We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient downtown location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Des Moines Marriott Downtown
Ranked #10 of 48 Hotels in Des Moines
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
203 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Convenient downtown location”
Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

A large hotel with great beds and they keep it clean. Lobby bar, restaurant conference facilities are all in good shape. No hitches here when I was attending a two day conference. Check out the lobby bar. A great open atmosphere with plenty of action.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brando62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    180
    97
    26
    16
See reviews for
70
76
20
204
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Stayed here for a week and my experience was good. Staff was friendly and helpful. Concierge lounge had good food and fitness center is nice and spacious to accommodate basic needs.

I think it has the potential to be Excellent if the F&B staff would work more efficiently. The bar staff at night wouldn't really understand multi tasking while "in the weeds", this also applies to the coffee shop staff as well.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iamchrismai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
122 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

I spent a week there for an event at the beginning of the month. Rooms are very clean and up to date. Front desk staff excellent and very friendly. Bell staff very friendly and helpful. Valet staff very efficient and helpful. Food was great. The Marriott is a busy hotel, but still are very accomodating.

Room Tip: There are either regular rooms or suites, not much choice there. I've stayed on lower and upper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mitchdsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

There is nothing inherently wrong with this hotel, it is located downtown Des Moines, with direct access to Skywalk, close to restaurants and local attractions. But there is nothing extraordinary about this hotel either. There were not many customers at the hotel when I arrived, still it took quite a bit to check in, my room was not ready, I got the wrong type of room, the staff could not give me good directions to restaurants, the room had a noisy A/C unit, there was no restaurant in the hotel (there was a bar with limited food selection), breakfast was also sort of limited and on the expensive side, check-out was slow as well. Overall, very little value for the money, well below other Marriott experiences, in an area where there are plenty of other choices.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rgrama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mason City
2 reviews
Reviewed March 18, 2013

The hotel was very nice. Convenient to attractions downtown. The staff was very helpful with anything we needed. The valet manager even helped load our bags when we left even though we didnt use the valet service. The room was comfortable and clean, the beds were a little small for two adults. Everything was beautiful and we would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jkm031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed March 14, 2013

This is a beautiful full service Marriott. The staff was great and helped us with navigating downtown by skywalks. You are in the center of it all with this hotel. Loved it and would love to go back and enjoy on a beautiful day and not my rainy one

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscatine, Iowa
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We stayed here with some Marriott rewards points for vacation (2 days). Valet parking is included, just call down ahead of time. Our vehicle was waiting for us by the time we got to the lobby. The front desk staff was very helpful and the lobby looked as though it had just been remodeled. We were able to get access to the concierge lounge for breakfast, excellent hotel breakfast. Lots of choices for breakfast that you dont normally see. I recommend giving this place a try if you are looking for a downtown Des Moines hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skwarren14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Des Moines hotels
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Des Moines Downtown
0.1 mi away
Des Lux Hotel
Des Lux Hotel
#7 of 48 in Des Moines
179 reviews
0.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Des Moines Downtown
0.6 mi away
Staybridge Suites Des Moines Downtown
0.5 mi away
Residence Inn Des Moines Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Des Moines Marriott Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Des Moines Marriott Downtown

Property: Des Moines Marriott Downtown
Address: 700 Grand Ave, Des Moines, IA 50309-2785
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Des Moines
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Des Moines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Des Moines Marriott Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 415
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a luxury Des Moines hotel ideally located in the downtown business district just four miles from the airport and connected to the Iowa Events Center and Wells Fargo Arena by skywalk, making it one of the most convenient downtown Des Moines hotels. Dine at the delectable on-site Rock River Grill and Tavern, or discover the innovative City Center Lounge for casual downtown libations. Guests can relax in our sparkling pool or coffee shop and stay connected with our business center and free wi-fi in public areas. Highlighted by 25,000 square feet of space, this Des Moines, IA hotel is ideal for conferences, weddings, retreats and events of all sizes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Des Moines Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Moines Marriott Downtown Hotel Des Moines
Marriott Des Moines
Des Moines Marriott Downtown Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing