We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lively Des Moines” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown
Ranked #5 of 49 Hotels in Des Moines
Certificate of Excellence
Sioux Falls, United States
2 reviews
“Lively Des Moines”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

Downtown Des Moine has been completely revitalized in the last 6 years. We were very happily surprised to find the Saturday Farmer's market, the Food / Music Festival, the Art Park and multiple great restaurants. This Embassy Suites had great staff that became friends during our extended stay. If yu havn't stayed at an Embassy Suites, you're in for a treat with the second room, TV, Sleeper couch and sink. And the breakfasts are excellent with custom omelets and nightly receptions with a good selection of free adult drinks. The River walk is great.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Walker W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shammerman, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear Walker W;

Sounds like you had an action packed stay in Des Moines. The city in fact is a great one and there are many events throughout the year to keep visitors and residents alike entertained. I appreciate your great comments about the hotel and am happy that you were able enjoy the complimentary breakfast and the evening reception during which we offer complimentary beverages and light snacks to get your evening started right.

Sincerely,

Skip Hammerman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

939 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    528
    256
    80
    54
    21
See reviews for
273
158
34
342
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cedar rapids, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

this newly remodeled hotel has it all for the price and the location. The complimentary breakfast and managers reception are great. the only drawback is the wi-fi is around $10 per day, not free, except in the lobby area. otherwise a flawless stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Tom L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
108 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

I stayed here for a conference and was generally pleased with it. The hotel and its rooms are standard Embassy Suites from what I gather. It has a small but good workout room, a decent restaurant, and the rooms of course are big. Breakfast is far more than just a continental offering, which is nice. The staff was friendly and helpful. Overall, the property is a good stay. The location is central enough, although not in the heart of anything in particular. You have to walk a few blocks to get to any restaurants. So, if you want to have those things at the door, you'd need to find somewhere else, although I'm not sure in Des Moines that's an option.

Room Tip: A room facing the river and downtown is the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GayTravelGuyDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shammerman, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear GayTravelGuyDC;

I am glad that you had the opportunity to enjoy many of the amenities we offer to our guests. Our two room suites (all rooms) do offer a great living space and do make a hotel stay much more enjoyable than a standard hotel room. We do offer also a complimentary shuttle service to any location within a two mile radius of the hotel to make trips within the East Village or Downtown area quick and convenient.

Thank you for your business!

Sincerely,

Skip Hammerman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Canton, OH, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

This facility was excellent. Combined with the complimentary cook to order breakfast, shuttle service, complimentary evening snack, mints on the bed, beautiful pool, etc.; I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Tim O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shammerman, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear Tim O;

Thank you for your warm recommendation!

I appreciate your positive comment and look forward to your next stay with us!

Sincerely,

Skip Hammerman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheaton, Illinois
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

We recently stayed in this newly remodeled hotel while visiting in Des Moines. We stayed in a premium room up on the 8th floor. It was very nice room with a large sitting area and separate bedrom. While having an 8 story atrium leads to some noise issues, the bedroom while very quiet. They have an included snack bar for guests on the 8th floor which has water, soda, various snacks and fruits available. This was a very nice touch so that we could have a little bit to nosh or grab a water bottle on the way out. Also as it is located halfway between the capitol building and the courthouse, one is centrally located to visit just about everything in downtown Des Moines. Breakfast is also included with an omelet station.

Room Tip: The 8th floor rooms are the "premium" rooms and they are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dancingdentist60189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

They really treated us well here. Came for a convention and it was an excellent choice. The staff were friendly, the two-room suite was well appointed and good size. Breakfast buffet was kept well stocked and clean. The complementary snacks with cocktails in the early evening are a nice touch. The hotel is in a handy location. Our convention went off without a hitch. They gave us a great deal on the hotel convention rates also. I don't know why they don't have some seats in the little area by the waterfall. I wouldn't have thought of Des Moines for a convention but it turned out to be well worth it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank reft h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

Loved this nice upgraded hotel. The complimentary breakfast was great, and they had a variety of options. The bed was a little uncomfortable, but we have a Tempurpedic at home so it's hard to compare.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Ryan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shammerman, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear Ryan D;

I am glad you enjoyed your stay and the great breakfast we offer "with a smile" as a complimentary amenity to all of our guests.

We all hope to be of service to you again when you return to Des Moines.

Sincerely,

Skip Hammerman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Des Moines hotels
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Des Moines Downtown
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Des Moines Downtown
0.6 mi away
Des Lux Hotel
Des Lux Hotel
#7 of 49 in Des Moines
4.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Staybridge Suites Des Moines Downtown
0.6 mi away
Des Moines Marriott Downtown
Des Moines Marriott Downtown
#12 of 49 in Des Moines
4.0 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Des Moines Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown
Address: 101 East Locust Street, Des Moines, IA 50309 (Formerly Embassy Suites Hotel Des Moines-On The River)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Des Moines
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Des Moines
#3 Family Hotel in Des Moines
#3 Business Hotel in Des Moines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in the comfort of the spacious two-room suites at the Embassy Suites Des Moines Downtown. Located close to the Iowa State Capitol, explore the trendy shopping and dining opportunities of the Historic East Village. Enjoy complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast and a nightly Manager's Reception. Elegant banquet facilities are available for weddings, business meetings and other special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Des Moines
Des Moines Embassy Suites
Embassy Suites By Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing