We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Des Moines Airport
Ranked #3 of 48 Hotels in Des Moines
Certificate of Excellence
Iowa City, United States
1 review
“Wonderful experience”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Every time I stay at the Double Tree Inn in Des Moines, I know I will be receiving a first-class room and service from people who go out of their way to be helpful. The room is always impeccably clean and inviting, and the hard work and attention to detail by all staff members is obvious, Thanks for a wonderful experience!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Gerald S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    356
    141
    49
    14
    3
See reviews for
148
103
34
233
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newton, Iowa
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Our stay at Double Tree is always wonderful! Johnys Italian Steak house right on grounds, and airport transfer and Not to mention the wonderfully clean and comfy beds. Only downfall this stay was ~ Hot Tub was broken. One of my favorite parts of going to this hotel. I'll just need to make sure to ask before going. (;

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank 131JoAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed November 4, 2013

This was a very nice hotel. The business center was not working, but it was actually quite comfortable to work in the lobby. I was pleasantly surprised. Check in and out was easy and efficient, staff was great. It was a little weird to make a U-turn to get to the entrance, but you could also make an early turn (not obvious) to go in "the back way".

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Kenneth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, WA, United States
1 review
Reviewed November 4, 2013

The staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was very nice and comfortable and clean. Easy location - by the airport. Dinner at the restaurant attached was great! Breakfast buffet was ok, but definately have had better.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Grace K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thompson, United States
1 review
Reviewed October 29, 2013

I stayed at the DoubleTree on my recent business trip to Des Moines. It was quite possibly one of the best weeks on the road in some time. The hotel is well-kept, modern, well managed. The staff is exceptional -- friendly, helpful, always had time to answer questions. The location is south-Des Moines by the airport. Noise was never an issue though but I wouldn't call South Des Moines any sort of utopia...plan to drive 15 mins. to downtown for anything - shall we say, upscale. The rooms were clean with a pleasantly modern and tasteful decor. Housekeeping was impeccable throughout the entire week. The all-important internet service was reliable and speedy enough for everything I needed to get done. The restaurant, although on the high-end, had a great menu and the food and service were top-notch. Breakfast was the usual buffet w/options for cooked-to-order entrees. However the buffet was well-managed, food was fresh and hot. All in all, the next time business brings me to Des Moines, I'll be booking another room at this DoubleTree!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Nice hotel at the Des Moines airport. The Doubletree feels like a new hotel. The rooms are nice and comfortable and clean. There is a really nice steak house type restaurant attached to the hotel and they do room service perfectly. As you would expect from a hotel that is almost across the street from the airport, there is a free shuttle. I always pick Doubletree when I can for the cookies. Another extra is the free Internet.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAkles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davenport, Iowa
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

My husband and I stayed here one night. We were in town for the marathon. Hotel is very convenient to airport and downtown. Hotel is very clean with ample parking. The breakfast started at 6pm even on Sunday. It was a nice buffet that even included steel cut oats. The fitness room is very nice. The only quirk was the tv was to the back of the cardio equipment. So unless you have eyes in the back of your head, it's hard to watch the big screen tv. The hotel was very accommodating for my request for late checkout.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Des Moines hotels
4.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Des Moines Downtown
2.9 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Des Moines Airport
4.8 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Des Moines Downtown
1.1 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Des Moines Airport
0.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Des Moines Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Des Moines Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Des Moines Airport

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Des Moines Airport
Address: 6800 Fleur Dr, Des Moines, IA 50321-3127 (Formerly Radisson Hotel Des Moines Airport)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Des Moines
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Des Moines
#2 Business Hotel in Des Moines
#4 Family Hotel in Des Moines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Des Moines Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Des Moines Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Des Moines
Des Moines Radisson
DoubleTree By Hilton Des Moines Airport Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing