We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn - Airport Conference Center
Ranked #18 of 49 Hotels in Des Moines
Burlington, Iowa
Level Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Comfortable”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012 via mobile

I have stayed at this location numerous times for business. The bed was comfortable, room was clean but could use some updating. The staff is always exceptional. This place is not my first choice but it's not my last as well. I will be back......

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Kenton C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    64
    44
    20
    7
See reviews for
40
21
15
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rock Hill, South Carolina
Level Contributor
51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

Nice room a little pricy. Excellent breakfast freshly prepared. You could order from the menu. Great staff. Near airport and downtown. We spent two nights and enjoyed our stay. Has a holidome with pool, gameroom, and hot tub.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dalewanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

I was surprised to see all of the positive reviews. I typically do not review the hotels I stay in for business but I did in this case because it was so bad.....

I stayed at the Holiday in Conference center as my usual first four choices were book up with Farm Ex......It was a quicj in Quick out one night stay. I picked Holiday inn from my few options as i perceived it to have the highest and most consistent standards to the alternatives.

So, I found the hallways to be musty, an stale smelling.....Not cigarette smoke but really old Gym sock smelly.

Room was a huge concern.......Again musty and not particularly clean. The bathroom was disgusting with actual mold present in the grout of the bathtub.

Sorry Holiday Inn.....you did not get this stay right at all. I will avoid this property at all costs in the future

Room Tip: Go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scooter34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn - Airport Conference Center, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear scooter34,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back to Holiday Inn - Airport Conference Center, Des Moines, IA.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davenport, Iowa
Level Contributor
197 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

This is a well cared for 40 year old facility. The rooms are nicely appointed, the beds (and pillows) are first rate. The bathrooms have been updated and are both clean and comfortable. Our room featured both a microwave and a mini-fridge. Typically I believe these make the room look junky. These were tastefully done and somewhat matched the decor of the room.

The hotel is built around a large covered pool area. My guess is at one time this was outdoors but was enclosed in the early 80's (which was a bit of a trend back then).

This place is great for conventions and kids. It seems as though the conventions fill the week and families fill the weekend.

Service at the front desk and housekeeping area was not notch. Friendly, helpful and unobtrusive. I cannot comment on the restaurant and bar as I did not give them a try. And, in my opinion, Des Moines has too many great restaurants for a person to eat at their hotel.

Room Tip: The pool side rooms could be noisy if that kind of thing bothers you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, CO and Mt. Vernon, IA
Level Contributor
130 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

Room size, cleanliness, service, accessibility, and layout....all had the makings of a great destination. The central atrium was multi-purpose to include a swimming pool, fountain, dining area, gathering area, and access to hotel services. The restaurant served tasty, excellent and affordable breakfasts. The hotel's location in the DM metro area gave us quick access to downtown, the airport,the zoo, and Summerset Vinyards in Indianola. The rooms were quiet and properly furnished to include a mini-fridge and microwave, big flat screen TV and easy access to ice makers. The beds were comfortable, and pillow choices were both soft and hard. Front desk personnel, and restaurant and service staff all were friendly. Free internet access is a plus...especially in the lobby and offices (since I left my computer at home) OK, there was one minor drawback: the hotel provided shampoo, but not conditioner, as part of room amenities. We had to ask for, and were given, conditioner. Minor detail...but watch for it.

Room Tip: some rooms open to the atrium, others to the building exterior. the south side was the most quiet du...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level Contributor
109 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

Our room was nice sized. We enjoyed the internet in our room. The only bad thing was that they didn't have hair conditioner. You would think that a 3 star hotel would have had that. The hair dryer was new and worked well. The plus of a small refrig and microwave is also a plus.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LCHS1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sibley, Iowa
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

We were there July 31-August 2 2012 for Iowa Gas. The rooms are nice and quiet. It was very convenient for us being vendors to be able to stay there for the show. Its a very busy place during this week, but all was good.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beach Pal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Des Moines hotels
0.7 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Des Moines Airport
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Des Moines Airport
3.0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Des Moines Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Des Moines-Airport
0.3 mi away
Ramada Des Moines Airport
Ramada Des Moines Airport
#27 of 49 in Des Moines
3.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Des Moines Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn - Airport Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn - Airport Conference Center

Property: Holiday Inn - Airport Conference Center
Address: 6111 Fleur Drive, Des Moines, IA 50321
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Des Moines
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 49 Hotels in Des Moines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn - Airport Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 219
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Des Moines Airport Holiday Inn & Conference Center, Iowa places you minutes from area attractions including Des Moines International Airport with 24 hour free shuttle, Blank Park Zoo, Science Center of Iowa/IMAX theatre, Iowa State Fairground Varied Industries, Wells Fargo Arena, Hy-Vee Hall, Knoxville Raceway, Cownie Soccer Complex, Adventureland, Gray s Lake, and Prairie Meadows Casino. Our hotel is also convenient to businesses such as Wells Fargo, Allied Insurance, as well as area colleges such as Drake University, Des Moines University, Grandview College, DMACC, and Simpson College. If shopping is what you are looking for be sure to visit Jordan Creek Town Center & Mall, Valley West Mall, Southridge Mall, and historic Valley Junction Our hotel has over 200 beautifully decorated guestrooms, each with free wireless Internet, many with high-speed hard wired Internet as well. Many guestrooms come with microwave/refrigerator units, and our hotel has more than 20,000 square feet of meeting and banquet space with ample free parking for groups of 10-500. For your enjoyment we have an indoor pool, whirlpool, video game room, and ping pong in our tropical courtyard. Stop by our Grill restaurant, offering breakfast anytime, hot & cold sandwiches, along with steaks and seafood dinner entrees. Unwind in our bar and catch your favorite sporting event on our huge 68 big screen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn - Airport Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn - Airport Hotel Des Moines
Holiday Inn Des Moines
Des Moines Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn - Airport Conference Center Des Moines, Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing