We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and very accomodating inexpensive stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Des Moines
Ranked #24 of 48 Hotels in Des Moines
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised and had a great inexpensive stay for a couple days and were close to the interstate for travel. The rooms we used were single queen bed rooms and had been freshly repainted and very clean. It was quiet on our end of the building. They do have a separate blocked off side of building for smokers and people that have pets which was nice to be seperated from other guests. The owners and staff were very helpful with all our needs. They have a great complimentary continental breakfast in a pleasant open clean sit down lobby and not crowded like some hotel breakfast area. Someone is always making sure that items are hot and/ or stocked for breakfast to not run out of items. Our grandchildren loved the easy access to the building and amenities. If you don't need a pool this is a great stay traveling thru Des Moines.

Room Tip: 2 queen bed rooms were spacious and well worth the space, Rooms were quiet.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (114)
There are newer reviews for Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Des Moines
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 114 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2013

A quick overnight in Des Moines when other higher end motels down the street were booked brought us to this Econolodge. It's nicer than the one in my hometown but still an average place for the cost. Room was clean and comfortable. Tube-style TV instead of LCD common in other chains. Huge parking lot in the rear for RVs, trucks, etc. Lots of restaurants in the area.

Room Tip: If you need a big parking lot for your rig, this is the place.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ELP59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Passing thru on my way to Washington state and was looking for something cheap and clean after searching different sites and reading reviews I came across this hotel and this was it. For an overnite you can't beat the price. Would most definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bell_117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

This hotel, despite being old, was clean and the staff was excellent. There were no problems with my room. It would be nice if the property was refreshed, though. Rooms and hallways are pretty dark. But, this is a great hotel if you need a relatively inexpensive stay in Des Moines.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brenda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Our room was ready upon arrival. It was so nice to have both a fridge and microwave available and so quiet. The location is ideal. Our room was clean and beds comfy, Gandson of 4, disappointed...no pool.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Brayton_IAIowaFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Staying one night traveling through town, this was my first stay at this EconoLodge. The room surprised me with the quality furniture in the room with a nice desk and a couch. It also included a small refrigerator and a microwave. However, the TV was a 25 inch tube TV which is low quality for hotel rooms in this era. And it did not seem to have all the stations listed on the chart. The breakfast had all the standards including the 2 waffle makers, apples, cereal and muffins. They had a nice coffee machine. A nice place to stay in the budget class hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ScottS898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Stayed at this property en route to Missouri for a family reunion. If you are looking for a clean fairly inexpensive place, for an overnight close to the freeway this will work fine. The rooms were clean, some what outdated and tired, but very clean. The beds were fine, and the bathroom was clean. The breakfast was clean and well organized but no protein was offered all carbs no yogurt or cheese or eggs. So be prepared for that. But cereal, waffles, and breads, juice, milk and coffee. All well stocked and clean. The staff was friendly and helpful. We stayed here both on our way and on the way home. We would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tjeastound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Des Moines
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#27 of 48 in Des Moines
107 reviews
5.1 mi away
Super 8 Clive/W Des Moines
Super 8 Clive/W Des Moines
#13 of 48 in Des Moines
611 reviews
5.0 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#30 of 48 in Des Moines
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Johnston
5.1 mi away
Super 8 Des Moines
Super 8 Des Moines
#37 of 48 in Des Moines
41 reviews
8.0 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Des Moines Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Des Moines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Des Moines

Address: 4755 Merle Hay Rd, I-80 / I-35, Exit 131, Des Moines, IA 50322-1964
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Des Moines
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 48 Hotels in Des Moines
Price Range: $63 - $84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Des Moines 2*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Des Moines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Des Moines Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing