We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Renaissance Des Moines Savery Hotel
Ranked #20 of 48 Hotels in Des Moines
Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

Location is great in the skywalk. Nice to walk to the Wells Fargo Arena, etc.
I cannot appreciate transforming a building that's listed on the National Historic Registry into a contemporary design with a European feel. Just seems so wrong to destroy its original intent.
Bathrooms are 4 x 5 feet at the most... No vanity or robe hooks. There is only 1 other mirror in the suite and there is no electrical outlet near it, making it impossible for 2 people to get ready in the bathroom at the same time.
Pillows are tiny, too...not standard size...and flat. Only 2 bath towels are provided, so I couldn't put towels under my pillow to make it bigger.
Finally, there are no drawers for clothes. A couple of inconvenient shelves are provided in a contemporary bureau with no knobs/pulls. Opening by pushing on the corner only sometimes results in the door opening. Darn frustrating!
Will stay elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HHS71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rickylgaede, General Manager at Renaissance Des Moines Savery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2012

Thank you for your feedback. Normally our guest are quite please with what we have done with the hotel over the years. Thanks again for the feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (405)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

239 - 245 of 405 reviews

Reviewed December 25, 2012

I am literally shocked by the negative reviews of this hotel. Our phenomenal experience started with a phone call I made to request a crib in our room. Not only was there a crib waiting in our room when we arrived (it is amazing how many hotels disregard or de-prioritize a crib request), but she also took pity on 3 adults and 2 children staying in a 2 double bed room and gave us a complimentary upgrade to a 2 bedroom suite (not the executive).

There was no smell anywhere we visited (lobby, room, hotel bar), the room was more than enough (2 beds, 2 bathrooms, 2 couches, a kitchenette, and a living room), and the customer service by every person we encountered was far superior than anything I have experienced in the last decade. My father, a very seasoned and particular traveler, was with us and he was so comfortable and pleased that we actually extended our stay an extra night. We didn't use the pool or gym nor did we eat in the hotel restaurant (save a super yummy bread pudding with mocha ice cream and raspberry jam), but we did experience the hotel bar and the prices are reasonable with a fairly decent selection (heavy on the gin and whiskey. I suppose that's keeping with the era). The best part about the bar is the decor. The comfortable elegance of this entire hotel floats into the bar and sinks in with a cucumber stiletto.

The Savery is so close to everything that even in the middle of winter, with two kids, we could still walk to restaurants. (If you happen to be in town for an event at the Civic Center or the Wells Fargo arena, this hotel would be close and easy). Plus, the sky walk that is directly connected to this hotel is a fun and convenient way to walk the city without having to deal with traffic or weather.

Finally, the renovations: the majority of the photos I have seen online (besides their own website) do not do this hotel justice (To the Savery: you might want to update your photos on places like Priceline etc). The beds were comfortable. Yes the bathrooms and elevator were small, but this is a historic hotel. That is par for the course. They were nowhere near as bad as some other reviews make them sound and they were clean, well stocked with Aveda, and ample for our needs.

I have talked to a few classy Des Moines locals and they were also surprised when I reported they negative reviews. One woman said The Savery was her favorite staycation, and another said this hotel was known for their fantastic customer service. Overall we were were surprised and delighted and will be staying here every time we need a hotel in Des Moines.

Room Tip: Ask if a comp upgrade is possible. We stayed in a South East suite and the view included the Civic C...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snirdis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rickylgaede, General Manager at Renaissance Des Moines Savery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2012

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay. We are very pleased that you enjoyed yourself and look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

The minute you walk into the lobby you can smell strong mold. It still smells a bit in the rooms too. The majority of my group got sick while staying here, including one of our members who is allergic to mold. She got horrible headaches and sinus issues from staying here. Everyone is nice that works here and has good intentions but clearly management cannot avoid the mold issue in the walls any longer. Something needs to be done about it for the safety of the guests and especially their employees.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
Thank Liz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rickylgaede, General Manager at Renaissance Des Moines Savery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2012

Thank you for your feedback. We are working with the City this week to rid ourselves of the odor. They have assured me it will be gone by the end of today.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

We go to Des Moines on occasion (in particular to a shop my wife likes and usually a visit to a friend or two). Lately we've been staying West Des Moines but this time we tried downtown, given our dates it had the best rates. We've never stayed at the Savery although we've been to events there. Last time we were in it was perhaps 10 years ago. We were pleasantly surprised to check into a very modern lobby. We were given a suite room that was more than adequate. The bathroom was, as others have noted, miniscule but it had all the necessities and there was a nice minibar (sink/refrigerator/coffee/mirror etc.) in the room itself so with a bit of shuffling around it wasn't a problem. As note by a sign in the bathroom, in 1919 it was a luxury compared to a shared facility.

Nice bar on the first floor although it was clear they didn't expect crowds based on available seating. We had a very nice breakfast buffet at a very reasonable price - less than it would cost us where we live.

All in all, quite happy and at the same rate it's probably where we'll stay next time given that we like a number of downtown restaurants.

Room Tip: I have no idea how they decide who gets what sized room but clearly there are some larger rooms avai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank willearnest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rickylgaede, General Manager at Renaissance Des Moines Savery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2012

Thank you for your wonderful comments. You are correct, a lot has changed in the hotel in the last 10 years. We have renovated almost the entire hotel over the last 5 years. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012 via mobile

So often you will find that these old hotels only do a partial or poor renovation. Not so with this one. With the exception of the bathroom and elevators (which are very difficult to renovate), everything else has been modernized. The lobby smell that others have commented on was not as bad, but was noticable. Thankfully it does not carry into the rooms. Would not hesitate in staying here again.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Copper_MN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rickylgaede, General Manager at Renaissance Des Moines Savery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2012

Thank you for your kind comments. We are woking very hard with the city on the odor from the city lines. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Great location to visit Des Moines downtown area and get on skywalks. However, the lobby has a horrid smell that was too much to handle. The bathroom was original size to 1919 and was too small along with lacking many amentities such as a a fan or countertop. Lots of loud mechanical noises were coming from the room all the time making it difficult to sleep. Next time we will pass on this hotel and stay at the Marriott.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Awesumeric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rickylgaede, General Manager at Renaissance Des Moines Savery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

Thank you for your feedback to your recent stay. Very sorry for the smell in the lobby. We had a city sewer pipe crack on us and it is being replaced today.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Always enjoyed staying here but had been awhile....so the updates were a pleasant surprise. Stayed in a larger suite and the room was more than ample!! If you enjoy old school charm with some choice modern updates....this will be a great stay for you!!
Shower / bathroom a little on small size.
Staff: awesome and helpful
Beds: very comfortable
Amenities: downtown, close to many venues, acceptable walking distance to most.
I personally prefer east side of building for views...

Room Tip: East side for views! Load and Unload on east side and park in ramp to save on valet parking if so i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank allamerican7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rickylgaede, General Manager at Renaissance Des Moines Savery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2012

Thank you for your kind comments. I am very happy that you like the changes we have made over the years. We look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Des Moines hotels
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Des Moines Downtown
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown
0.3 mi away
Des Lux Hotel
Des Lux Hotel
#6 of 48 in Des Moines
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Des Moines Downtown
0.2 mi away
Des Moines Marriott Downtown
Des Moines Marriott Downtown
#12 of 48 in Des Moines
466 reviews
4.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Des Moines Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Des Moines Savery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Des Moines Savery Hotel

Address: 401 Locust St, Des Moines, IA 50309-2311 (Formerly Renaissance Savery Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Des Moines
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Des Moines
Price Range: $131 - $277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Des Moines Savery Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This historic hotel, located in the heart of downtown Des Moines, Iowa is within walking distance to Wells Fargo Arena, Iowa Events Center, Civic Center of Greater Des Moines, Court Avenue restaurants and nightlife and East Village restaurants and shops. Start your day off right with a visit to Coda Coffee, located on the street level of the hotel, for freshly brewed Starbucks beverages. Then return in the evening to Coda Lounge to discover the hottest new lounge in downtown Des Moines. Don't miss the contemporary midwest cuisine and local products served in BOS restaurant, also located street level in the hotel. Additional amenities enjoyed by guests include a fitness center, indoor pool, whirlpool, complimentary airport transportation and complimentary wireless service. If you’re searching for a venue to host a romantic wedding, a business meeting or a conference, this hotel features over 12,000 square feet of function space, innovative meeting technology and a creative catering and culinary team. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Renaissance Des Moines Savery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Des Moines Savery Hotel Iowa
Des Moines Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing