We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown
Ranked #5 of 49 Hotels in Des Moines
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
86 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Nice Stay”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We had a nice stay at this hotel. Free parking is available across the street but we elected to park downstairs, for 8$ since there was possible rain. The omelet was good as were the pancakes. Clean rooms and friendly staff.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Surfer16532
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

952 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    536
    258
    81
    56
    21
See reviews for
278
162
34
345
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Des Moines, United States
1 review
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Poor rating, not at all what you would expect. Make sure you get everything in writing and pay attention to detale. Upon arrival I was quoted one rate, paid another, specifically said not to charge my cc paid cash, they charged me for something I didn't even use in the room, the noise all night long was horrific, slamming of doors, young kids beeimg allowed to run the halls! Upon checkout heard other guests were not charged to park, yet they charged me for 2 vehicles! Wow !!! For the price I paid for my early birthday present, I should have stayed at a different Hotel. Very disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Kelly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shammerman, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Kelly W;

Thank you for your comments and reaching out to share your experience with. I am very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us and as I have reviewed with in an earlier correspondence with you, we have already corrected the billing error on your account. Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience. The parking during weekends is free on the city streets where there is metered parking during the week, however, the gated parking lot and the hotel underground garage do have a small fee for their use.

Thank you again for your business - we hope to be of service to you in the future.

Sincerely,

Skip Hammerman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, United States
1 review
Reviewed November 4, 2013

I had my Bachelorette Party here for this past stay & it was the best hotel in town to have it! Everything was fabulous from the gal who took my reservations (she went above & beyond to get us the best room to accommodate my party), to the front desk staff, to the professional & fun shuttle driver to great complimentary drinks & breakfast. This is by far the best hotel to have a bachelorette party from all the amazing complimentary items & location. Thank you for everything!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Kathleen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shammerman, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Kathleen H;

i am glad to hear that you had a wonderful time while out guest and that your guests had a great time at the Embassy Suites as well. I have reviewed your comments with our staff and we all are delighted that you had a memorable visit.

Sincerely,

Skip Hammerman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed November 1, 2013

From my speedy arrival from the airport to hotel, and my swift check-in, I always marvel at how well Embassy towers over their competitors in the hospitality market. I enjoy my stay no matter which Embassy Suites I book....the pleasure is all mine.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shammerman, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Guest;

Thank you for your great comments and thank you for your business. Greatly appreciated! We look forward seeing you at the Embassy Suites when you come back to Des Moines.


Sincerely,

Skip Hammerman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, United States
1 review
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Great service, excellent at resolving any and all challenges. Great breakfast and restaurant. Staff is very attentive to all needs. Very clean in all areas. Central location and easy access to all areas of Des Moines.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Tyler R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
110 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights, and had a great experience. This hotel is very clean, and the staff is very friendly. We had booked a corner room overlooking the river, and I think the corner room is what made the difference. It was pretty quiet (except for the one evening where there was an event going on in the atrium that had steel drum music). But, that event seemed to be handled well, and things were quiet by about 8:00 pm, which was nice.

We'll definitely stay here again on any future trip to Des Moines.

Room Tip: Corner rooms seem to be quieter and are more private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Naberius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shammerman, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Naberius;

The corner rooms we have are indeed great and even a little larger than the standard suites that we have at the Embassy Suites Des Moines Downtown. I am glad that you found everything to be super clean and that the staff provided hospitable and friendly service.

We look forward to your return.

Sincerely,

Skip Hammerman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, United States
1 review
Reviewed October 25, 2013

We stayed at Embassy Suites while attending a family reunion. It was great to have breakfast available for the kids every morning without leaving the hotel. The staff was especially friendly and accomodating to us upon our arrival. I will deffinately being staying at Embassy Suites again next year when I return to Iowa.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Monique C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Des Moines hotels
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Des Moines Downtown
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Des Moines Downtown
0.6 mi away
Des Lux Hotel
Des Lux Hotel
#7 of 49 in Des Moines
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Staybridge Suites Des Moines Downtown
0.6 mi away
Des Moines Marriott Downtown
Des Moines Marriott Downtown
#11 of 49 in Des Moines
415 reviews
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Des Moines Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown
Address: 101 East Locust Street, Des Moines, IA 50309 (Formerly Embassy Suites Hotel Des Moines-On The River)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Des Moines
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Des Moines
#3 Business Hotel in Des Moines
#3 Family Hotel in Des Moines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in the comfort of the spacious two-room suites at the Embassy Suites Des Moines Downtown. Located close to the Iowa State Capitol, explore the trendy shopping and dining opportunities of the Historic East Village. Enjoy complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast and a nightly Manager's Reception. Elegant banquet facilities are available for weddings, business meetings and other special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Des Moines
Des Moines Embassy Suites
Embassy Suites By Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing