We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just ok but....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Des Moines - Northwest
Ranked #24 of 48 Hotels in Des Moines
Iowa City, Iowa
Level Contributor
84 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Just ok but....”
Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

They are in the process of updating the hotel I noticed. Our room was a good size and clean but hasn't been updated yet. No breakfast which was disappointing considering the price per night. Didnt get to use the pool or hot tub but they looked nice. The hotel ran out of extra blankets and pillows so ask for them as soon as you check in if you plan on using a pull out or roll away bed.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Des Moines - Northwest, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Adam J,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your recent experience with us. I am pleased to know that you liked our rooms and apologize for the shortcomings you have encountered. As for the breakfast, free continental breakfast is offered at our Holiday Inn Express chains, I see that you have stayed in a Holiday Inn which is a full service hotel. They offer a variety of services and amenities such as full service restaurants on site. I appreciate feedback that we receive, whether positive and negative to ensure we provide the best level of service and facilities that we can give to our guests. Thank you again for your review and we hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    41
    41
    20
    8
See reviews for
35
22
10
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sioux Center, Iowa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We stayed on night after attending a Nationwide race at nearby Newton, Iowa. The friendly staff greeted us at check in and the room (Executive King) was very nice. Hotel decor is fresh, amenties are great. Upon returning from the race at midnight and wanting to take a shower, we found that the knob on the shower was broken. I called down to the desk to report the issue and a maintenance person was at the door within minutes. He repaired the shower in 15 minutes. Great service!! Will stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cudahy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Very nice place, good staff, but Bennigans restaurant in front of hotel had a car show, and traffic made it almost impossible to get to hotel.
Housekeeping knocked on our door at 8 am! If you're planning to sleep later than that, put out the "Do not disturb" sign.
Pool area is nice.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Timothy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
327 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stayed just one night while visiting Adventureland. Amusement park in Altoona. The hotels near the park were booked. This is a nice hotel, with large enough room for us, two adults and one child. The room was clean and they have a friendly staff. The pool was on the larger side for what we expected. There is a nice workout center and a lounge/restaurant on site,It is being remodeled and should look very nice when they are done. I would recommend the hotel as long as you did not have to pay the rack rate.

Room Tip: all the rooms seemed equal to stay in
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank huskertravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Des Moines - Northwest, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear huskertravelers,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. We certainly do our utmost to make your stay comfortable and pleasant, so we are very pleased to note that you were satisfied with the level of service, facilities and the location of the hotel. It is our goal to consistently ensure that our rates are competitive in the area. We are highly motivated by your words and assured you that our team will work even harder and consistently delight our guests.

Your patronage and support to the hotel is very important to us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

The staff at this hotel are always friendly and super helpful! The front desk staff and sales managers are great to work with. The hotel is an older property and they have made some much needed improvements! The business center and work out facility both recently got updated from my previous stay there last year; neither are outstanding, but they are much better.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marty T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeH4Hol-Inn, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Des Moines - Northwest, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Mary T

Thank you very much for your kind comments about the service levels you recieved while staying here, and the many improvements in our property here at Holiday Inn & Suites Des Moines Northwest. We appreciate that you took the time to forward your thoughts - they are always helpful to us. We look forward to you next stay, and thanks for staying with us.

Yours in Hospitality,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Generally a good a stay at this property. The convenient location to freeway access, combined with a fair assortment of retail commerce nearby, make the Holiday Inn a reasonable choice for an abbreviated stay. (Given the choice, however, I'd probably opt for a location in West Des Moines near the Jordan Creek Center if I were planning an extended stay in Des Moines). The Urbandale area is an older part of town, with some dated establishments nearby. It's not a "happening" region for a night on the town... if you know what I mean.The Merle Hay Mall is a mile or so up the road if that's a plus to you.

My room was perfectly fine for the caliber of hotel. The bathroom was a little small, but perhaps typical of what you'd expect. I thought both the guestroom and hotel common areas had seem some recent updates, so were better than average. The lobby was a little drab and could use some modern touches. I did, however, visit a couple of the neighboring hotels that are within walking distance of the Holiday Inn while I was out for a morning stroll. Upon my return, I felt the Holiday Inn was still probably the best of group, so that made me feel good. The hotel also had a large swimming pool which is a perk if you're if traveling with kids.

Bottom line, it's a decent property and I would recommend the place if you can secure a discounted rate. I wouldn't choose the Holiday Inn at the prevailing rack rate.

If able, I'd rate it 3 1/2 Star, but I thought the Trip Advisor 4* Very Good rating wasn't warranted here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Snead H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeH4Hol-Inn, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Des Moines - Northwest, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Snead H

Thank You for your comments regarding you stay at the Holiday Inn & Suites Northwest . You have a very thoughtful and balanced approach to your comments and we always appreciate feedback. We would be honored to have you again as our guest whenever you feel we "fit your needs" for that stay. Until then, I sincerely appreciate you positive comments.

Yours in Hospitality,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Was here for a recent soccer tournament. This is an older property that is kept up OK, but does show signs of wear. Jackie at the front desk was fantastic in making sure I was satisfied with the rooms and check-in process. Cleaning service skipped a few of the rooms twice during our four day stay, even though we did not have the do not disturb signs on the doors. Not sure what happened. There are quite a few businesses in the area, so making a trip to Starbucks or Target is easy. Overall, this is a comfortable average hotel with pleasant staff.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nrg132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeH4Hol-Inn, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Des Moines - Northwest, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear nrg 132

Thank you for your comments regarding your teams stay at Holiday Inn & Suites Des Moines Northwest. We enjoyed hosting the soccer tournament teams, and I am pleased you found our staff to be friendly and helpful, and our hotel satisfactory for your stay.

As to your question about no service rooms, I would be interested to discuss that further with you. We certainly want to insure guests recieve all the services they require while respecting their privacy when requested. Please give me a call at your convenenece if you wish to discuss.

Thanks again and good luck to your team.

Sincerley,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Des Moines
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#28 of 48 in Des Moines
100 reviews
0.4 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Johnston
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Des Moines Merle Hay
Days Inn Des Moines Merle Hay
#29 of 48 in Des Moines
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Des Moines/Urbandale
5.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#31 of 48 in Des Moines
106 reviews
2.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Des Moines Urbandale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Des Moines - Northwest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Des Moines - Northwest

Property: Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Des Moines - Northwest
Address: 4800 Merle Hay Rd, Des Moines, IA 50322-1900
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Des Moines
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 48 Hotels in Des Moines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Des Moines - Northwest 3*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Des Moines - Northwest is located in the heart of Iowa, 1/2 block from Interstates 80/35 and Merle Hay Road in the Des Moines suburbs of Johnston and Urbandale. Within minutes of corporate locations such as John Deere Credit, Pioneer Hi-Bred, Iowa Public Television and Camp Dodge. Enjoy our indoor pool, hot tub and recreation area until midnight! Nearly 200 guestrooms and suites feature quilt-top mattresses, triple sheets and pillow menu. Executive-class suites are offered in several styles, from Junior Kings to the stunning Presidential Whirlpool with Rosewood conference table, bar and entertainment center. Hotel offers over 12,000 square feet of conference space, including 18 breakout meeting rooms. Meet in the elegant Iowa Boardroom or the Heartland Ballroom, which can accommodate up to 600 guests. From technical assistance and creative menu planning, to just a bit of reassurance, our meeting professionals can assist with the planning of your next best event! Enjoy complimentary High-Speed Wireless Internet service anywhere in the Hotel or restaurant. Local guests enjoy the extensive menu and friendly Irish hospitality of our Bennigan's restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, IHG, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Des Moines - Northwest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites Des Moines - Northwest
Holiday Inn Des Moines
Des Moines Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Des Moines - Northwest Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing