We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a typical "Choice " property, needs attention!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quality Inn & Suites
Ranked #26 of 48 Hotels in Des Moines
South Dakota
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Not a typical "Choice " property, needs attention!”
Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

This property needs some management skills! Room 131 had a broken-down king bed, that needed replaced years ago, having flooring in the bathroom that looked like it had black mold under it, torn carpet in the entry, and a nightmare of a heating unit that rattled ALL night is not up to the CHOICE properties we have stayed at through the years! Great location, bedding clean, breakfast was not fresh, stale bread products! They have a very good front desk ! Greeting / check-in gave this review a 2 instead of the 1 it deserved! Not coming back!

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank t f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    31
    22
    20
    13
See reviews for
33
21
10
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pleasanton, California
Level 6 Contributor
902 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 723 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013

First off, there are three Quality Inns in Des Moines area - one by the airport, one in the middle of the town and this one is on the northern side.

This one does have elevator, it had a fairly large and working pool (but no spa). We were supposed to get a two queen room, but they looked like two kings, so the beds were excellent. The room was very quite and clean, everything was working. The breakfast was ok. No omelet or sausages but biscuits with gravy and regular cold stuff - muffins, fruits, yogurt etc.

Overall - great value, nothing wrong. I would give 5 stars but the place did look dated and the breakfast was good but not great.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heckfy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

Have stayed here a few times before and have stayed here thru a couple of managers in the past and this place works. It is an older property but it has been maintained and upgraded made. Rooms are quite large and they also have suites. Some rooms have microwaves and fridges but not all. All rooms are inside with lots of outside entrances. Beds are upgraded with lots of pillows. The rooms and bathrooms are clean-housekeepers are very good and polite. Flat screen TVs in every room. Exercise room and indoor heated pool. Some landscaping/ but check about dogs. The manager is Michael and is always there and checking on things! Makes you feel hassle free ! Several higher end properties at this exit but I don't believe you could get more at any of these.... Great location for food, bars,and shopping! Good stop for a stop off the hi-way!!!

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank alboise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WI
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed here for one evening for the first time. It is an older place that has been remodeled. The rooms are nice and clean and the beds comfortable. Our bathroom had some wall paper peeling off the wall and the tub refinishing was falling apart. Other than that, the location was good and the staff friendly. The breakfast includes biscuits and gravy, which my husband loved. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MTNHIKING
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
571 reviews
145 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

This seems like an older place in need of a face lift. No problems. Everything worked. No refer or microwave. The staff was friendly and check in and out was easy. Next door to a bar and Wendys. I would stay again if I was in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adak C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

They stay wasn't anything spectacular.. The rooms looked as if they were back in the 50s or something. The bedspreads could have gone and would have updated this room quite a bit. Especially sense it had a stain on it... The room was very spacious. Breakfast could of been better but it wasn't absolutely horrible... Could of been much better but could of also been much worse

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 52110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Iowa, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Our review is based on staying at this hotel by default. Our flight was delayed three hours causing us to miss our connection to our next destination. Our travel agent re-scheduled our flight to fly out the next day. Long story short, we live three hours from Des Moines, left our home at 1:45am, checked into airport at 5:00am, to not board our plane at 7:30am. It created a long day at the airport. We finally talked with the gate attendants, received our boarding passes for following day, had our luggage pulled from the plane, visited with the ticket counter to receive our luggage, received a hotel voucher for Quality Inn and Suites and left the airport at about 11am.

When arriving at the hotel, we were greeted by a young lady. We found out her name was Tessa from the night staff. Tessa was very friendly and accommodating. We explained our situation to Tessa and gave her the voucher from US Airways. She immediately found us a room. We explained we were extremely exhausted and we hadn't even left Iowa yet. Without request, she strategically placed us in a room away from the area that receives a lot of traffic from housekeeping and other staff. Also, take into consideration that this is at 11:30 am and check in is not suppose to be until 3pm. We were in our room within minutes and there was no extra charge for the early check in. She also accommodated our parking needs for the week at the hotel instead of parking at the airport.

Tessa also made the comment that for the hassle we had been through in the morning we were still laughing and smiling. This was true! My husband and I decided that there was no use to be upset by the situation because "it is what it is" and were taking it lightly.

As far as the hotel itself, I would say it is average. The parking area could use some renovation to make it a bit more appealing. Our room's air conditioner did not work the best but at this point, we didn't really care as long as we could stay cool and get some shut eye.

Being bluntly honest, if it wasn't for Tessa's hospitality, this stay would have not been as good as it was! Thanks Tessa - working in customer service isn't always easy but your doing a great job!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MeghanJesseB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Des Moines
4.9 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#30 of 48 in Des Moines
106 reviews
0.3 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Johnston
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Des Moines - Northwest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Des Moines Merle Hay
Days Inn Des Moines Merle Hay
#31 of 48 in Des Moines
475 reviews
8.3 mi away
Quality Inn and Suites
Quality Inn and Suites
#33 of 48 in Des Moines
149 reviews
5.3 mi away
Super 8 Clive/W Des Moines
Super 8 Clive/W Des Moines
#12 of 48 in Des Moines
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites

Property: Quality Inn & Suites
Address: 4995 Merle Hay Rd, Des Moines, IA 50322-1901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Des Moines
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 48 Hotels in Des Moines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Des Moines
Quality Inn And Suites
Quality Inn Des Moines
Des Moines Quality Inn
Quality Inn & Suites Des Moines, Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing