Moines
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Des Moines Airport
0.7 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Des Moines Airport
4.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Des Moines Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn - Airport Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn - Airport Conference Center

Address: 6111 Fleur Dr, Des Moines, IA 50321-2851
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Des Moines
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 48 Hotels in Des Moines
Price Range: $116 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn - Airport Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 219
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Des Moines Airport Holiday Inn & Conference Center, Iowa places you minutes from area attractions including Des Moines International Airport with 24 hour free shuttle, Blank Park Zoo, Science Center of Iowa/IMAX theatre, Iowa State Fairground Varied Industries, Wells Fargo Arena, Hy-Vee Hall, Knoxville Raceway, Cownie Soccer Complex, Adventureland, Gray s Lake, and Prairie Meadows Casino. Our hotel is also convenient to businesses such as Wells Fargo, Allied Insurance, as well as area colleges such as Drake University, Des Moines University, Grandview College, DMACC, and Simpson College. If shopping is what you are looking for be sure to visit Jordan Creek Town Center & Mall, Valley West Mall, Southridge Mall, and historic Valley Junction Our hotel has over 200 beautifully decorated guestrooms, each with free wireless Internet, many with high-speed hard wired Internet as well. Many guestrooms come with microwave/refrigerator units, and our hotel has more than 20,000 square feet of meeting and banquet space with ample free parking for groups of 10-500. For your enjoyment we have an indoor pool, whirlpool, video game room, and ping pong in our tropical courtyard. Stop by our Grill restaurant, offering breakfast anytime, hot & cold sandwiches, along with steaks and seafood dinner entrees. Unwind in our bar and catch your favorite sporting event on our huge 68 big screen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn - Airport Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn - Airport Hotel Des Moines
Holiday Inn Des Moines
Des Moines Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn - Airport Conference Center Des Moines, Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing