We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms are very nice, kids enjoyed the water slides. However...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ramada Tropics Resort / Conference Center Des Moines
Ranked #17 of 48 Hotels in Des Moines
Reviewed May 24, 2013

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
Thank Heather S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,125)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,688 - 1,694 of 2,125 reviews

Reviewed May 24, 2013

Room- great! It was very relaxing. Will stay again in future.
Pool- was good, it was more family oriented then I expected. Wish it had a deep end to at least 6 ft. Love the 4 ft hot tub, was just a little too warm.
Overall great hospitality.
Also cheaper rate if not using the pool would be great.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
Thank Dawn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
Thank Tamara D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
1  Thank 812Tiffany
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
1  Thank Dawn H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

I was told i would have a king bed but when i arrived I was told no king rooms were available. The front end clerk and the manager were both rude to me! After I said I did not appreciate the attitude the manager offered me a King Suite...I turned her down because i wanted you to know i was not just complaining to get a free upgrade. I should have been offered the upgrade when they gave my original king room to someone else...I should not have had to argue with both employees. I also think that no continental breakfast is ridiculous...I stay in hotels about 100 nights a year and this is the only hotel I have ever stayed in that does not offer some kind of breakfast!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
1  Thank Joe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Property was well kept and room was very clean, quiet and comfortable. Beds were good and despite being close to the waterpark area it was nice and quiet. We'll do this again. Only downside was an out of order icemaker causing a goodly hike to the front of the hotel for ice and a shortage of luggage carts for a hotel of this size. No sound on HBO.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
1  Thank Gregory M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Des Moines
10.4 mi away
Adventureland Inn
Adventureland Inn
#7 of 11 in Altoona
276 reviews
6.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown
6.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Des Moines Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Hyatt Place Des Moines Downtown
9.2 mi away
Ramada Des Moines Airport
Ramada Des Moines Airport
#15 of 48 in Des Moines
82 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Des Moines - Northwest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Tropics Resort / Conference Center Des Moines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Tropics Resort / Conference Center Des Moines

Address: 5000 Merle Hay Rd, Des Moines, IA 50322-1969 (Formerly Holiday Inn Merle Hay)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Des Moines
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Des Moines
Price Range: $92 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Tropics Resort / Conference Center Des Moines 3*
Number of rooms: 166
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Tropics Resort / Conference Center Des Moines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Tropics Hotel Des Moines
Ramada Hotel Des Moines
Des Moines Ramada
Ramada Des Moines
Ramada Tropics Resort / Conference Center Des Moines Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing