We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great stay in Des Moines”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown
Ranked #5 of 48 Hotels in Des Moines
Certificate of Excellence
Parker, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great stay in Des Moines”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We had a good stay in Des Moines. Shuttle service was great, but it is also in walking distance of may places to eat. Pool was warm. Beds were nice. This was our first stay in an Embassy Suites. It is really great for families who need the extra room. Two sleeping rooms was great to get a better night's sleep. I would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank JenRed2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shammerman, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear TripAdvisor member;

Thank you for the positive review of the hotel and the services we provide. I am glad that you had an opportunity to experience an Embassy Suites for the first time and that you will have many more. I hope that you enrolled in the HHonors rewards program (if not already a member after staying at other Hilton branded hotels) as it is a great way to earn free nights and extra perks to make your stays even better.

Sincerely,

Skip Hammerman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

997 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    561
    270
    87
    58
    21
See reviews for
286
171
35
365
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Overland Park, Kansas
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

I was fortunate enough to stay here with a group of business associates during the start of the Iowa State fair. This was party central! The parade route was in front of the hotel. There was a concert in the ampitheater between the Embassy and the riverfront. Lots to see and to do!

The staff here was awesome. We used the shuttle to go to and from the fair, and alas also to get to work. We sat out at night on the patio and enjoyed the waterfront and great weather.

Rooms were clean and in great shape. Beds were comfortable. No issues with street noise.

Many great places to eat are nearby within a short walking distance, especially on Court Avenue. Some of my favorites are Court Avenue Brewing Co., Hessen Haus, and Zombie Burger (on East Grand, within sight of the Embassy front door).

I'm sure to come back...

Room Tip: Rooms overlook either the State Capitol or the River.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UKWildcat85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 8, 2013

This place is very nice, and very friendly staff. The compliementary evening drinks and snacks is great. And the complimentary breakfast is great too. I was there for business and this is my second time staying there (two years in a row) and I would stay there again next time I am in town. This was a good value overall.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Joseph B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shammerman, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Joseph B;

I am glad you had a wonderful stay with us. We look forward to serving you in the future again!

Sincerely,

Skip Hammerman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

I stayed here while working at my company's Des Moines location. This is a very nice hotel; clean, and with a very friendly staff. The people were very friendly and helpful answering questions about the hotel and the area. The lobby area has waterfalls that create a pleasant mood even if they don't have a natural appearance. The breakfast was very good; lots of selections to choose from. The little cafe onsite is also good if a bit expensive.

The only problems I came across was it seems like a number of things were breaking or out of order. One of the lobby elevators was not working. The ice machine on my floor (2nd) also was not working, and I was told maintenance would look into the problem. At the end of the week, the ice machine was still not working, and nothing was posted on the machine to indicate it was out of order. My smoke alarm went off one night, and they came and retrieved it saying it was probably a dead battery. The one working elevator near the front desk seemed to be temperamental, and wouldn't often respond, but being on the 2nd floor it wasn't a big deal. One of the workout machines in the weight room was also not functioning.

Overall, a few minor issues but a great stay. Hard to comment on the price as it was booked through work.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 37Geese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubuque, Iowa
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

This hotel is in a nice location to do business or pleasure in Iowa's Capitol city. Walking distance to some trendy food and beverage plus the Saturday farmer's market. The lobby has a 5-story waterfall which looks great, but the noise of the water makes quiet conversation impossible.

I'm not sure why lodging this expensive charges extra for Internet and parking. Hilton must need the $$.

Clean room that invites me to stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Woodindbq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shammerman, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Woodindbq;

Thank you for taking the time to write a review! I am glad you enjoyed your stay and that you had the opportunity to spend time at the Des Moines Farmer's Market on Saturday morning. It truly is a great way to spend the the first part of the day!

Sincerely,

Skip Hammerman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Storm Lake, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Stayed for conference through work. During the stay... Retainers went missing out of the room after housekeeping came in. Spoiled milk in the fridge. Cut foot on bathroom floor because glass shred were on the floor. Creepy experience with hotel janitor.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Alicia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

We checked in on Sunday & there was a concert next to the hotel. There were no rooms ready on the quiet side of the hotel, so we were upgraded to a suite. Nice, but air would not stay @ temp suggested. Brrrr. Huge living room with 2 tables & fridge & microwave. We didn't need it, but perfect for a family. Will stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IowaBell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Des Moines hotels
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Des Moines Downtown
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Des Moines Downtown
0.6 mi away
Des Lux Hotel
Des Lux Hotel
#7 of 48 in Des Moines
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Staybridge Suites Des Moines Downtown
0.6 mi away
Des Moines Marriott Downtown
Des Moines Marriott Downtown
#11 of 48 in Des Moines
435 reviews
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Des Moines Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown
Address: 101 E Locust St, Des Moines, IA 50309-1802 (Formerly Embassy Suites Hotel Des Moines-On The River)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Des Moines
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Des Moines
#3 Family Hotel in Des Moines
#3 Business Hotel in Des Moines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in the comfort of the spacious two-room suites at the Embassy Suites Des Moines Downtown. Located close to the Iowa State Capitol, explore the trendy shopping and dining opportunities of the Historic East Village. Enjoy complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast and a nightly Manager's Reception. Elegant banquet facilities are available for weddings, business meetings and other special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Des Moines
Des Moines Embassy Suites
Embassy Suites By Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing