We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, nice view, and free breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown
Ranked #5 of 48 Hotels in Des Moines
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, TX
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good value, nice view, and free breakfast”
Reviewed April 26, 2008

I was looking for a place downtown where I wouldn't need a car. The Marriott and Renaissance were closer but over my budget. The Embassy Suites was $139/night in comparison to over $200 for the Marriott and (closer to $300) the Renaissance, and Embassy Suites includes breakfast.

Breakfast includes made to order omlettes - a real bonus at this price range. And the guy making them was very friendly.

The room was dated (sort of 80s style) but nothing too serious - everything was functional and clean. Bed was comfortable. I had a view from the 5th floor over the river and the river park area, which was beautiful even in early April when its still a bit cold/clowdy (it snowed.)

I can't say that I usually interact that much with the hotel staff, but the girl who checked me in and I saw a few other times went out of her way to be friendly, as did the guy making omlettes in the morning.

I ate at the onsite restaurant the first night and wasn't thrilled - not horrible, just not very good. I found a Thai restaurant about a block away on walnut that was quite good and they do take out.

I walked across the river to downtown with no problem. I also never felt unsafe walking around downtown, even at night (although its pretty deserted at night.) There is a whole system of skywalks around downtown Des Moines, so if you are there in the winter or when its cold/raining, check it out. Almost everything in the skywalk area closes after 5pm though.

If you are going in the summer, I would definitely pick the Embassy Suites - they have a nice outdoor patio on the river side and right on a park-like spot on the river. Not much use in early April, but when its warm, this would be a great spot to relax.

  • Liked — view, breakfast, friendly staff
  • Disliked — room was a bit dated
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank kkbenton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

997 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    561
    270
    87
    58
    21
See reviews for
286
171
35
365
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
san diego ca
1 review
Reviewed March 24, 2008

Excellent Customer Service, OVER-Sized Rooms, Clean and very nice hoteI. I have stayed at 5 star resorts and I was pleasantly surpised to see the attention of the staff here, upon my late arrival. I was hungry and tired after being delayed at airports all day & the staff went above and beyond to accomodate my requests. I would recommend this hotel in a second-to anyone traveling to Des Moines! In fact, I do not recommend that you stay anywhere else! The price is very reasonable and the pictures on the site reflect the condition of the hotel.

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
Thank travelngirl2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2007

We stayed here 4 nights as part of a class reunion, and were pleasantly surprised. It's convenient to downtown but simple to reach with a car as well.

We have stayed at Embassy Suites elsewhere, and these rooms seemed larger. The double beds were clean and fresh looking. The bedroom was a bit sparse, but had a second sink area which helped while we were both getting ready in the a.m., etc.

The kitchenette had a small refrigerator and a microwave. The sitting area was generous. A "front" window onto the huge 8-story atrium avoided the claustrophic quality sometimes found in such layouts.

A full breakfast is available, incl. cooked to order eggs and some mornings waffles. There was also a free happy hour from 5-7, with generous drinks and cheese type snacks.

The bar-restaurant was OK, with decent food at expected prices. Nothing special, but it didn't seem to get much use. The dinner at the final evening's event was good hotel fare (steak & salmon).

We had a rental car so didn't use the provided limos to local restaurants, etc. It is down the street from the State Capitol and a recently redevolped section of artsy shops.

As others have noted, it is a bit dated, esp. in the rooms, with dingy colors, though well-maintained.

  • Liked — Large rooms, free breakfast and happy hours
  • Disliked — Drabness of rooms, tho they were clean
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dodgema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
352 reviews
145 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2007

We stayed in Des Moines on the way from Ohio to Yellowstone. We were originally set to stay at the Residence Inn in West Des Moines, only because it was a Sunday night and we thought maybe there wouldn't be much happening downtown. We got to town, walked all over and were pleasantly surprised! We decided to switch our reservation to the Embassy Suites and were glad we did! You can walk just about anywhere downtown from there. We took their complimentary shuttle to dinner at Centro (good Italian fine dining), and hung out on the Court Street entertainment district, which was fun and pretty happening for a Sunday!
The hotel cocktail hour wasn't a two tiny drink minimum. The bartender made us some great margaritas! They also had typical snacks available (pretzels, etc.).
The room itself is large, but the bathroom small. A lot of families were staying there and attending the state fair. The line for breakfast was ridiculous, and we found there was just one guy making all the eggs, omelets, etc. He had a fantastic personality and attitude, but he really could've used some help.
We got our room for $125 AAA rate and would say it was a good value. Wish we had more time to stay there.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Crowds at breakfast
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ilive4sun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2007

Great value for a high end hotel. Staff couldn't do enough to please. Only shortcoming was the exercise room where the equipment was old and clearly not chosen by someone who works out alot.

  • Stayed August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank davidofparkslope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edina, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2007

My husband and I decided to explore Des Moines for our anniversary this year. This hotel was a great "home base" for us as we explored the city! Every morning we fueled up at their fantastic (and complimentary) breakfast buffet. Made-to-order omelets, belgian waffles, fresh fruit, cereal, sausage, bacon, there was a ton to choose from!

I am a light sleeper, which often makes hotel stays difficult. At the Embassy Suites, the bedroom is located at the back of the suite. Just close the bedroom door to the livingroom area of the sweet and it serves as a barrier to any noise outside the hotel room. The location of this hotel was perfect for exploring the city. We were within walking distance of the farmers' market, excellent restaurants, and the field where the Iowa Cubs play.

The staff was friendly and helpful. The hotel rooms at Embassy suites were very clean. I loved the waterfalls in the lobby. Did I mention that there are free cocktails every night at the manager's reception? We truly enjoyed our stay this hotel!

  • Liked — Room configuration, location, free breakfast, free cocktails
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mcdlau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2007

Nice hotel but there are are 2 important things to know in advance:

1. On Saturday nights during the summer, there are outdoor converts on a stage between the hotel and the river. It is VERY loud and goes until around 11pm. If you want to go to sleep early-ask for a room on the east side of the hotel. The view of the river (west facing) while lovely, deprives you of the ability to go to sleep early on a Saturday night.

2. The hotel oversells the parking in the undergound garage. I had paid for parking down there but twice could not find a space. Hard to find anyone to help. Very frustrating.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Noise from concerts nearby, oversold underground parking
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bfson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Des Moines hotels
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Des Moines Downtown
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Des Moines Downtown
0.6 mi away
Des Lux Hotel
Des Lux Hotel
#7 of 48 in Des Moines
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Staybridge Suites Des Moines Downtown
0.6 mi away
Des Moines Marriott Downtown
Des Moines Marriott Downtown
#11 of 48 in Des Moines
436 reviews
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Des Moines Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown
Address: 101 E Locust St, Des Moines, IA 50309-1802 (Formerly Embassy Suites Hotel Des Moines-On The River)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Des Moines
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Des Moines
#3 Family Hotel in Des Moines
#3 Business Hotel in Des Moines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in the comfort of the spacious two-room suites at the Embassy Suites Des Moines Downtown. Located close to the Iowa State Capitol, explore the trendy shopping and dining opportunities of the Historic East Village. Enjoy complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast and a nightly Manager's Reception. Elegant banquet facilities are available for weddings, business meetings and other special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Des Moines
Des Moines Embassy Suites
Embassy Suites By Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing