We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good room, very comfy bed, confusing layout.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn - Airport Conference Center
Ranked #19 of 48 Hotels in Des Moines
Midwest USA
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good room, very comfy bed, confusing layout.”
Reviewed October 27, 2011

It's a little difficult to find your way around this hotel, but the rooms were ok, and the bed and pillows very comfy. The walls are somewhat thin.

The shuttle to the airport is fast, and room service was speedy. The internet was fairly easy to connect to. The restaurant is like a cafe, with breakfast all day. Service at the front desk was fine.

We got a room here via Priceline for a reasonable price.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeeAndalucia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    67
    47
    21
    7
See reviews for
43
21
15
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2011

Walking distance from airport/rent a car. Great staff, pro active and friendly. Good luandry service, came back early eventhough normal service. Rooms I saw need renevation, fitness room conveniantly next to pool, some fitness gear was not operating or broken. Overall good experience but hotel needs renevating.

Room Tip: If short stay in Des Moines and late arrival or early departure, well located. Good restaurant next...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris3436
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2011

Pros: giant rooms, fridges, microwaves, decent food in the resturant. Cons: creepy as all get out. A young woman loves nothing more than running in the gym with table of drunk old men making inappropiate gestures right out side the gym door. The pool and the gym are in the middle area where tons of tables are postioned around. Which I guess would be nice if you had kids. They can go swimming and run around screaming while mommy and daddy drink beer and ignore them---which seemed to be the case. After ten minutes on the treadmill, I decided enough before something bad happened and went back to my room. Idk who desgined the layout of the hotel, but you almost need a map to find your room.

Room Tip: Away from the pool area. Unless you like noise or don't really want to have hang out with your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pizziehl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2011

Fantastic staff at this hotel. When we checked in (on a reward) we were given a room that had been recently remodeled. The fumes from the new carpet were irritating to one of us, so they immediately sent up a bell man with a key to an alternative room. The alternative was a beautiful two-room suite! Staff was also great about booking us a nice restaurant, and the shuttle took us to and from the restaurant with little delay. Great service. The breakfast is included in the price and includes a full grill menu. Unfortunately the quality of the cooking was pretty low, and the person taking the order had never heard of Celiac disease or the need to be gluten free. They brought the breakfast with toast perched on the top. They immediately made it good, and the young woman personally came to our table and apologized, so I attribute the error to lack of training by management, not negligence. I hightly recommend staying, just adjust your expectations for the breakfast accordingly.

Room Tip: If you are sensitive to solvents or commercial adhesives, ask if the room was recently remodeled whe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DenverD0c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Loved the balcony on our room overlooking the Garden courtyard and pool. Sauna was awesome, had a great time. That weekend changed our lives and I'm so glad that Holiday Inn was our choice of hotels for that moment.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank probkauz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2011

I was very scared to stay here due to reviews I read on a another site. Once we checked in and got to the room my husband and I were very pleased. Although the room was a little outdated, it was decent size and everything seemed to be fine. It also had a Microwave and mini fridge which was nice since we didn't get free breakfast even though their web-site states clearly "complimentary breakfast". I absolutely loved the bed! The bed was the best thing about the stay in this hotel. My husband didn't agree as much but I thought the bed was very comfortable.
The bad thing about the rooms is that the doors are paper thin!! As your walking through the halls you can hear everything!!! EVERYTHING!!! Along with being in your room, you can hear anything going on outside in the hallway. Along with that... don't be prepared to sleep in while staying here and if so make sure to request a room not attached to the Dome at all but has an outside window. That MIGHT help. The 1st morning I was woke up by kids playing in the pool which is in the dome. You can hear everything in your room that happens in the dome. 2nd morning I was awaken by conversations coming from the Cafe, 3rd morning I was awaken by loud clanging noises as they started replacing the cover on the dome (which was desperately needed) at 8:30 in the morning. This is what annoyed me the most because this the hotel could have actually prevented. 4th morning, - the cleaning people vacuuming next door.
We also had a problem on our last day there. We came back to the hotel late afternoon and it smelled horrible. It smelled like one of the cleaning people had used the bathroom and the smell was still lingering. After calling the front desk, they sent someone to clean the bathroom again and we had 3 different people check on us and even offer to move us to the room next door. We were impressed with how much they wanted to help.
If we were to stay here again we would definitely make sure to stay in a room not connected to the Dome. I think this was my main complaint apart from no breakfast... but enough to try another hotel next time. Again, the beds are comfy!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with an outside window and not connected to the Dome if you plan on sleeping in!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CKC001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level 5 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2011

I stayed with husband and 2 sons to visit the Iowa State Fair the next day. I searched online for "free breakfast" and "indoor pool" in the Des Moines area. This location was on the list. I called directly to confirm this was correct and was told "qualifying rates include free breakfast."
We arrived late.
At check-in my husband had been given breakfast coupons, which he told me about as we waited for the elevator to the room. Our room was great. The boys found a Fringe episode on TV that they hadn't seen and picked that over going to the pool. That was okay! @@
Next morning, we each ordered breakfast foods and one son chose a chocolate milk. We were told that the coupons didn't count towards drinks. After ordering we were told that the total would be $17.30. Why? Each person needs a coupon, and a limit of 2 coupons per room. This was the first we were told of this.
It took 2 people and too long for us to be finally given our other 2 breakfast coupons. The front desk staff were not very family-friendly.
This fiasco spoiled an otherwise good stay.
The management or ICHC don't seem to care that I wasn't happy as neither has contacted me, so that's why they get this review.
"Complimentary breakfast" on the hotel website should mean just that. We could have stayed elsewhere and they would have been *happy* to give us the advertised free breakfast in the morning.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsBAA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Des Moines hotels
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Des Moines Airport
0.7 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Des Moines Airport
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Des Moines-Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ramada Des Moines Airport
Ramada Des Moines Airport
#16 of 48 in Des Moines
33 reviews
3.0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Des Moines Airport
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn and Suites
Quality Inn and Suites
#33 of 48 in Des Moines
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn - Airport Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn - Airport Conference Center

Property: Holiday Inn - Airport Conference Center
Address: 6111 Fleur Dr, Des Moines, IA 50321-2851
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Des Moines
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 48 Hotels in Des Moines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn - Airport Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 219
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Des Moines Airport Holiday Inn & Conference Center, Iowa places you minutes from area attractions including Des Moines International Airport with 24 hour free shuttle, Blank Park Zoo, Science Center of Iowa/IMAX theatre, Iowa State Fairground Varied Industries, Wells Fargo Arena, Hy-Vee Hall, Knoxville Raceway, Cownie Soccer Complex, Adventureland, Gray s Lake, and Prairie Meadows Casino. Our hotel is also convenient to businesses such as Wells Fargo, Allied Insurance, as well as area colleges such as Drake University, Des Moines University, Grandview College, DMACC, and Simpson College. If shopping is what you are looking for be sure to visit Jordan Creek Town Center & Mall, Valley West Mall, Southridge Mall, and historic Valley Junction Our hotel has over 200 beautifully decorated guestrooms, each with free wireless Internet, many with high-speed hard wired Internet as well. Many guestrooms come with microwave/refrigerator units, and our hotel has more than 20,000 square feet of meeting and banquet space with ample free parking for groups of 10-500. For your enjoyment we have an indoor pool, whirlpool, video game room, and ping pong in our tropical courtyard. Stop by our Grill restaurant, offering breakfast anytime, hot & cold sandwiches, along with steaks and seafood dinner entrees. Unwind in our bar and catch your favorite sporting event on our huge 68 big screen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, IHG, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn - Airport Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn - Airport Hotel Des Moines
Holiday Inn Des Moines
Des Moines Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn - Airport Conference Center Des Moines, Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing