We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very average, fine for a quick no-frills stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Des Moines
Ranked #23 of 50 Hotels in Des Moines
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Econolodge is an average 2-star interstate hotel. If that is all you seek, it will be acceptable.

We wanted an inexpensive place to stay for Drake Relays, and ended up here. I had low expectations, but they were slightly exceeded. The property is a little run-down and could use a fresh coat of paint and other cosmetic work, but our room was clean and decent sized.

The beds were not particularly comfortable, there is almost no bathroom counter space, and the television was older and somewhat strange to operate, but we were not expecting luxury.

Breakfast was unexceptional, but was relatively quiet and less chaotic than many other places.

Through some sort of Hotwire ordering mishap, we were originally booked into a smoking room. We called twice in advance, asking to be switched to a non-smoking room, and were told nothing was available. When I checked in, the front desk clerk did graciously move us to a non-smoking room, and I am thankful for her service.

If you want a simple, basic 2-star hotel that is close to the interstate, the Econolodge on Merle Hay Road will work.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brewbaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (120)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 120 reviews

Reviewed March 22, 2013

This hotel was close the the interstate but I did not hear any traffic noise. The room was clean and the bed comfortable. There were restaurants close by, a breakfast of sorts was included, and the staff was friendly and helpful. At $55 (including tax) this stay was a good deal.
There were a few cons: The water pipe noise from the next rooms, and the breakfast was the cold cereal type with a make your own waffle machine that I really don't care for.
I would stay here again!
Mar. 13, 2013 room 309.

Room Tip: Pick up one of those hotel coupon books at a rest stop or tourist info site to get good deals on roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annepaul33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

This is an average hotel. The rooms are small the decor is old and outdated. If you are just looking for a cheap place to stay overnight this will do. For the most part my room was clean. The bed was not the most comfortable.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richie21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Stayed while covering state wrestling tournament. Wifi was dreadfully slow (talking about .2mbps download up to about 1 mbps when everyone was asleep).

Other than that, everything was great and fit what should be expected for the cost. About $260 for four nights, was terrific. Stay here everytime I come to Des Moines. Just a fantastic bang for you buck.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kyle O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Good accommodations at a fair price, safe & clean. Easy check in and check out. Friendly staff. Rooms were clean and up to date. Staff friendly and helpful. Traveling alone as a women I felt safe, well lit parking lots.


  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank R M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

In Des Moines for a dog show the same weekend as the Iowa wrestling tournament, and wanted something that was pet friendly.

1. Rooms were clean, but nothing fancy.
2. Continental breakfast had coffee, some juices, 2 dry cereal options, 2 instant oatmeal choices, 2 waffle making machines, selection of breads and muffins and some fruit.
3. Television channels were limited, but it did have The Weather Channel and 4 HBO options.
4. No pool, which wasn't a big deal, just a note for future use.
5. Free Wi-Fi, but it was pretty slow.
6. Front desk people were friendly.
7. Beds were comfortable and mattresses in the room looked relatively new.
8. Parking lot seemed adequate for number of guests.
9. Pet friendly as of 17 February 2013.
10. Has an elevator and inside access to stairs.

With taxes, the room (#126) cost was about $62.50 per night. For that price, it was a pretty reasonable place to stay.

Room Tip: Quieter rooms will be on the backside of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RileyRants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Took a 12 day driving trip out West. Decided to be adventurous and go without reservations for any hotels. We used hotwire.com for all of our accommodations. We were being budget conscious with a range of $35-$75 nightly, nothing less then a 2-3 star property.

The Econo Lodge Inn & Suites was entirely appropriate for our needs. The hotel was clean, breakfast included, wi-fi included. This hotel is no frills, older and in need of an update. I feel strongly that we got what we paid for and were happy about it. If you are looking for a place to lay your head for the night, we were satisfied. Front Desk staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank XJ650Rocks!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Des Moines hotels
8 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
#30 of 50 in Des Moines
89 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#26 of 50 in Des Moines
111 reviews
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Des Moines Merle Hay
Days Inn Des Moines Merle Hay
#29 of 50 in Des Moines
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Super 8 Des Moines
Super 8 Des Moines
#35 of 50 in Des Moines
51 reviews
8 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Des Moines Airport
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Des Moines - Northwest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Des Moines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Des Moines

Address: 4755 Merle Hay Rd, I-80 / I-35, Exit 131, Des Moines, IA 50322-1964
Location: United States > Iowa > Des Moines
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Des Moines
Price Range: $61 - $82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Des Moines 2*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our extremely convenient location near Interstates 80 and 35 makes this Des Moines discount hotel your ideal lodging destination. As our valued guest, you can enjoy additional amenities as: Free Easy Starts® deluxe continental breakfast Free WiFi Guest laundry facilities You don’t need to sacrifice key amenities when you’re trying to be economical. We invite you to relax in your guest room which features a refrigerator, microwave, desk, coffee maker, iron and ironing board and flat screen TV. Some rooms also feature a sofa sleeper. Suites which feature a whirlpool and a balcony are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Des Moines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Des Moines Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing