We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very satisfactory”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown
Ranked #5 of 49 Hotels in Des Moines
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
42 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Very satisfactory”
Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

Great location and very nicely furnished spacious rooms. Comfortable, clean, updated decor - great value for the money. I was very happy with my stay and would come back any time. The only complaints I have are: WIFI in room is very spotty - depending on your location within the suite ( good in living room - really bad in bedroom ). Coffee at breakfast is really lousy (more like brown water) and the guy making the made-to-order omelette made a big show of remembering 5 orders simultaneously and of course screwed up.

Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Klaus P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shammerman, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Kwell;

Thank you very much for your comments! I am sorry about the mix up at breakfast with the omelet - I hope everythig else was exceptional and to your liking. Please let us know if you have any WiFi signal issues in the future, we can always call the support and have them check all the supporting devices in order to assure that you get a strong signal.

I appreciate your business and look forward to your return visit!

Sincerely,

Skip Hammerman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

952 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    536
    258
    81
    56
    21
See reviews for
278
162
34
345
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Council Bluffs, Iowa
Level Contributor
88 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

The Good-
1. Very reasonably priced
2. Large comfortable bed
3. Excellent complimentary breakfast
4. Nice river view

The Bad-
1. Had to pay for parking
2. Elevators were incredibly slow
3. The bathroom floor had obviously not been cleaned since the last guest
4. The carpet in the lobby was in dire need of a good vacuuming

Room Tip: If going in the summer check if there's going to be a live band playing outside the river view r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LS679
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Called and made a reservation after I was quoted a price. They FAILED to inform me about having to PAY for parking. It was $8 to park across the street and $15 underground and $19 valet. When we got there the parking lot was full of cars and also people waiting to watch the fireworks. We ended up having to park underground. Maybe its petty to complain but it would have been nice to have been told when they charge for parking.

Next problem... there are 3 elevators at the hotel. 2 of them were out of order on a BUSY night. We spent a lot of time waiting and cramming into the elevator. It was NUTS!!!

The room was clean as would be expected but the staff wasnt overly helpful in helping us with the problems we brought up.

Room Tip: Use caution when booking here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shammerman, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear David J;

Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry that you were not told specifically about the cost of parking. As most downtown hotels, we do charge depending on the level of parking you choose (surface lot, garage, valet). I so apologize about the elevators, we have under renovation and unfortunately one of the other ones developed a mechanical problem at the same time leaving us for a couple of days with only one (instead of three) elevator.

Sincerely,

Skip Hammerman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nashua, United States
1 review
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Why do you not have free parking for handicapped guests? Why do you not have complimentary Internet access, like every other hotel in the world. Why is the food in your "Liberty's" restaurant so terrible? Why were two of your three elevators out of service?

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Thomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shammerman, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Thomas M;

I appreciate your questions. We have parking available for all of our guests at a fee as we do treat every guest equally. For accessible parking we have spaces located in the Garage right by the entrance door to the hotel and on the surface lot the accessible spaces are located right accross the hotel in the most convenient location. Most full service and luxury brand hotels like Embassy Suites do charge for internet, whereas many economy hotels do not. I am sorry you did not enjoy the food at Liberty's, we typically receive very high marks for the food and the friendly service, please call me directly at the hotel so I can learn what we could have done better. I truly appreciate constructive, specific feedback as it allows us to examine our operation and to take steps to improve it.

One of our elevators is under a re-modernization project which takes approximately 6 weeks to complete for each one of the elevators. Unfortunately another working elevator developed a mechanical problem during your stay and it took our elevator maintenance company a few days to have it repaired. I apologize for the inconvenience.

Thank you again for your comments - we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Skip Hammerman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
des Moines, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Embassy Suites was a great place to stay for whatever reason you needed it for. The room was extremely large and clean. The maid service was great and I always had everything cleaned up, no matter how messy I may have been. The complimentary breakfast was way above what I was expecting. It had bacon, sausage, eggs, pancakes, toast, cereal, and about anything else you may have wanted including a chef that fixed you omelets right on the spot to your heart's desire. Awesome!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Jody H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IOWA
Level Contributor
119 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

It is a very clean hotel and a great location. Sometimes the PM front desk seemed like we were bothering them. Valet was pretty good - had to wait a few times even after we called down for the car to be pulled up. Breakfast was delicious as well as nice options for happy hour/managers reception. Hot tub was "working" even though the jets were under maintenance. 1 of 3 elevators were working when we were there which was a giant pain. It was impossible to get one especially at breakfast/checkout/happy hour. Called housekeeping requesting more towels but never got them. Overall they kept the room very clean. I will definitely go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luv2Travel2004Iowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shammerman, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Luv2Travel2004Iowa;

Thank you for your comments - please accept my apologies for the unforeseen circumstances we were faced when one of our elevators developed a mechanical problem at the same time we have another one in process of receiving a full re-modernization process which takes approximately 6 weeks to complete. I am glad, however, that you did have an opportunity to enjoy the full, complimentary cooked to order breakfast and the complimentary evening reception we offer at Embassy Suites. It truly is a great value.

Sincerely,

Skip Hammerman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
169 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

My boyfriend and I spent two nights here over the Fourth of July, and we loved it. The location is nice, right on the river, and within walking distance of shopping, museums, and restaurants. Our room/suite was very spacious, well appointed, comfortable and quiet. Complimentary happy hour every afternoon is nice (chips and dips, beer and wine). The breakfast in the morning is probably the best free breakfast I've had - all the usual items like pastries, fruit, and cereal, along with hot foods like sausage, eggs, omelettes cooked to order, and potatoes. The coffee was good, too. All the staff was very friendly and professional. We took the free shuttle a few times to and from restaurants that were nearby, but a little too far away to walk in the heat. The shuttle takes you anywhere within a two mile radius. Very convenient! The indoor pool was nice, and it adjoins the pleasant outdoor patio overlooking the river. We will definitely stay here again when we're in Des Moines!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MNdawnygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shammerman, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear MNdawnygirls;

Thank you for your glowing 5 STAR review! Sounds like you had a couple of great days with us and had the opportunity to enjoy all the amenities as well as the City of Des Moines. We all look forward to your return to the Embassy Suites Des Moines Downtown!

Sincerely,

Skip Hammerman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Des Moines hotels
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Des Moines Downtown
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Des Moines Downtown
0.6 mi away
Des Lux Hotel
Des Lux Hotel
#7 of 49 in Des Moines
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Staybridge Suites Des Moines Downtown
0.6 mi away
Des Moines Marriott Downtown
Des Moines Marriott Downtown
#11 of 49 in Des Moines
415 reviews
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Des Moines Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown
Address: 101 East Locust Street, Des Moines, IA 50309 (Formerly Embassy Suites Hotel Des Moines-On The River)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Des Moines
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Des Moines
#3 Business Hotel in Des Moines
#3 Family Hotel in Des Moines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in the comfort of the spacious two-room suites at the Embassy Suites Des Moines Downtown. Located close to the Iowa State Capitol, explore the trendy shopping and dining opportunities of the Historic East Village. Enjoy complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast and a nightly Manager's Reception. Elegant banquet facilities are available for weddings, business meetings and other special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Des Moines
Des Moines Embassy Suites
Embassy Suites By Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing