We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice but nothing special”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Des Moines Marriott Downtown
Ranked #11 of 48 Hotels in Des Moines
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
139 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Nice but nothing special”
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Rooms are clean and inviting but average; bathrooms are quite small.
Park directly across the street in the public parking deck to avoid the steep valet parking charge. Parking is free on weekends in the public parking deck. Elevated walkways lead from the parking garage to the Marriott.
Walking distance to many bars & restaurants.
Nice seating area at the bar in hotel lobby, but mediocre service.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fraudsnoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    175
    97
    25
    16
See reviews for
70
75
20
200
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
83 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012

This hotel, the entire experience, was adequate. It is not flashy, it is not unclean, it's just right down the middle of the road. Which is to say it is exactly like all of downtown Des Moines, and it fits in perfectly. The best feature is the relatively short hop to the airport.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Xenos1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

We used the downtown Des Moines Marriott for our daughter's wedding reception. Service of the front desk, valets, and bellmen was outstanding. We had approx. 60 rooms in use by our guests and heard no negative remarks. Our suite was in excellent condition. The event planning staff was responsive to our needs and I would recommend this location for individual or group purposes.

Room Tip: Elevators were fast so high floors are not a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greatdaner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
124 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

A decent value for a downtown hotel. You need yo plan on using the valet parking if you drive. Difficult to do otherwise. Lobby bar food and service is very good. Hotel restaurant has satisfactory buffet

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Momike55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed November 11, 2012

As Marriotts go this one is fine. My complaint is the lack of customer service. Restaurant - no one in it and still took a long time. Didn't know things on the menu. Picked up a garbage can to clear a table then delivered my food to me. Lobby lounge - walk in and no bartender. Acted put out that he had to come make my drink. No eye contact. I don't usually complain but this is easy stuff.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sjobihl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, IA
1 review
Reviewed November 1, 2012

My husband and I found the downtown Des Moines Marriott to be a clean, comfortable place to stay during our visit to Des Moines. The staff was friendly and helpful, valet service was prompt. We enjoyed our time there.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rithika2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Palos Verdes, California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

The room was dated,but it was clean the bed was great, plenty of outlets.But the bathroom needs updating! I really cannot give this hotel a good rating. I was on business with less than 8hrs to sleep. After 10 mins waiting for the shower to get hot, i gave up and sucked up a nice cool/ cold shower,5mins into that the water got hot! So be warned..i woke up to the same thing, opted to just wash my face, after 10 mins i washed my face in cool water, i did not have the time to wait. Had i thought of this i would have set my alarm 15 min earlier just to run the water..heads up on that. Other than that the heater did work in the room.im just shocked over the water thing..

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beachblondegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Des Moines hotels
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Des Moines Downtown
0.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown
0.1 mi away
Des Lux Hotel
Des Lux Hotel
#7 of 48 in Des Moines
4.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Des Moines Downtown
0.5 mi away
Residence Inn Des Moines Downtown
0.6 mi away
Staybridge Suites Des Moines Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Des Moines Marriott Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Des Moines Marriott Downtown

Property: Des Moines Marriott Downtown
Address: 700 Grand Ave, Des Moines, IA 50309-2785
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Des Moines
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Des Moines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Des Moines Marriott Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 415
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a luxury Des Moines hotel ideally located in the downtown business district just four miles from the airport and connected to the Iowa Events Center and Wells Fargo Arena by skywalk, making it one of the most convenient downtown Des Moines hotels. Dine at the delectable on-site Rock River Grill and Tavern, or discover the innovative City Center Lounge for casual downtown libations. Guests can relax in our sparkling pool or coffee shop and stay connected with our business center and free wi-fi in public areas. Highlighted by 25,000 square feet of space, this Des Moines, IA hotel is ideal for conferences, weddings, retreats and events of all sizes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Des Moines Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Moines Marriott Downtown Hotel Des Moines
Marriott Des Moines
Des Moines Marriott Downtown Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing