We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great affordable downtown hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Des Moines Downtown
Ranked #25 of 48 Hotels in Des Moines
Reviewed May 14, 2014

This hotel has a great downtown location and a complementary shuttle (tips accepted). Donald the shuttle driver had no problem taking us to Buzzard Billy's for supper and picking us up and taking us to El Bait Shop for a meeting. Hotel was clean and the lobby has been renovated. The staff were all super friendly and accommodating. Parking is free. Nice pool. Decent restaurant breakfast, but wasn't included in the price of the room. I have stayed here twice in the past year and would stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GretchenT81, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Des Moines Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2014

Dear Mike F,
Thank you for continuing to choose to stay at our hotel while you are in Des Moines. Thank you as well for taking the time out of your day to offer a complete review of your stay. I was so pleased to hear that you were able to take advantage of a few of the amenities we offer: free parking, our pool, our restaurant, and our complimentary shuttle service. I have shared your comments to Donald as well as every department in our hotel. On behalf of all of us here at the hotel, we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you as a guest in the future. Thank you again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (280)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Des Moines Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

144 - 150 of 280 reviews

Reviewed May 14, 2014

Recently stayed here for business and was reasonably pleased with the hotel, but there is no hot tub and the fitness room was closed the time I was there. The front desk staff were apologetic and did try to make it right, especially Tremaine. Not quite sure if I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mdhokenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Des Moines Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2014

Dear mdhokenson,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your stay. We’re glad to know that our property suited your business needs and we appreciate your kind words about our staff.

You mentioned in detail some issues about our amenities. Please accept our apologies for not being able to deliver 100% satisfaction. Your feedback is highly appreciated as this gives us the opportunity to improve on our guest satisfaction.

We hope you give us a chance to host you the next time you are in Des Moines.

Kind Regards,

Tracy V.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

Available and assisting staff. Clean and comfortable...large....bedroom (especially those by elevator). Not sure about all floors, but nearly all rooms on the floor we stayed on adjoined, both sides in each room. Bed was comfortable and chair/sofa were relaxing. Convenient desk allowed to comfortably finish days programming and notes. Nice TV, though did not use. Only small complaint was a slight draft along the windows but the heater was strong enough to compensate and remain comfortable.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
Thank DarkonIV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GretchenT81, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Des Moines Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2014

Dear DarkonIV,
Thank you for taking the time to offer a kind, candid, and thorough review of your recent stay with us. We appreciate each and every review as it helps us to improve for the future. I am so happy to hear that you were able to relax while you were staying with us. I sincerely hope that we have the opportunity to accommodate you in the future. Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Downtown.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014

Sometimes Des Moines suffers from a lack of rooms, and when you have to book at the last minute, this is what is available - here's why. Rooms are outdated and worn, location is not really downtown, place just feels worn out. The breakfast was pretty bad too. Sorry Holiday Inn, but you need to put some money into this place, will not stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Whodat75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GretchenT81, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Des Moines Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

Dear Whodat75,
It looks as though you stayed at our hotel about nine months ago. You may have noticed that we were in the midst of a multi-million dollar, award winning renovation while you were here. We take great pride in our hotel and the services we offer. I am confident that is the reason our hotel was just voted the "Best Hotel" in a local publication's annual contest. I am sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with your recent stay with us. I strongly encourage you to visit us the next time you are in Des Moines so you can experience our hotel post renovation versus under renovation. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts. I hope we have the opportunity to accommodate you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

I stayed here for business on March 3-4, 2014. The ride from the Des Moines Airport is about 12-15 minutes.

The hotel lobby is very inviting. The front desk staff was extremely friendly and attentive.

In the lobby area is a nice sitting area with a fireplace and tv. Behind it is a computer/internet area with two computers and infoTouch information screen. There was the Cityscape lounge which seemed comfortable. Near that area was Genevieve's Restaurant (about the only place to eat in the area).

The pool area has a nice laptop pool with a tiki style hut that contains towels. It has a few lounge chairs and tables. There is an outside patio looking at downtown area attached to it.

I visited the Tower Top Floor revolving Ballroom. It had a nice view of downtown.

The room was a standard hotel room with two double beds with a choice of soft or firm pillows, a desk with a potted coffee maker, ice bucket, telephone and lamp. The TV is a 37 inch LG LCD tv with around 60 plus channels. The bathroom is small with a tub shower and curved shower curtain. It has a standard hair dryer, shampoo, conditioner, and lotion. The hotel offers free Wifi with 3 Mbps download and 0.20 Mbps upload speeds.

I ventured away from the hotel to the Wells Fargo Arena and Hyvee Hall (about 5-10 minute walk). From there I visited Buzzard Billy's (www.buzzardbillys.com) which has a nice bar area and serves Cajun/Creole food. I then walk around downtown searching for a place to eat breakfast since the only other options near the hotel are McDonald's, McDonalds, or McDonald's. I ended up at a nice new coffee place called Scooter's which had very pleasant service and tasty coffee and pastries.

Overall the rooms are average, but the lobby and other offerings make this a very good hotel. I will stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SkatewithWild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GretchenT81, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Des Moines Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2014

Dear SkatewithWild,
Thank you for taking the time to offer such a kind, candid, and thorough review of your recent stay with us. It sounds as though you were able to take advantage of a few of the amenities we offer which I am pleased to hear. We depend on reviews, good and bad, to help us improve for the future, so thank you for taking the time to do so. I hope we have the privilege of accommodating you again in the future. We appreciate your business and your input.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

I travel a lot and although a card carrying member for IHG, I will not be back to this property until it gets flipped. While the lobby, et al look nice and are inviting, it ends there. They go through a lot of Fabreeze here and it still does not mask the stench of cigarettes. C'mon Holiday Inn -- flip this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JFSoccerCoach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GretchenT81, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Des Moines Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Dear JFSoccerCoach,
Thank you for offering your thoughts regarding your recent stay with us. We take immense pride in our hotel and the services we offer. I am subsequently very sorry to hear we fell below your expectations. I am also disheartened to hear you smelled cigarette smoke while you were here. We have been a 100% non-smoking property since 2006. We have been through a brand re-launch and a multi-million dollar renovation since then. Everything at our hotel is new! Any smell of cigarette smoke in our hotel is a violation of our policy. When we become aware of a violation we take very extensive measures to undo any damage done. For these reasons, I will be contacting you privately to discuss your experience in greater detail. I truly hope we have the opportunity to accommodate you again in the future and exceed your expectations. Thank you again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Our non-smoking room reeked of cigarette smoke. When asked if we could have another room, we were told that this room was all they had available. Was in Des Moines for the weekend with my 13 year old son for his basketball tourney. I ALWAYS request non-smoking rooms. Room sucked due to the smell of the smoke. The lobby area in the hotel looked like it had not been vacuumed or cleaned in days. There was a hockey game that night at the arena across the street, but not sure what that has to do with how dirty the joint was. $125 for a night in a dirty hotel room. Yuck!

Room Tip: There is a Marriot about 5 minutes down the road that blows this place away. Pretty close in price...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GretchenT81, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Des Moines Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2014

Dear Mike M,
Every review is important to us because it gives us information to help us improve for the future, so thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We take great pride in our hotel and the services we offer and we strive to be the best Holiday Inn around. It sounds as though we fell below expectations on your visit. Our hotel is in fact 100% non-smoking. There is a substantial fine for disobeying that policy because we take extensive measures to undo the damage done. It sounds as though we were not made aware of the occurrence in your room. And our staff is looking into it. In regards to the lobby, I am disappointed to hear that you found it not to be clean. Our lobby is cleaned multiple times throughout the day and the night, and even more so during winter months like this because of the constant flow of snow, ice melt, etc.. I sincerely hope that you will consider giving us the opportunity to exceed your expectations the next time you are in Des Moines.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Des Moines hotels
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Event Center
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Des Moines Downtown
0.8 mi away
Staybridge Suites Des Moines Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Des Moines Downtown
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Des Moines Downtown
0.7 mi away
Des Moines Marriott Downtown
Des Moines Marriott Downtown
#12 of 48 in Des Moines
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Des Moines Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Des Moines Downtown

Address: 1050 6th Ave, Des Moines, IA 50314-2606
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Des Moines
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 48 Hotels in Des Moines
Price Range: $113 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Des Moines Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Downtown, Des Moines, Iowa. Our convenient downtown location provides the ideal setting for both business and leisure travel. With convenient access to Wells Fargo Arena, Hy-Vee Hall, Veterans Auditorium, Des Moines Civic Center, Iowa State Fairgrounds, and Mercy Hospital, you can not go wrong when you stay at the Holiday Inn Downtown. Located in the heart of Des Moines, we are minutes away from an assortment of entertainment options. Indulge and have a ball at Prairie Meadows Race Track and Casino, Adventureland Park, Blank Park Zoo or the Science Center. Also, exceptional dining and nightlife are just blocks away at the Court Avenue Entertainment District and the trendy Historic East Village. Downtown Des Moines is alive with special events every weekend, and our area shuttle makes navigating downtown a breeze! Relax, it's Holiday Inn. We offer free parking and free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel, an indoor pool, and a complimentary downtown/airport shuttle. If you love classic American cuisine set in a casual but elegant dining atmosphere, then Genevieve's Restaurant and Cityscape Lounge are the place to go. Whether your visit brings you to Des Moines for business or pleasure, allow the Holiday Inn Downtown to be your hotel of choice! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, IHG, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Des Moines Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Des Moines Downtown Hotel Des Moines
Des Moines Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Des Moines Downtown Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing