We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Des Moines Downtown
Ranked #25 of 48 Hotels in Des Moines
Reviewed May 23, 2011

Room 503 had cracked mirror tiles on the walls
We were given a room with 2 beds (for our anniversary?) I had even sent an email to the hotel before we arrived explaining that this was our anniversary and received no response
No free local calls
No complimentary breakfast bar,
Doors slamming all night long due to teens roaming the hallways (track meet in town).

I asked the front desk if they would cancel our 2nd night reservation or put us in a king room. Their response was no.
The hotel is billed as being downtown, its on the other side of the highway,
The bar was dirty and sticky from spilled drinks, and the bartender was even more rude.

This was a terrible experience

Room Tip: Dont bother, go stay at the Marriott, its worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JimInKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holiday1050, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Des Moines Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2011

First I want to thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Downtown. I am sorry that you feel that your experience was a DISASTER, however looking at the history of the reservation it was made for a two double bed room, if we would have known ahead of time that it was your anniversary we definitely would have made it a special evening for you. I am sorry about the crack in the mirror there was tape on it for protection. I do hope that you do give us another try when you are in Des Moines.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (280)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

241 - 247 of 280 reviews

Reviewed April 27, 2011

This hotel is conveniently located in the downtown (for all corporate offices) and near by the airport. I was sweetly surprised by the welcome goody bag that contains some snacks and water bottle which helped me a lot as I reached the hotel past midnight due to flight delays.

Morning breakfast was awesome and service is cordial. There is a bar located in the lounge which is the best place to pass the time if you don't get sleep.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rajani975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2011

Myself, 3 teenage girls & another female friend recently stayed here for a tournament we were going to in Des Moines for the weekend. From the moment we arrived at the hotel until the time we checked out we were provided with the most friendly, sincere service I have received at a hotel in a long time. We went to the front desk several times for different things (an extra cot, toothpaste, extra towels, etc) & each time treated with great & friendly service. The room & bathroom were very clean & the roll away we asked for was even surprisingly comfy! We will definitely stay here whenever we are in Des Moines in the future!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dlm1005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2011

Unfortuanly we were stay there to be close to the hospital for my mothers heart surgery. We had the jr suite(large room with king bed, couch, chair, frig and microwave) the 1st night because we had points to use. When we asked where we would have to move for the next 3 nights, they let us stay in the orginal room for the hospital rate they gave my dad.
The pool and lobby was very nice. So was the bar and restuarant.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank madtravler711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2010

If you're looking for value, this may be the hotel for you. But don't expect alot from of this outdated, 3 star hotel, except a clean and comfortable stay. There are no flat screen TV's in your room, the furnishings are old, the windows are worse than drafty, there's a full-blown breeze. But hey! Thats what your private thermostat is for.
We have stayed in updated 3 star hotels in the area, but also paid more for the privilage. Granted, there were issues that, if we were staying for more than one night, would have been a major concern...like the clogged bathtub. It is true, if you have read prior reviews regarding this hotel, the outside highway traffic noise is rather loud. But again, I refer back to the crappy windows.
Before leaving, we had breakfast and ordered from the menu. Again, nothing special. I thought my food was ok, but nothing to rave about. My wife thought the food tasted "freezer burned".
All said....I believe we got a decent value for our money. However, we did go through Priceline.
Honestly, we'll probably check out other hotels in the area when we return. But we wouldn't disgard this hotel as an option in the future.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank midwesttravelerMpls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2010

While the rooms at this hotel were nothing special corporate rates with their convenient shuttle service sure made up for it.
But the crown jewel had to be their first class breakfast offered free of charge to Priority Club members. Between the fresh fruit buffet and either hot or cold cereal it' s the best thing I' ve ever had at Holiday Inn yet !
I' d stay here again

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank xCNKen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2010

I stayed here one night as my son and I were in town for a sporting event. You can't beat the price, but just know going in that it is an average hotel. The room we stayed in was clean and had all the typical amenities you expect in a hotel. Reception on a few of the TV channels was poor as we tried to watch some college football games. The one complaint I had was the heating/air system. When we got to our room, the thermostat read 68 degrees. This was in early October on a somewhat cold/windy day. I turned it up into the 70's. After an hour it still read 68. I called the front desk and was told they still had the air conditioning system on, so I couldn't run the heat, but they offered to have a space heater brought to the room.

The breakfast buffet had all the usual offernings, but I didn't think the food was that good. The cinnamon toast sticks tasted like they were leftover from the day before and the price seemed a little high for the quality.

The staff I encountered were all very nice and helpful, which is always great to have when you're out of town.

The best part of the stay was the complimentary internet access. I'm always amazed at the high-dollar hotels that charge high fees for internet access and then the places that are often the cheapest to stay offer free internet service. Again, another customer service perk that should be standard in every hotel.

Again, the price of staying here is great. For a single night, I would stay here again, but for an extended stay I would probably look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DEK2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Des Moines hotels
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Event Center
0.8 mi away
Staybridge Suites Des Moines Downtown
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Des Moines Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Des Moines Downtown
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Des Moines Downtown
0.8 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Des Moines Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Des Moines Downtown

Address: 1050 6th Ave, Des Moines, IA 50314-2606
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Des Moines
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 48 Hotels in Des Moines
Price Range: $112 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Des Moines Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Downtown, Des Moines, Iowa. Our convenient downtown location provides the ideal setting for both business and leisure travel. With convenient access to Wells Fargo Arena, Hy-Vee Hall, Veterans Auditorium, Des Moines Civic Center, Iowa State Fairgrounds, and Mercy Hospital, you can not go wrong when you stay at the Holiday Inn Downtown. Located in the heart of Des Moines, we are minutes away from an assortment of entertainment options. Indulge and have a ball at Prairie Meadows Race Track and Casino, Adventureland Park, Blank Park Zoo or the Science Center. Also, exceptional dining and nightlife are just blocks away at the Court Avenue Entertainment District and the trendy Historic East Village. Downtown Des Moines is alive with special events every weekend, and our area shuttle makes navigating downtown a breeze! Relax, it's Holiday Inn. We offer free parking and free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel, an indoor pool, and a complimentary downtown/airport shuttle. If you love classic American cuisine set in a casual but elegant dining atmosphere, then Genevieve's Restaurant and Cityscape Lounge are the place to go. Whether your visit brings you to Des Moines for business or pleasure, allow the Holiday Inn Downtown to be your hotel of choice! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Des Moines Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Des Moines Downtown Hotel Des Moines
Des Moines Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Des Moines Downtown Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing