We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“we had a great stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown
Ranked #5 of 48 Hotels in Des Moines
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 27, 2013

They really treated us well here. Came for a convention and it was an excellent choice. The staff were friendly, the two-room suite was well appointed and good size. Breakfast buffet was kept well stocked and clean. The complementary snacks with cocktails in the early evening are a nice touch. The hotel is in a handy location. Our convention went off without a hitch. They gave us a great deal on the hotel convention rates also. I don't know why they don't have some seats in the little area by the waterfall. I wouldn't have thought of Des Moines for a convention but it turned out to be well worth it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reft h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,044)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

762 - 768 of 1,045 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2013

Loved this nice upgraded hotel. The complimentary breakfast was great, and they had a variety of options. The bed was a little uncomfortable, but we have a Tempurpedic at home so it's hard to compare.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank Ryan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shammerman, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2013

Dear Ryan D;

I am glad you enjoyed your stay and the great breakfast we offer "with a smile" as a complimentary amenity to all of our guests.

We all hope to be of service to you again when you return to Des Moines.

Sincerely,

Skip Hammerman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

The place is very spacious and airy inside. Service was good, they are generous with giving water, and the room is very spacious - like a spacious one bedroom size, with small kitchenette. Wifi is only available by the lobby, however, which is a big fault of theirs, but otherwise, fine place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank E C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Friendly staff, from pickup at airport, to signin at lobby. Good downtown location. Clean and very quiet rooms. There was a noisy festival going on outside the window, but we didn't hear a thing. Food is good, breakfast is fine. Beds comfortable. Rooms were good size 2 room suites. Our stay was excellent.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank spin d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shammerman, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Dear spin d;

Thank you for taking the time to write a review! I am delighted to hear you enjoyed the services we provide and the quietness and cleanliness of our large rooms.

Sincerely,

Skip Hammerman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

The Embassy Suites Hotel provided a great location with outstanding rooms. The room was spacious and provided a great view of the Des Moines river and pavilion below. The service was great and the free shuttle connected us with entertainment in the downtown area.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank Erik S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel several times, and we have never been disappointed. It's a great location to enjoy the East Village and the farmer's market. The manager's reception and the breakfast in the morning make it worth paying a bit more to stay here. My husband and I only live 45 minutes away, but this is a great getaway for us.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stg4564
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shammerman, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Dear stg4564;

Thank you for the nice review! I am glad you had a great stay and that you enjoyd the hotel and had an enjoyable getaway. Hope to see you back soon.

Sincerely,

Skip Hammerman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We stayed here during our recent visit to the Iowa State Fair. What a wonderful experience from beginning to end! We were unexpectedly upgraded to a top floor suite, with an awesome view of the river and amphitheater. The room was spacious, clean and well stocked. We took advantage of the evening reception of free chips/dips and drinks on the weeknights, and the hot breakfast every morning. The made to order omelets were especially good. All of the staff was friendly, smiling and greeting us when we saw them, always asking if they can do anything for us. The only small glitch we had was with maid service. The first morning we left early and did not return until after 5pm to find that our room had not yet been cleaned. I called the front desk to ask if they had forgotten us. They apologized, immediately sent someone up to clean, and the problem did not reoccur any of the other days of our stay. Very good customer service! We would definitely stay here again if we return to the Des Moines area.

Room Tip: Top floor if you can get it, with a view of the river - it's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vwnotabug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Des Moines hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Des Moines Downtown
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Des Moines Downtown
0.6 mi away
Des Lux Hotel
Des Lux Hotel
#6 of 48 in Des Moines
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Staybridge Suites Des Moines Downtown
0.6 mi away
Des Moines Marriott Downtown
Des Moines Marriott Downtown
#12 of 48 in Des Moines
452 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Des Moines Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown

Address: 101 E Locust St, Des Moines, IA 50309-1802 (Formerly Embassy Suites Hotel Des Moines-On The River)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Des Moines
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Des Moines
#3 Business Hotel in Des Moines
#3 Family Hotel in Des Moines
Price Range: $150 - $314 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in the comfort of the spacious two-room suites at the Embassy Suites Des Moines Downtown. Located close to the Iowa State Capitol, explore the trendy shopping and dining opportunities of the Historic East Village. Enjoy complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast and a nightly Manager's Reception. Elegant banquet facilities are available for weddings, business meetings and other special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Des Moines
Des Moines Embassy Suites
Embassy Suites By Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing