We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We were told Check in was at 3 when is was actually 4pm...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ramada Tropics Resort / Conference Center Des Moines
Ranked #17 of 50 Hotels in Des Moines
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We were told Check in was at 3 when is was actually 4pm. When we got there at 3:30 they said our room would be ready shortly and it wasn't ready until 5:30pm. So we sat there with our stuff in the lobby area for 2 hours.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
Thank Jamey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JOHNNYXED, General Manager at Ramada Tropics Resort / Conference Center Des Moines, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

I apologize for the inconvenience you encountered during your check in. It is our goal to have all rooms ready for the 4pm check in time. I will address this issue with my staff. Thank you for sharing your comments and we hope we get another opportunity to serve you in the future...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,144)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,883 - 1,889 of 2,146 reviews

Reviewed February 6, 2013

Was hot in the pool area, but you can expect that when at an indoor water park. The hotel restaurant lacked service and doesn't know how to handle money. I gave the waiter my card to pay, and waited... He then came back to me after my wife and kids finally left and said " can i help you with anything else?" I said " Yes , how about my card and check please", Very disorganized. But the quality and quantity of food was great.
I also got this vacation as a gift, so they left their card info on the reservation. They would not charge the card until they emailed the hotel the card number and saying its okay to charge the account. What a hassle!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
Thank Jake T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JOHNNYXED, General Manager at Ramada Tropics Resort / Conference Center Des Moines, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

We are very careful about charging credit cards when card is not physically presented for payment. I am sorry in this case that it was inconvenient. I think we had an opportunity to handle the situation differently and I will share this with my staff...

Thank you for sharing your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We have bought a stay at Ramada Inn Waterpark two years now for the Grandchildrens Christmas. They are totally in the water the whole night. We do find that we have to purchase the party pack along with a room to accomodate all the kids. It will be our annual get together I'm sure.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
Thank Sharon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JOHNNYXED, General Manager at Ramada Tropics Resort / Conference Center Des Moines, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Very happy you have chosen our hotel for your family Christmas gathering. We appreciate the opportunity to serve your needs.

Thank you for sharing your comments...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
1  Thank Kevin R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
JOHNNYXED, General Manager at Ramada Tropics Resort / Conference Center Des Moines, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
Thank Sherry R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
JOHNNYXED, General Manager at Ramada Tropics Resort / Conference Center Des Moines, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
Thank Kim D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
JOHNNYXED, General Manager at Ramada Tropics Resort / Conference Center Des Moines, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
Thank Tom F
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
JOHNNYXED, General Manager at Ramada Tropics Resort / Conference Center Des Moines, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Des Moines
10.4 mi away
Adventureland Inn
Adventureland Inn
#7 of 11 in Altoona
276 reviews
6.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown
5.8 mi away
Hyatt Place Des Moines Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Des Moines - Northwest
6.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Des Moines Downtown
5.8 mi away
Des Lux Hotel
Des Lux Hotel
#6 of 50 in Des Moines
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Tropics Resort / Conference Center Des Moines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Tropics Resort / Conference Center Des Moines

Address: 5000 Merle Hay Rd, Des Moines, IA 50322-1969 (Formerly Holiday Inn Merle Hay)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Des Moines
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Des Moines
Price Range: $113 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Tropics Resort / Conference Center Des Moines 3*
Number of rooms: 166
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ramada Tropics Resort / Conference Center Des Moines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Tropics Hotel Des Moines
Ramada Hotel Des Moines
Des Moines Ramada
Ramada Des Moines
Ramada Tropics Resort / Conference Center Des Moines Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing