We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Holiday Inn Express Ever”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Des Moines/Drake University
Ranked #21 of 48 Hotels in Des Moines
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Worst Holiday Inn Express Ever”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

This property is located in a neighborhood quite a bit off the interstate. The surrounding houses do not make me feel comfortable walking around by myself at night, although there were no situations while we where there. The hotel does not feature a pool or hot tub. The breakfast room is really more a corner of their lobby. The only nice feature this hotel posesses is a fenced in court yard. Of corse my request to have a courtyard room when booking wasn't honored. The room was not very clean and I will not be returning. My guess is the only reason this hotel is still operating is because there isn't another property close to Drake University.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Betty F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Des Moines/Drake University, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Betty F,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and reviewing our property.

However, I sincerely apologize that you did not find our location to your liking and deeply regret the dissatisfaction you had with the room condition. Comments such as yours are very important as it allows us to assess where we have opportunities to make improvements.

It is our hotel's goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations and your comments are very important to us. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas, and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve. We value your custom and as always we remain at your disposal.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    68
    26
    14
    11
See reviews for
50
18
8
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Flagstaff, AZ
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

My wife and I stayed here in order to be close to Drake University, where she had some business. It is very close to the university, but in a rundown neighborhood. It was difficult to find a parking space at times during the day. I was concerned that we would hear street noise from our room, but was delighted to have near-total quiet, thanks to all rooms facing an inner courtyard and being screened from the street by an enclosed inner walkway. The room was very clean, and we found the beds exceedingly comfortable. Breakfast was quite good in terms of including many selections. We'd stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flagtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 2, 2013

What a disappointment. We stayed at this hotel during the annual Hyvee Ironkids race.

Pros: Great continental breakfast, good front desk staff
Cons: No pool, hotel is in a former university dormitory

We stayed here with three young children on a Friday evening. We were somewhat concerned about the location of this hotel as it is near Drake University and many of the homes around it are lower income and look run-down. When we checked in the front desk staff was very nice.

This hotel is actually rented space from Drake University. It is a two-story former dorm and feels like it. I can't imagine why anyone would want to stay here unless they were doing business at Drake or they were a sports team playing there. The rooms smelled overwhelmingly of air freshener, and despite being a 100 degree dry day in August, the room was damp and musty, even with running the air conditioner non-stop. We tried to vent the room by opening a window but then we had trouble getting the window shut later.

I did not notice when booking online that this property has no pool. Don't ALL major hotel chains have pools now days? For $114 per night, I would expect it. My kids were sorely disappointed when they found out we couldn't swim.

MLK/Fleur was under construction the next day but the front desk staff had no clue how to direct us around it.

My only positive is that the front desk staff was courteous, and the morning staff worked hard to get breakfast served earlier than normal for a crowd of kid athletes and their families who had to be at an event by 7 a.m. The guys servicing the breakfast was great at replenishing healthy items like bananas and milk.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kcprgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Des Moines/Drake University, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear kcprgal,

Thank you for your review and for staying with us. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. It is regrettable we fell short of your expectations this particular day. Please be assured that all comments are acted upon and used to improve the products and service we provide to our guests.

While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
41 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Pros:
Per night rate was very reasonable
Typical breakfast selection
Clean room
Comfortable bed
Friendly Staff
Large TV
Good amount of channels

Cons:
Old fixtures and furniture
Old style heating/air unit
Needs more power outlets

While the hotel rooms looked older than most ive stayed in, for the price this hotel was good.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank encore02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topanga, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Was in Des Moines for both work and recreation and chose this Intercontinental Hotels Group property due to both location just outside downtown and mainly positive TA reviews. This location is just a few minutes from downtown Des Moines and maybe 20 minutes to the airport on surface streets. You must have a car unless your only destination is Drake University. There are small restaurants and shops close by. It took me only a few minutes to drive to a Dahl’s to pick up some groceries.

The hotel is located in an older tree lined neighborhood. The hotel is nicely kept and clean. The staff are polite and correct even if not particularly friendly. My room was clean and good sized though one could spot signs here and there of wear and tear on the carpets, furniture, lampshades, etc. The AC was on the loud-ish side but not an issue for me. The shower stream was strong and welcome after a day in the heat outside. No problems with the Wi-fi. I didn’t get a chance to use the business center. Plenty of parking outside and no problems with cigarette smells. My room was pretty quiet.

The breakfast included with the room rate was more than adequate. The coffee was merely passable but the biscuits and sausage gravy really got the day going. Also fruit selection, toast and pastries. They also had a pancake-making machine which I didn’t try. The breakfast area only has a few tables and unwiped spills, clutter, and empty coffee carafes indicated that it wasn’t as well looked after as in many other comparable lodging properties.

Keeping in mind that this is an “Express” brand hotel meaning it won’t be offering the kind of luxury services of more the more high brow properties, I thought that room rates could also be more aligned with its “Express” branding but overall I like this property primarily for its location near but right in downtown.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J13345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biwabik, Minnesota
Level Contributor
69 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

The hotel is the only hotel in the Drake neighborhood. It is convienient if you have business at Drake. The place is clean, staff are nice, the breakfast was not the greatest...but it is free with your room rate. The Drake Diner is right next door
..I would recommend eating there. The beds were very comfortable. A/C was a little loud...but I could deal with it. The price is high...but all the hotels in this area (comparing with downtown) are in this price range. So...not unreasonable in comparision. I would stay here again. I recommend if you need to be at Drake.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KimberMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
52 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

The hotel was pretty nice. Cheking in and out was quick and easy. The room was clean. They give you nice toiletries, I like that they include a makeup removal wipe.
The free breakfast was generous. The sausage, biscuit, and cinnamon roll I tried was good. The scrambled eggs were grotty! The oragne juice was watered down and nasty. Maybe the machine was on the fritz? I would avoid those two items, but there was a wide enough variety to still make it a great amenity.
But that's about all you get. I paid $100 on Hotwire, and even at that "bargain" I felt that was a bit much to pay for an average hotel in a neighborhood in Des Moines, IA.
Speaking of Hotwire- I live in Des Moines and intended to book a hotel downtown for a "stay-cation" and was annoyed to find that they considered this hotel to be in the downtown area even though it's a couple neighborhoods away. Something to keep in mind.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mpaulette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Des Moines/Drake University, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear mpaulette,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I am pleased to know that you had a satisfactory stay at our hotel. As for the rates, we strive to provide a competitive rate in the area. It is not our intent to inconvenient our guests instead provide rate options that make sense. Nevertheless, I appreciate feedback that we receive, whether positive and negative to ensure we provide the best level of service and facilities that we can give to our guests. Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Des Moines hotels
1.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Des Moines Downtown
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Des Moines Downtown
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Des Moines Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Des Moines Downtown
2.0 mi away
Staybridge Suites Des Moines Downtown
4.2 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Des Moines Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Des Moines/Drake University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Des Moines/Drake University

Property: Holiday Inn Express Des Moines/Drake University
Address: 1140 24th St, Des Moines, IA 50311-4309
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Des Moines
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 48 Hotels in Des Moines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Des Moines/Drake University 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Greetings from Des Moines, Iowa, home of the Drake Bulldogs and Drake Relays. Holiday Inn Express at Drake is at the heart of this city's renaissance neighborhood and ideally located right on campus. Seconds away are the Knapp Center, and Drake Stadium. Dining is available next door at the retro-themed favorite, Drake Diner. Follow your meal with an independent film a jaunt away at the Varsity Movie Theatre. Come visit the campus, the community, and us; we'll make you feel at home.Plenty of entertainment awaits off campus as well. Attractions include Prairie Meadows Race Track and Casino, Adventureland Amusement Park, Iowa State Fairgrounds, Principal Park, and Blank Park Zoo. Also nearby are the Civic Center, Convention Complex, Veterans Auditorium, Hy-Vee Hall and Wells Fargo Arena. We are moments from the Historical Building of Iowa, the State Capital, Living History Farms, Terrace Hill, Salisbury Mansion and Hoyt Sherman Place. Centrally situated among all of the Metro's retail districts --- four major malls, many boutiques and antique shops. Seasonal attractions are plentiful and near. Other areas of interest include The East Village, Historic Valley Junction and Downtown Court Avenue District, where nightlife is at its best. Free Wireless Internet available in all guest rooms and public areas. Whether it is business or pleasure that brings you our way, our team is ready to serve you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Des Moines/Drake University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Des Moines/Drake University Hotel Des Moines
Holiday Inn Des Moines
Des Moines Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Des Moines/Drake University Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing