We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for a family getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ramada Tropics Resort / Conference Center Des Moines
Ranked #17 of 48 Hotels in Des Moines
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We have 2 boys ages 2 and 3. This waterpark was an ideal holiday for them(and mom & dad). The restaurant was clean and the staff very nice. The front desk staff was professional and attentive. As other reviews stated the food was very good and overall the value for the price made this an excellent choice for our family. I think this property is well-managed, based on our experience.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,125)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,504 - 1,510 of 2,125 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2013

We had a lot of fun at this hotel. There are two water slides that the whole family enjoyed. There are other small pools no more than four feet that are great for the little ones. There is a bar in the pool area for the adults, and an arcade for all ages. It was truly a great time with our family.
The downside was that as with all water park hotel, you are paying for the water park and not for a nice room. The beds were uncomfortable and the rooms were not great. The free breakfast was also horrible. I mean there was nothing edible. We all left hungry.

Room Tip: The poolside rooms were kind of noisy, but they usually are.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mckapke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
Thank Gina S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
Thank Ron P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We stayed the weekend of the fair. The hotel was suprisingly not crowded and overun with kids (although i believe they were booked). The pool area was great, rooms were comfortable and beds were great. Housekeeping is a little behind, we were there 2 night, 3 days and our room was never cleaned. We decided to check out the the resteraunt for breakfast. There was only one lady working and one answering phones so service was extremely slow. The overall experience was great although i do think management needs to address the staff members that are in the pool area. The sighn says 'no lifegaurd on duty" I would assume that means they don't have a trained lifeguard (understandable because I think the deepest part of the pool is 4ft). The kids were all pushing and shoving down the slides and running like crazy. The first night we were there the staff didn't appear to be concerned at all that the kids were doing this. I finally spoke up and told 5 kids (none of them were mine) to knock it off. The 2nd night we were there the staff seemed to be a little more on it however repeatedly told the same kids over and over and over instead of finding their parents and addressing the situation. obviously the kds didn't care

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

The water slides are fast and fun, the kids raced each other over and over. The hot tub was adult only so the kids had to leave me alone! The front staff was helpful and friendly. The room was pretty standard as rooms go. Our only issue with the room was with its location next to a mechanical room with a loud buzz all night. Unfortunately there was one hotel employee that was sharing his second hand smoke by a backdoor (this is illegal in the state of Iowa).

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TrapIowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Des Moines
10.4 mi away
Adventureland Inn
Adventureland Inn
#7 of 11 in Altoona
276 reviews
6.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown
6.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Des Moines Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Hyatt Place Des Moines Downtown
9.2 mi away
Ramada Des Moines Airport
Ramada Des Moines Airport
#15 of 48 in Des Moines
82 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Des Moines - Northwest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Tropics Resort / Conference Center Des Moines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Tropics Resort / Conference Center Des Moines

Address: 5000 Merle Hay Rd, Des Moines, IA 50322-1969 (Formerly Holiday Inn Merle Hay)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Des Moines
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Des Moines
Price Range: $92 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Tropics Resort / Conference Center Des Moines 3*
Number of rooms: 166
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Tropics Resort / Conference Center Des Moines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Tropics Hotel Des Moines
Ramada Hotel Des Moines
Des Moines Ramada
Ramada Des Moines
Ramada Tropics Resort / Conference Center Des Moines Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing