We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lousy way to treat guests”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Des Moines Marriott Downtown
Ranked #11 of 48 Hotels in Des Moines
Reviewed August 29, 2006

I recently traveled to Des Moines on business. The 3rd night we were there, we went to dinner with our vendor. I'd worn a pair of Seven Jeans ($270). Came back to the hotel, went to bed. Early the next morning, went to our vendor's building. When I returned, I looked for my jeans and they were no where to be found. Immediately, I called the front desk. No one ever returned my calls, I had to repeatedly call, time and time again when they said someone would call me back. The day I left, I was so mad that I demanded to speak to the manager. He sent me to Marriott Claims Services, where it took 2 weeks to get a resolution. The resolution: No one entered my room, but me (according to a key integrity check), so they denied my claim and did not reimburse me for the missing item. Well, my bad, I guess my jeans just sprouted legs and walked off. Or, maybe I left them in the lobby and walked up to my room half naked. Whatever! But, it's their word against mine. I certainly have filed letters with the Des Moines BBB and the Iowa Attorney General.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Miss_Kosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (466)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

455 - 461 of 466 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2006

We stayed here for 2 nights (11th-12th Aug) during the State fair. On check in, my son asked if we were on a high floor, the receptionist stated that we were on floor 10 (she didn't confirm if it was high or low, but we hoped for high) As soon as we got to the elevator we realised floor 10 was one of the lower floors. How rude, she could have at least told us, we wouldn't have been bothered as hotel was full but it was the way she dealt with the request that bugged me.

Our non-smoking room appeared to be fine, usual Marriott comfy bedding etc. We put the air-con on, as they had left it off, and went to the pool for an hour. The pool was fine, but very crowded. We returned to the room to find it smelt of cigarette smoke quite strongly. i was concerned that all our clothes would absorb the odour. Phoned the front desk about this and they were pretty good, sent an engineer up to changed the air-con filter and spray the room with a neutraliser whilst we went down for dinner.

Dinner was pretty good in Allies restaurant and our server was efficient and friendly. Returned to our chemically enhanced room.

The next day we went down to Allies again for breakfast, we had to wait about 20 minutes for a table and a big line was forming behind us. When we actually got a table we discovered that more than half of the tables weren't even being used! They were obviously short staffed, but this was a Saturday morning during the state fair and the hotel was completely full! Very badly managed in our opinion. Our server, got our drinks but never cleared a plate once, in fact we ended up stacking them on the empty table next to us (it was a buffet), she was very overweight and seem to struggle just walking, very slowly - she was not fit for the job. When we left after breakfast the line was huge and people were looking VERY unhappy.

We returned later that day from the Fair to find our room stinking of cigarette smoke again, it seemed like it was coming from the air-con vent, phoned down again, they apologised and said they could do the same as the night before whilst we went out to eat. hey did comp us 2 breakfasts as well.

At check-out I was going to give them some feedback, but then they didn't even ask me how my stay was or if everything was okay, so i thought would just post here instead.

I must say the conceirge they have was extremely helpful and nice, he recommended an Indian restaurant to us which was superb, and entertained the kids for a few minutes with his magic tricks. One of the hotels better assets!

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank EastCoastBrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2006

All in all, the reviews here seem accurate. I stayed at the Marriott for a conference. The property itself seems to have been built in the 1970s and the lobby and public areas still reflect that era. The place has not been renovated since I was a kid attending events in DesMoines with my parents. For the hefty room rates, the hotel could use a good sprucing up.

The dowdiness of the public areas extended to the hallways and the rooms as well. However, the rooms had updated Marriott bedding and carpeting. The same bedding and carpet shared by Marriotts all over the planet! The bedding was first rate and encouraged sleeping in!

The hotel parking was a bit expensive. $14 a day. The staff did not seem to let us know that the city parking garages are free on the weekends. We only found out after the fact.

All in all, this is not the best deal and this property does not do much for the Marriott name. If you have a choice, try the Savery - the Marriott's sister property - more bang for the buck.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TomRiedmiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2005

First off the beds were so comfortable I wanted to beg them to send one home with me....and the pillows!! AH! Parking was $14 per day but there is a parking garage right across the street that I am sure is less. There is a skywalk that goes on and on and you can go pretty much anywhere. The food at the Allie's restraunt was fantastic. I would recommend this place to anyone!

  • Stayed: September 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank italnbull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2005

I stayed here for a week in August on a business trip. The quality of the room was not what I expected. The bathroom was outdated, and the room just "felt" uncomfortable and dirty. I'll pass on this hotel next time I'm in Des Moines.

  • Stayed: August 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank funnygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2005

If you are a AAA member and only pay $89 for this hotel then you will be impressed. If you are not a AAA member and pay $129 for this hotel you
will be slightly let down.
Rooms are small and in need of some updating.
Nice breakfast buffet and staff seemed friendly.
Nice downtown location.

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank phroggi19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Mejor busca otro hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gabriel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines M, Manager at Des Moines Marriott Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2016
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Des Moines hotels
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Des Moines Downtown
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Des Moines Downtown
0.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Des Lux Hotel
Des Lux Hotel
#6 of 48 in Des Moines
221 reviews
4.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Des Moines Airport
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Event Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Des Moines Marriott Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Des Moines Marriott Downtown

Address: 700 Grand Avenue, Des Moines, IA 50309
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Des Moines
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Des Moines
Price Range: $146 - $261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Des Moines Marriott Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 415
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy luxury at Des Moines Marriott Downtown, a hotel in Des Moines, Iowa ideally located in the downtown business district just four miles from the airport and connected to the Iowa Events Center and Wells Fargo Arena by skywalk. We are one of the most convenient downtown Des Moines hotels. Dine at the delectable on-site Rock River Grill and Tavern, or discover the innovative City Center Lounge for casual downtown libations. Guests can relax in our sparkling pool or coffee shop and stay connected with our business center and free wi-fi in public areas. Highlighted by 25,000 square feet of space, Des Moines Marriott Downtown is ideal for conferences, weddings, retreats and events of all sizes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Des Moines Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Moines Marriott Downtown Hotel Des Moines
Marriott Des Moines
Des Moines Marriott Downtown Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing