We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Baseball Team up for World Series.. not a bad stay. We had...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ramada Tropics Resort / Conference Center Des Moines
Ranked #16 of 48 Hotels in Des Moines
Reviewed July 23, 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
Thank Jason H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,085)
There are newer reviews for Ramada Tropics Resort / Conference Center Des Moines
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,571 - 1,577 of 2,087 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2013

Several years ago we stayed here when it was a very ordinary Holiday Inn. We stayed here again this past week and it is now completely different. When Ramada purchased the hotel a few years ago they enclosed the center area and this is where the indoor water park, restaurant, suites, and front lobby now lie. I think Ramada set out to create the ultimate kid’s hotel and they succeeded brilliantly with that.

For the most part we enjoyed our stay but there are some negatives. Some people suggest to ignore the bad reviews, but I disagree with that advice because most of the negative things people have mentioned are absolutely true. I say read the good and the bad and take both into consideration.

My problem isn’t with the kids, it’s with the parents and the staff. The theme we encountered during our entire 3-day stay was “get loaded and let your kids run amuck unsupervised”. It’s everywhere. This got really old, really quick. All the rooms around ours were inhabited by a baseball team and the parents of these kids held beer parties in the hallway during the day and late at night. That’s right – in the hallway! They were extremely loud. But it wasn’t just them, there was a lot of this behavior throughout the hotel. In the gift shop we encountered a group of about 8 boys behaving poorly. No parents anywhere.

I mentioned the staff because there seems to be no rules at this hotel, and what rules they have are not enforced. As an example, guests are supposed to have wristbands in order to use the water park (which is a great idea) but you will always see lots of people in the pool without them. On one of the days a female staff member was going around to people without wristbands. But she didn’t do anything. She just told them they were supposed to have wristbands. What good does that do? They could have been people off the street using the water park for free. Despite the disregard for rules, all staff we encountered were very friendly and helpful.

Here are some additional pros and cons with the hotel and rooms. Pros: the room was clean, the TV was large and had a lot of channels with some in HD, A/C worked great, decent shower pressure, very comfy bed and pillows, fridge, microwave, coffee & tea, free Wi-Fi that was fast, large sink in the bathroom, and the water park had several pool options. Cons: very loud due to neighbors (and I’m told the rooms that face the water park area are also quite loud), the shower set up was weird – the glass door only blocked the front half of the shower and it couldn’t be moved (European-styled bathrooms?), the water park area was always humid and dark, there is mold growing on the sails of the pirate ship, the arcade games are pricey and some of them are not marked with how many coins are required, and our room had no tub.

We didn’t eat at the restaurant but it looked nice enough. There are a lot of bad reviews for this hotel but it won’t make any difference. It won’t affect their business because this place is a gold mine. They fill almost every room every day of the year. Stay here if you want your small children to experience the ultimate kid’s hotel in Des Moines, but also keep your expectations low.

- Mr. Kooz

Room Tip: Rooms away from the water park are supposed to be quieter, but that will depend on your neighbors.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K_0_0_z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We found the Ramada Tropics to be a very clean and great place to stay. Pool area, rooms, hallways all great. Quiet to sleep and friendly staff. My daughter loved it. We will be back again, definitely. Good price too.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
Thank LovetheHuskers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
Thank Erik P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

I stayed here for a conference. Very clean comfortable King room, comfortable bed, great conference facilities. Bartender did not know how to make a standard martini and bar closed at 10 PM----sort of early.
However, I want to sincerely commend the front desk staff. I got amazing customer service from everyone behind the desk: on the phone before I arrived, when I checked in, when I called while at the hotel and upon checkout. I was managing payment for a long list of employee rooms for the conference and it could have been kind of a hassle. I was expecting them to be a little impatient just because of this. However, the front desk staff handled it all efficiently, cheerfully, and accurately. They were awesome!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
Thank Sandy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
Thank Cheryl B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
Thank Jennifer P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Des Moines
4.9 mi away
Adventureland Inn
Adventureland Inn
#6 of 10 in Altoona
274 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hyatt Place Des Moines Downtown
6.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Ramada Des Moines Airport
Ramada Des Moines Airport
#17 of 48 in Des Moines
60 reviews
6.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Des Moines Downtown
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Des Moines - Northwest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Tropics Resort / Conference Center Des Moines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Tropics Resort / Conference Center Des Moines

Address: 5000 Merle Hay Rd, Des Moines, IA 50322-1969 (Formerly Holiday Inn Merle Hay)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Des Moines
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Des Moines
Price Range: $109 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Tropics Resort / Conference Center Des Moines 3*
Number of rooms: 166
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Tropics Resort / Conference Center Des Moines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Tropics Hotel Des Moines
Ramada Hotel Des Moines
Des Moines Ramada
Ramada Des Moines
Ramada Tropics Resort / Conference Center Des Moines Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing