We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good end to a long week”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Des Moines Airport
Ranked #3 of 48 Hotels in Des Moines
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Good end to a long week”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

I stayed at the doubletree as my final night of a business trip to Iowa. The staff was accomodating and the facilities were clean and nicely decorated. They have a great steak house attached to the hotel and their morning shuttle service to the airport was extremely prompt. A nice way to top off the week.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    347
    140
    47
    14
    3
See reviews for
143
102
34
227
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Iowa City, Iowa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Stayed before our trip to Jamaica. Was just looking for something close to the airport and found an absolute gem. The service was very good and the pool and hot tub were wonderful. Very nice to get into a "heated pool" and its actually heated. The bed was big and comfy and the shower will knock you over in the morning to insure you are up. Will stay here again when we have more time to enjoy the pool.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stacey and Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granger, Iowa
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Close to the Des Moines airport, friendly staff, clean, up to date, comfortable and surprisingly quiet for being in the flight path. Food and room service fantastic! Would stay here again when traveling to/from DSM airport.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tahlequah, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

Located near the airport but we didn't hear any aircraft during the night or early morning. With government rate brought the rooms down $40-50 off the standard price. Italian steakhouse located next door. Rooms were clean and the beds were comfortable. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Justin919a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgewater, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Great property! Nicely decorated and clean. The staff was very helpful and service oriented. Johnny’s Italian Steakhouse that is connected to the hotel served great food in a pleasant atmosphere. As a woman traveling alone on business, I felt very comfortable and would certainly recommend this hotel to others. Airport Shuttle was great as well.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa A. Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Free, fast airport shuttle, new and ever-so-nicely renovated property with upscale, modern common areas, guest rooms and suites. Staff is cordial and responsive. Adjoining restaurant is just short of remarkable with food offerings and service. Indoor pool, hot tub and small fitness center help round out your experience. On-site business area works, and parking is free.

I like this place and would return in a minute.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NashvilleWslaughter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Tx
Level Contributor
59 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 293 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Observations about the hotel:

* Location: just a short ride from the airport. However, it is about 8 miles from downtown Des Moines. The typical taxi to downtown is around $14 to $19 without tip depending on traffic. Depending on what you want to do in Des Moines you might want to get a rental car. Their is nothing as far as shopping in the area.

* Hotel itself: The hotel was not a Doubletree hotel previously. It was built like a mid tier hotel such as Marriott Courtyard. So you won't find that this Doubletree is comparable to what you might expect from the usual Doubletree. However, they have done their best to renovate it. The staff is very very good and the hotel is well appointed. The rooms were clean nicely appointed. The restaurant is very good but somewhat pricey. Their van takes you back and forth from the hotel to the airport but no transport to downtown.

Rates: The price of the hotel was quite high given the hotel and location. Staying there on Thursday, Friday, and Saturday was $169 a night. However, the price included a full breakfast. Perhaps the cost would have been lower but I was there during the NCAA National Wrestling Tournament.

Would I stay there again....... probably not given the location and cost.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mergansertx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Des Moines hotels
4.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Des Moines Downtown
4.8 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown
2.9 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Des Moines Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Des Moines Downtown
1.1 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Des Moines Airport
4.9 mi away
Staybridge Suites Des Moines Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Des Moines Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Des Moines Airport

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Des Moines Airport
Address: 6800 Fleur Dr, Des Moines, IA 50321-3127 (Formerly Radisson Hotel Des Moines Airport)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Des Moines
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Des Moines
#2 Business Hotel in Des Moines
#4 Family Hotel in Des Moines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Des Moines Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Des Moines Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Des Moines
Des Moines Radisson
DoubleTree By Hilton Des Moines Airport Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing