We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Horrible, but not Ideal”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown
Ranked #5 of 48 Hotels in Des Moines
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 22, 2013

One of 3 elevators was broken, the ice machine on our floor was broken and we were told the entire hotel had ONLY twin beds. We were expecting 2 queens, not two twins. There was NOT enough room for our giant family. Had we thought ahead, we would not have booked on St. Patty's day weekend. I am too old for obnoxious drunk people. Great staff though!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mmford1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shammerman, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Dear mmford1973:

Great to see your nice comments about our staff! We are in process of a major overhaul and modernization of our three guest elevators and I apologize for the inconvenience this caused. Most of our suites have a King size bed and a pullout couch in the living rooms. The second most common room type has two Double beds and a pullout (like the one you had). We do also have three family suites at a slightly higher price than the other rooms, but they have two bedrooms; one with a king and the other with a double/double configuration in addition to the living room. This might be a great option for you when you stay with us the next time.

Thank you for your business - I appreciate it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,031)
There are newer reviews for Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

840 - 846 of 1,031 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2013

This is a very nice, well maintained property, and I have stayed here on many occassions. After their remodeling about a year ago, the Restaruant changed, and so did the quality. The quality was aweful the previous time I stayed there, and before I booked this time I inquired of the hotel manager on what changes he had made. He was kind enough to send me a new revised menu and the assurance that things were much better.

I would not say much better, but they are better. The menu has more choices, but I must say that the quality of the food still needs improvement. On this weeks stay, I tried it two times and both times it was somewhat disappointing. But improved over last time, but still not near what you expect at an Embassy Suites Property.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shammerman, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Dear Steve S:

Thank you for your positive review of the hotel. As you noted, we closed our old restaurant and reopened Liberty's in a new location in the atrium of the hotel. I am glad that you found the menu items to better than in the past - we continue to tweak the menu items and have plans to change periodically in order to better serve our guests and in order to have variety for many of our regular guests that stay with us week after week.

Thank you - please let us know what you would like to see on the menu next time you are here, we truly listen to our guest feedback.

Sincerely,

Skip Hammerman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

I have stayed here a number of times in all seasons. Summer is always best and if you can catch it, they have concerts by the river right behind the hotel. Last summer I was able to sit on the patio and listen to a Bare Naked Ladies concert whilst enjoying free cocktails during the managers happy hour! The hotel has since undergone a full makeover and is now a very nice suites hotel. Right in downtown Des Moines, not that means much as there is not much going on of an evening without the free concert :)
In town on business or pleasure, this is a great hotel

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BobLeeSwagger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I go back to this hotel for the location and the recent renovations make the stay even better. This is a nice choice for couple/families who might be walking around to see different parts of downtown. The hotel is situated on the river with a great view and seating area. Across the river is the more business area of town, with the civic buildings and the fun of the growing East Village on the hotel side of the river. There are plenty of great shops and eateries within walking distance. There is even a city bike exchange close as well in this biking town. The rooms themselves are clean and as large as you expect for Embassy Suites. I don’t love that it is one of those hotels where all the rooms open to a main atrium so that people can see what room you are going in (I frequently travel alone), but I have always felt safe. The hotel also does much in hospitality as far as happy hour and breakfast. The workout facility is small but nice enough as well.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IslaBonita77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

I called more then once to make sure my sister's debit card would NOT be charged as she would check-in first. I was assured my credit card would cover the reservation and she just needed to present a card at check-in to cover incidentals. They did charge my sisters debit card for the whole amount and she could not buy gas for on her way home.
I asked for and received a one hour late checkout but when I returned for a much anticipated swim and soak, my key did not work.
The breakfast was ok, but no matter how I tried to finesse it, my food was cold by the time I sat down.
I called to complain about noise about 215 and it was quiet for awhile but the noise picked up again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank draePDX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shammerman, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

Dear draePDX;

Thank you for your comments. I am sorry that there was not an understanding regarding the credit cards to be used for payment of the room and that this caused an inconvenience to you and your sister. If you would like to contact me directly at 1-515-559-0081, I will be more than happy to research this further in order to gain an understanding of what exactly happened. I appreciate your business and hope that you will give us an opportunity to provide you with a perfect stay next time you visit Des Moines.

Sincerely,

Skip Hammerman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stayed at the Embassy Suites for one night. We had a King Suite which was very comfortable. We needed to go to a business meeting at the Downtown Holiday Inn and the Front Desk offered the shuttle service to and from that evening! We were impressed. The evening reception was a bit sparse on food for the number of guests...only chips and salsa. We expected more and we wished there was free wifi. Other than that, we had no complaints and would return!

Room Tip: We got the basic room and did not upgrade. The King Suite had a lovely walk in shower
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MokoPeoria_IL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shammerman, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Dear MokoPeoria_IL;

Thank you for your business! I was very pleased to read our review and appreciate the 5 stars. I am glad that our great van drivers provided you with exceptional service and we all look forward to serving you in the future. We do have complimentary WiFi service available in all of our public areas as well as in the Business Center, I apologize if you were not made aware of this at check in. We also provide complimentary WiFi to all of our HHonors Diamond and Gold level guests. I have passed on your comments regarding the evening snacks to our culinary team so they can reassess what we offer at the complimentary manager's reception as snacks. I hope you enjoyed the complimentary beverages we served (another great Embassy Suites Benefit no other major brand offers)!

Sincerely,

Skip Hammerman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

This was a great location in downtown Des Moines with recently updated rooms. Rooms were clean and comfortable; quiet, too! The pool area was very clean and the water was warm which was a great thing in February! The breakfast was delicious. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shammerman, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Dear M L;

Thank you for your great comments - I am glad you had a great stay with us. We all look forward to your return visit.

Sincerely,

Skip Hammerman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Des Moines hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Des Moines Downtown
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Des Moines Downtown
0.6 mi away
Des Lux Hotel
Des Lux Hotel
#6 of 48 in Des Moines
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Staybridge Suites Des Moines Downtown
0.6 mi away
Des Moines Marriott Downtown
Des Moines Marriott Downtown
#12 of 48 in Des Moines
449 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Des Moines Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown

Address: 101 E Locust St, Des Moines, IA 50309-1802 (Formerly Embassy Suites Hotel Des Moines-On The River)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Des Moines
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Des Moines
#3 Family Hotel in Des Moines
#3 Business Hotel in Des Moines
Price Range: $163 - $326 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in the comfort of the spacious two-room suites at the Embassy Suites Des Moines Downtown. Located close to the Iowa State Capitol, explore the trendy shopping and dining opportunities of the Historic East Village. Enjoy complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast and a nightly Manager's Reception. Elegant banquet facilities are available for weddings, business meetings and other special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Des Moines
Des Moines Embassy Suites
Embassy Suites By Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing