We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“construction rates”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ramada Tropics Resort / Conference Center Des Moines
Ranked #15 of 48 Hotels in Des Moines
A TripAdvisor Member
“construction rates”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

i stay there often when i work in the area, i would like to have a construction rate, thank, everything else was great.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JOHNNYXED, General Manager at Ramada Tropics Resort / Conference Center Des Moines, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Thanks for sharing your comments. Please contact sales department for available special rates for extended stays, frequent stays...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,034 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    463
    678
    498
    250
    145
See reviews for
1,621
54
24
217
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
TERRE HAUTE
1 review
Reviewed October 4, 2012

My title says it all, I stay at this location whenever I'm in the area, my grandchildren travel with me and LOVE the "Pirate Ship", will use the local hotel's reservation system from now on, then they could of let me know that the pirate ship was under repair. I feel that they should of lowered the rate since this attraction was not working...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Helpful?
Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JOHNNYXED, General Manager at Ramada Tropics Resort / Conference Center Des Moines, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Thank you for sharing your comments. We were painting our Pirate Ship Pool and posted this notice on the Ramada website a couple weeks in advance... Please feel free to contact us directly for any reservations in the future if you prefer...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

I made reservation with wedding group, but not happy to get a room on 2nd flr. away from rest of family. When calling to find others in group I had to try twice for about 15 rings to finally get someone at front desk to answer.
Nice indoor water park for kids, tough for adults dodging flying balls. (Ok if you just want to splash)
Room nice with fancy updated bathroom. Just wish there was exhaust fan. And no chance of bath with clear glass shower stall, or privacy from others wanting to use bathroom at same time.
Wish there was light switch for room not just entry way at door. Don't like walking into a dark room trying to find lights.
Staff helpful. Wedding reception in conference center very good.
Would recommend ONLY if you want to enjoy indoor water park, otherwise, too expensive for our budget.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Helpful?
Thank travellingjewell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JOHNNYXED, General Manager at Ramada Tropics Resort / Conference Center Des Moines, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Our hotel is very popular on the weekends so room placement can be a challenge at times. I am sorry we were unable to get you a little closer to your group. We do make every effort to do so and will continue do so in the future...

Thank you for sharing your comments...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRIMES
1 review
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We did the Groupon for this nights stay. It was a great deal! The pool was very strong with chlorine, but other than that it was clean and my kids (5 and 2) LOVED it! They could play in every area, even the slide!

The room was clean, nothing special. It was a great "staycation" for our family and a good value.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Helpful?
Thank LAURA M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JOHNNYXED, General Manager at Ramada Tropics Resort / Conference Center Des Moines, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Our Groupon promotion was very popular. Glad you enjoyed your stay and the value!

Thank you for sharing your comments...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MARENGO
1 review
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Wonderful service we really enjoyed our stay. The staff was very professional and friendly. Definately would recommend to family and friends. The kids really enjoyed the water park.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Helpful?
Thank LORETHA T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JOHNNYXED, General Manager at Ramada Tropics Resort / Conference Center Des Moines, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Thank you for your kind words regarding my staff and the facilty. Very pleased you enjoyed both...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COUNCIL BLUFFS
1 review
Reviewed October 1, 2012

The Ramada at Merle Hay is an excellent location in a very good property for the business traveler. For an Iowa state employee, this is a favorable option when I need to stay close to Johnston, IA.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Helpful?
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JOHNNYXED, General Manager at Ramada Tropics Resort / Conference Center Des Moines, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Thank you for your comments. Although we do have an indoor water park, we feel we are a very good choice for the business traveler. We have rooms away from the water park, lots of meeting space, onsite restaurant and lounge, and free wireless internet throughout the facilty....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOVES PARK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Everything was very nice. Clean rooms, friendly staff. Swimming pools were excellent. Great overall experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Helpful?
2 Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Des Moines
10.6 mi away
Adventureland Inn
Adventureland Inn
#6 of 9 in Altoona
270 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hyatt Place Des Moines Downtown
8.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Des Moines Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown
8.3 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Des Moines Airport
6.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Des Moines Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Tropics Resort / Conference Center Des Moines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Tropics Resort / Conference Center Des Moines

Property: Ramada Tropics Resort / Conference Center Des Moines
Address: 5000 Merle Hay Rd, Des Moines, IA 50322-1969 (Formerly Holiday Inn Merle Hay)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Des Moines
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Des Moines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Tropics Resort / Conference Center Des Moines 3*
Number of rooms: 166
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wyndham, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Tropics Resort / Conference Center Des Moines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Tropics Hotel Des Moines
Ramada Hotel Des Moines
Des Moines Ramada
Ramada Des Moines
Ramada Tropics Resort / Conference Center Des Moines Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing