We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Des Moines Downtown
Nearby Hotels
Days Inn & Suites Des Moines Airport(Des Moines)(Great Value!)
$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$97
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$142
Hyatt.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$167
$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
$147
Doubletree.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$88
$82
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Baymont Inn & Suites Des Moines Airport(Des Moines)(Great Value!)
$72
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$92
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$101
$82
Groupon.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (292)
Filter reviews
292 results
Traveler rating
58
80
79
50
25
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
58
80
79
50
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmercy hospitalstay at holiday innsthe shuttle driverconvention centerwedding receptionwells fargo arenaonsite restaurantpleasant staybed and pillowsfree shuttlenice lobbylobby areaan older propertyroom was clean and comfortableroom was largestaff was friendlydowntown
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
242 - 247 of 292 reviews
Reviewed February 21, 2012

This is a great option in Downtown Des Moines, close to the hospital and not too far from the Capitol. The property needs improvements across the board, but the place is not a dump. They always put me in a larger room on one of the top floors.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Huberm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2012

This aging hotel has a friendly staff at the front desk but not always in the restaurant "Genevieve" where you can have a not so good breakfast. The location right next to the I-235 is convenient but has its downside: bring your earplugs.
Downtown Des Moines is only a 3-4 minutes drive away and you can use the hotel shuttle if you don't have your own car.
You'll need only 10 minutes to come from the airport.
The room with 2 king beds was big and outdated but very clean.

Room Tip: The higher the better because of the I-235.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Swissworld_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2011

Nice staff, nice priority club (platinum member) welcome gift with a snack and small bottle of water. I got a suite right next to elevator, some noise, room had a mini fridge, new carpet, bed, tv and furniture. Could tell hotel is aging in bathroom and drafty window that made bad sounds on the rather windy night, some body hair in bathroom and a bugger on the wall that was missed by house keep but still fairly clean, no worse than anywhere else. I think they should get rid of wall and door that separate the bathroom sink. The toilet was rather old and tiny and the reason they dont put a normal size toilet in there is that the bathroom door would bump it, just so small a bathroom so they should pull that little wall out to make it nicer. I was on executive level so not sure if entire hotel is that nice or not but was rather impressed. I'd say without the wind noise and noise of hospital chopper comming and going would have made this a perfect 5. As is it is a top 40% hotel so I gave it a 4. Parking was free and this is not the case at other downtown hotels. Also room was a biut cold, about 30 degree outside. I set heat at 73 when I got there it was set at 68 and I dont think it ever broke 70 degree after running all night. Although if not for the strong north wind may not have been an issue.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chuck29355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2011

Convenient location right off 1-235 in the heart of downtown - we walked to the Civic Center and nearby restaurants. It is clean and neat although a little outdated. We had complimentary apps in the first floor lounge, which was nice, as well as free popcorn!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny1stAv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Stayed 4 nights in October for business. I am a platinum member so I'm not for sure if my room was an upgrade or not. It was fairly large with a sofa, but it wasn't a suite either.

The hotel can either have the a/c on or the heat on, not both. In this case...both were turned off. The first night was extremely warm and when I called the front destk (when I was told about the a/c-heat issue) they did offer to bring a fan up, but all that does is move hot air. I opened up the windows, but you're right next to very busy roads a very large hospital. There were sirens and the helicopter noises all night. The rest of the week was cold and no heat. Absolutely ridiculous.

Saw pool closed sign all week, so not for sure what was going on there. It is a very old dated hotel. Needs some major $$ to bring it current.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kkitelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews