We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for the money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown
Ranked #5 of 48 Hotels in Des Moines
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Stayed on a Saturday night because we had tickets to a Sunday matinee at the Civic Center. Great downtown location close to everything. Room had a nice view of the river. Suite was clean and comfortable. Managers reception and breakfast were nice. The staff were very friendly and knowledgeable. Will plan to stay here again on next trip to Des Moines.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,033)
There are newer reviews for Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

861 - 867 of 1,033 reviews

Reviewed January 29, 2013

Everything was great. The service, the location, the perks. We will definitely seek out an Embassy Suites anytime we travel. The free shuttle took us to and from dinner. Paid self parking was right across the street but they offered valet as well. Free breakfast buffet was great as were the complimentary snacks and drinks before dinner. It was a little loud with everything happening in the atrium and all rooms face that, but we didn't have a problem with noise when we were in our room. Easy access from the interstate and walking distance from tons of downtown locations. Highly, highly recommended!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lala1275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shammerman, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Dear Lala 1275:

"Perfect" makes me very proud of the hotel and the very dedicated, hospitable staff we have an all levels of the operation. I appreciate your wonderful comments and high recommendation. WE all look forward to your return to the Embassy Suites Des Moines Downtown when your travel plans bring you back in town!

Sincerely,

Skip Hammerman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Embassy Suites have an excellent physical formula, wherever you stay. Their Des Moines hotel is no exception. Large atrium, waterfalls cascading from the top floor to the ground floor, large ante room with sofa, table, desk, kitchenette, separate large bedroom, all incredibly spacious and luxurious.

That's the hitch for me. I am environmentally conscious and the thought of all that hot air filling an atrium that was practically empty my entire stay, the space which would be impossible to use without children and extra guests, sitting in the middle of the Midwest, winter, blowing all that heat into the atmosphere, well, hard to feel this was all necessary.

But...still, what a lovely hotel! The bed was enormous and one of the most comfortable I've ever stayed in. Breakfast was a bargain - and the service was fantastic! Anteroom was enormous, good desk. Good wifi. Spotlessly clean.

Desk staff were not exceptionally friendly. Breakfast staff were wonderful. The place was spotless with so much empty space. Good location - walk across the river and you're in the restaurant, bar centre. Great pool which was available late and early.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a river view.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Beautiful hotel with excellent staff (Cameron) however paying for the internet as an honors member is dissatisfying. The breakfast staff was amazing, however getting your room cleaned around 530p was not pleasant.

Room Tip: take the river view, its an amazing view!
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jturner18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shammerman, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Dear jturner18 -

Thank you for your compliments for Cameron and the amazing breakfast staff!!! I am sorry that our Housekeeping Team did not reach your room until later in the day. If there is a specific time of the day you would like to have your room serviced during your future stays, you can just let us know at check-in and we will be glad to accommodate you. We offer complimentary high speed internet service in our lobby and in the business center for our guests. HHonors Diamond and Gold level guests also receive the service free in the guest rooms.

Sincerely,

Skip Hammerman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We took a 3-day holiday getaway to Des Moines and stayed at the Embassy Suites. Check-in was a breeze and the 8 story center courtyard was pretty impressive. The kids loved the glass elevators that shot us up to our suite.
They have a free breakfast in the courtyard that is fantastic! They'll cook to order a great omelet and you can go thru the breakfast bar and add your biscuits & gravy, bacon, sausage, hash browns and fresh fruit. There's a coffee, tea, soda bar and lots of pastries. This helped the budget because I have 2 teenage boys that are bottomless pits and they could get their fill at no cost to me.
In the evening they have a free reception with beer, wine, and mixed drinks. They throw out some chips/salsa and chex mix too.
The room was nicely sized with a sitting room in front that had a foldout sofa for the kids and the oh so important flat screen TV.
The bedroom had a nice king size bed with a wonderful view of the Iowa Capitol.
The room also had a mini frig, microwave and wet bar. Very convenient for keeping our 2 year olds milk and supplies cold.
Wi-fi is an extra charge and so is the parking. I took the outdoor lot at $8 a day.
I like the location since we went to an event at the Wells Fargo Arena just blocks away plus on Grand there are alot of boutiques and pubs.
All in all, a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ISPmotor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shammerman, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Dear ISPmotor -

I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were able to enjoy all the awesome Embassy Suite benefits and amenities!

We all look forward to serving you in the future when you return to Des Moines.

Sincerely,

Skip Hammerman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

This was not our first Embassy Suites experience, but it was the first in many, many years. When in Des Moines we usually stay at the Residence Inn in West Des Moines and I have reviewed it and am currently staying there, but for the trip west, we thought we'd try something else and remembered our good experiences at Embassy Suites. We were not disappointed. We arrived about 6:00 PM, just in time for the Manager's Reception, it was chips and salsa and free drinks! Cheap Scotch and cheap gin, but it was free and a decent pour.
After the Reception, we decided to eat at the in-house restaurant, mostly because we were tired from the drive and it was there and we didn't have to go out in the cold and snow. My wife got quesadillas and they were very good, I got a chicken sandwich which was excellent, the fries were very hot and greasy, but tasted good. The drinks were call brands and well poured.
The one bedroom suite was very well appointed, however the mini-fridge was just that mini! Don't expect to put too much in it. We removed a couple of the shelves and made-do. We had a view of the river, which on a nicer day would be fun. It was very cold and snowy so a brief view was all we did.
One (or more) downside to Embassy Suites is they tend to nickle ($10) and dime ($15?) you to death. In this day and age, one would think that Internet service would be wireless and free. Wireless you get, free you don't, $9.95 for one day! Could run up one hell of a bill if you stayed here for long. Parking was another dime ($8.00 to park across the street, in an open lot and walk to the hotel in the snow; $17.00 for a valet to do it for you or $15 - as I remember - to self-park under the hotel, which I took advantage of). I parked within feet of the door and a luggage cart. Loaded up and up to the room we went leaving the car out of the weather and somewhat guarded.
We liked the heat in the room, you could set a temp and it maintained it. The bed was fantastic, king sized and very comfortable. We'll stay again.
Breakfast was very good, an omelet bar that we did not take advantage of, but many other tasty options. We'd do that again, too.
Part of why we tried E.S. was the cost, it was cheaper by about $30, even with the I'net and parking than our old stand-by Residence Inn. Luck of the draw? I don't know. On the way east, we are back at the Res. Inn in West Des Moines for the same cost and we don't have to go downtown and we like the R.I. location near a Cheesecake Factory. Each trip will be a toss-up between the E.S. and the R.I. Cost will be king.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ontheHuron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

It appears the refit is complete, the lobby and atrium has ditched the 90's era drabness. All new everything down there. Very fresh look indeed. Rooms are likewise with everything new. I will say in December the atrium floor gets VERY chilly, which cools down the otherwise stellar buffet breakfast.

Service is rock solid and flawless and that's all that needs said.

Room Tip: Corner rooms (_01) may be slightly larger and have multiple views
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cakehead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Des Moines hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Des Moines Downtown
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Des Moines Downtown
0.6 mi away
Des Lux Hotel
Des Lux Hotel
#6 of 48 in Des Moines
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Staybridge Suites Des Moines Downtown
0.6 mi away
Des Moines Marriott Downtown
Des Moines Marriott Downtown
#13 of 48 in Des Moines
451 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Des Moines Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown

Address: 101 E Locust St, Des Moines, IA 50309-1802 (Formerly Embassy Suites Hotel Des Moines-On The River)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Des Moines
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Des Moines
#3 Business Hotel in Des Moines
#3 Family Hotel in Des Moines
Price Range: $162 - $322 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in the comfort of the spacious two-room suites at the Embassy Suites Des Moines Downtown. Located close to the Iowa State Capitol, explore the trendy shopping and dining opportunities of the Historic East Village. Enjoy complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast and a nightly Manager's Reception. Elegant banquet facilities are available for weddings, business meetings and other special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Des Moines
Des Moines Embassy Suites
Embassy Suites By Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing